We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So new the locals dont even know it exists!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hong Kong
Ranked #61 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“So new the locals dont even know it exists!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

This hotel is brand new – so new in fact that most taxi drivers have not even heard of the place, nor have some of the locals who have lived there for more than 20 years! Situated in Sheung Wan (to the left of Admiralty), close to the Macau Ferry Terminal on Hong Kong Island, this new gem is certainly a pleasant surprise! I agree with some other reviews in that calling it 5-star is a little over the top, but it is definitely like no other Courtyard out there!

The shuttle bus from Hong Kong airport to this hotel costs $HK140 per person one way (we found this the most economical and hassle free with 4 people since we had a lot of luggage). Usually there are a number of hotels on the way, but for us luckily we were the first stop. First impressions are less than satisfactory – with the driveway an awkward angle off a small street in front of a local bus stop. The lobby is unimpressive (small and literally has one couch, 3 check-in desks which were never fully utilised, a small takeaway cafe store I never saw open and concierge). We checked in twice to this hotel, the first time was a breeze and all requests were honoured (interconnecting, non-smoking rooms on high floors). But the second time took a very long time (for some reason there was only 1 desk open and she was very inexperienced).

Rooms are small, but very resourceful. Everything is new and chic. The most unusual feature is the wall between the room and the toilet – it is glass! So if you stay in the room alone, you could use the toilet with a view! Electric blinds (both shades and blackouts) make it effortless – although why wasn’t this technology implemented in the window that separates the room with the toilet? Toilet amenities include shaving kit, toothbrush, sewing kit, and the usual sanitary bags and shower caps. A great feature is that new scales are provided in each room to weight yourself (or more importantly, luggage). Cables are provided so you can connect a laptop or camcorder device to the large flat screen LCD TV. The shower is good with a choice of handheld or rainforest head. Although switching between the 2 showerheads gives the guest a mighty freeze for a split second as the water becomes warm – beware! The beds were very very comfortable (being new and all) and the pillows very supportive.

Slippers are also provided (and good quality as well!), and the phone system is nice and new (one button to operator – no more various buttons to various departments). Local calls from the in-room phone to Hong Kong are $HK5 for the first 30 minutes, which is great to know. The hotel also provides a free shuttle service for guests in the morning (weekday and weekend itinerary differs), and goes as far as Wan Chai. Bus stop is right outside the hotel (with services to the airport and Causeway bay), or the tram stop is on the next street which can take you to the Sheung Wan MTR station and beyond. If you need to take a taxi, make sure you bring the address of the hotel (e.g. on your room card envelope or a hotel-branded note paper – we found this very helpful!) There was a pretty good eatery about 5 minutes walk from the hotel for a nice bowl of noodles which was very cheap and good for supper!

The view of the harbour is quite nice – you can see (on a good day) Kowloon and beyond, and the Macau boats coming into the harbour. We didn’t get to stay on the city view facing side, but those rooms are cheaper. Our rate included breakfast at MoMo Cafe on level 2 every morning. This was satisfactory although quite expensive (I wouldn’t pay the price it was asking). There was barely anybody there every morning. Waffles are quite nice – there is also fruit juice, yoghurt, toast, salads, dim sum (including sticky rice), Chinese porridge and the traditional English breakfast stuff – but since the turnover was low, the quality was lacking. Service was also quite mediocre – even though there were so few people they seemed to be more occupied in their own conversations. Tea also apparently meant 1 teabag in a whole pot of hot water for 15 seconds on one morning – we basically got slightly coloured water to drink.

As with all Marriott hotels, it’s better if you can book through the official Marriott reservation system online, then find a cheaper rate from a legitimate website with the same room type within 24-hours – Marriott, upon assessing the case, may not only match the cheap price, but also beat it by 25%, and you then qualify for all of the points for Marriott. Expedia is often quite cheap, and this is one website which Marriott will honour for price matching.

  • Liked — Brand new, innovative and chic!
  • Disliked — Service lacking
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pungpui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    614
    106
    18
    10
See reviews for
184
329
164
398
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

A very new property to the West of Central. Location seemed a little remote until we were actually there – it is a slice of old HK with many small shopfronts and eating places around it. Well connected by tram and bus routes so getting to the main areas like Central, Sheung Wan, Western Market etc isn’t a problem, and it is near the new Harbour crossing so a 10-min bus ride takes you to Jordan/Mong Kok.

The room was sleek/modern and very comfortable in all aspects, and even though it wasn’t huge, the windows made it very bright/airy looking. Nice big shower area with strong water pressure and a great rainforest shower. High quality fittings etc like the comfy king-size bed, fluffy towels and bathrobes, and good quality bedroom slippers (not the throw-away paper type).

The concierge (notably Jimmy and Mabel) was very helpful in keeping us well-fed throughout, making good recommendations and generally being very efficient and polite. However, the phone system was somewhat cryptic, with no clear instruction on or around the phone, so we had some trouble finding out how to reach the front desk. Management should look into this aspect and save dumb travelers like me some headache.

