We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Atmosphere, Mostly Foreigner Guests”
Review of Pirata

Pirata
Reserve a table
OR
Reserve a table
Ranked #174 of 15,646 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

Had brunch on Saturday with my friend for celebrating her birthday. We 2 adults 2 kids ordered 2 adult sets @HKD298 and 3 kid sets @HKD98 (portion of rice ball kid set is too small so we had to place second order for one more set).

We adults had meat balls, butcher's cut (beef) as main. There's salad buffet bar included. Kids have pasta and fried cheese rice balls. There were only 4 balls and my niece had to later order one more kid set for the beef pasta. Tiramisu and ice-cream as desserts. The juice for kid set is freshly squeezed.

It took some time for the food to come. The food is quite authentic of Italia, fresh and taste good. Portion is not large.

It's on the top two floors of a building. Some views.

Staff and service normal although it's understaffed.

Overall we enjoy it as it's full of foreigners, feeling an escape from the chaos of the city.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2019

We were a big table of 6, and ended up ordering a lot of food - lobster was good, salmon tartare, truffles. Fresh food and good service

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 007pallavim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2019 via mobile

Had a good meal here. The food was really good. The restaurant is a bit noisy and dark but otherwise really good. Recommended

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank Journeyman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2019 via mobile

We came for the first time and will come back! Service is friendly and fast, atmosphere is perfect (thank you for not letting us sit in a fridge like so many other restaurants in town..), and most importantly, the food was so delicious! We are having high standards when it comes to quality of food so we are not easy to impress! Pasta was homemade (which you can taste by the first bite), lasagna was tasty and the Béchamel sauce was excellent. One tiny point to improve: the bread that came with the first course was a little hard and dry, you could tell it was not freshly cut. But other than the hard bread, this was a perfect Italien evening!

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank dkmlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElinaPiratahk, Reception Manager at Pirata, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2019

Thank you so much for taking out your time to leave us your feedback.

We are delighted to hear how much you and your guests enjoyed your recent experience with us. We always love hearing from everyone. All of our guest’s feedbacks are so much important to us in order to learn and improve everyday as we always strive to better ourselves. Your review has been passed to our chef and team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the future.

Kind Regards,
Elina Malla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019 via mobile

Really nice atmosphere and good food. The lasagne is worth a try and can be shared - the portion is really big!

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank SandraLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElinaPiratahk, Reception Manager at Pirata, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Dear Sandra,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent experience here with us. We are delighted to hear how much you loved the lasagna. Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback, we always love to hear from everyone who comes to visit us.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Elina Malla
Reception Manager at Pirata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pirata also viewed

 

Been to Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.