Top marks for this place, definitely great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePrivateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

Put simply, all the great reviews about this hotel ring true.
Staff: Check-in was done quickly and the staff were very friendly. The staff were also equally professional in the Momo Cafe where we had dinner (N.,B. the service stops at 11.30pm but you can get 24 hour room service from a similar menu).
Food: The food in the Momo Cafe was very good and great value for money (especially considering it's a hotel restaurant). If there was any downside, the food seemed to come very quickly and the mains came out while we were still eating the entrees. That said, I'd prefer them too early than too late...
Room: Very clean and modern and the bed is very comfortable. Just a tip: the bathroom is separated by a window which we at first thought was a bit strange but then realised there is a blind so have a look for it.
Location: Some of the reviews make a negative claim about the location but we were very happy. While it's not in the most glamorous location, you can take the courtesy bus to Central where you're right in the spot to head to Kowloon or the Hong Kong Island spots. If you're too early or late for the courtesy bus (we were), a taxi is usually waiting at the front of the hotel to take you to Central for around HKD 25-30 and takes about 10 minutes.
In summary, very good value and 9/10. I will stay here when I return to HK.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and value for money.
  • Disliked — Leaving.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeekendHussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

This is a very unique and different Courtyard. I used them very often in the US, but this one has almost Marriott quality at Courtyard price. I booked my room thru Marriott.com 2 month ahead. We stayed for 6 night at HK $850. per night in which is a good price in HK. We have a semi harbour view as was explain to us by the front desk clerk in the 20th floor.

We took the airport express to the Hong Kong Station and then a taxi to the hotel in which we paid around HK $35 including luggage for the taxi. What we found out that you could take a airbus bus just across the hotel for HK $35 and will take around 30 minutes back to the airport. (that is the bus that the local use).

This is a new hotel. Everything is still new. The hotel is located close to the Kennedy house area or the west side of central. A lot of buses, tram and taxi by the hotel. The hotel is located Connaught Road, Water Street and DexVoeux Road West, where you could take the tram to anywhere in HK for $2 (USD $0.27) or you could take a free shuttle from the hotel to central and other 4 stop. The shuttle run every 30 minutes until 6:00 am- 10:00 M-F and every hour from 10:00am - 4:00 pm.

For food you could walk toward DexVoeux street make a right and you will find Circle K (fresh baked goods) and 7/11. If you continuing walking for around 2 block you will find Cafe del Corral a very inexpensive "HK Style fast food" or if you walk 2 block up on Water until Queen West and make a right you will see a tons of place to eat including McD, KFC, noddles shop, dim sum and restaurant 24 hours and HK Bakeries.

See pictures for the room. Its easier to explain. Complimentary Shoe Shines available.

  • Liked — The room size for the price paid
  • Disliked — no free internet. all US Courtyard includes a free internet
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank alsolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

A very new, modern, clean, and well apponted property, with excellent staff. We recommend buying the Executive room package. The hotel is a little out of the way, but they have a shuttle that runs every 30 minutes to mass trans central. Get a hotel directions card, as it isso new that taxis don't know it! Special thanks to concierge, Mable, for going above and beyond to help us before, during & after our trip to HK!

  • Liked — Staff, beautiful, clean room, Executive floor
  • Disliked — Somewhat out of the way
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2008

I found this to be a very nice, modern hotel. I am tall (6'5") so I appreciated the king size bed. My room had one of the nicest bathrooms that I've ever had in a hotel. The walk in shower was big and the rainfall showerhead was mounted on the ceiling, great for tall people. They also had the biggest towels that I have ever seen. While the lobby is spartan, the staff was friendly and helpful. Ask them about anything you need in HK, it will save you a lot of trouble. We got some great restaurant tips from them.
This hotel is west the central area but is only half a block from the tram so getting around was no problem and the tram only cost $2HK. The tram goes right through the middle of the city and passes the Central station. This was my first visit to HK and I had no problems finding my way around..
The weekend rate (Fri, Sat,Sun) was $1050HK, about $135US. I stayed Thur-Sat and my total bill for 3 nights was $450US. My extended family was with me and we booked six rooms. Everyone had positive comments about this hotel.
The Marriott has a desk at the airport and you can catch their shuttle for $140HK, well worth it if you have much baggage.

  • Liked — Big modern bathroom, king size bed
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 57j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

This is a fairly new hotel with normal HK sized rooms. At first we thought the location was out of place but we found out that it is actually very good.

There are many local restaurants and cafes within 2-3 blocks of the hotel. If you go out the lobby and turn left and cross the road (still on Water Street), there is a local dim-sum place (kinda run down but good dim-sum); and our favourite pork-chop noodle shop (you'll see lotsa newspapers reviews outside).

On Des Vouex Road, to the left, there is a good dessert cafe selling great local desserts. Further up a block, you'll find a big restaurant - Star Seafood, I think. They serve dim-sum in the mornings and HK-style dishes during the day.

And on Des Vouex Road, you can catch the tram to Central (Lan Kwai Fong, IFC, Star Ferry), Admiralty (Pacific Place), Wan Chai, Causeway Bay, North Point. Only HK$2 per adult (HK$1 per child). Very frequent and convenient.

Overall, our 5 nights there were great. Staff were helpful. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip.

  • Liked — Great local cheap food in the neighbourhood.
  • Disliked — It's on a little street called Water Street that not many cab drivers know.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank artchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#64 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#71 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#96 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#30 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hong Kong

Property: Courtyard Hong Kong
Address: No.167 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for spectacular shopping, sightseeing and entertainment, Hong Kong is ideal for business or leisure travel. With a beautiful backdrop of Victoria Harbour, Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong offers great harbour views and easy access to the financial district. Our downtown Hong Kong hotel is located near the MTR subway - HKU station of West Island Line with approximate 6 to 8 minutes on foot, hotel also offers complimentary shuttle to major Hong Kong Island business districts. The lobby's interactive GoBoard lets you find local restaurants, news and travel conditions. Smartly designed guestrooms offer great views, Marriott signature bedding, LCD TV, complimentary high-speed connectivity in all guestrooms as well as meeting facility, and a luxurious marble bathroom. Our Executive Rooms and Suites provide access to the cozy Executive Lounge. Enjoy a workout in our 24-hour fitness centre and dine at our award-winning restaurant MoMo Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong Courtyard
Courtyard Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing