We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel! You just got to know how to get around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hong Kong
Ranked #59 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best hotel! You just got to know how to get around”
Reviewed 13 December 2009

I do very much enjoy my 4 night stay at the Courtyard. If you're thinking about whether or not to stay at this hotel because of its location, here are some tips that may help you make a decision:

Bus: Bus No. 5B will take you all the way to Cause Way Bay. It starts from West Des Voeux Road. You can choose to get off at the nearest MRT Station which is Tsuen Wan or at any other places along the way. If you want to go to IFC Mall, get off at the Sincere Department Store on Des Voeux Road. If you keep going further down the road, you can get off near Central where you can walk up to Lan Kwai Fong, a place with trendy restaurants and bars. Bus fare is no more than $HKD 4.

Bus no.970. The bus stop is located across from the hotel. This bus takes you cross the bridge and over to Jordan. From there, you can walk a few blocks up to Tsim Tsa Tsui. Bus fare is about HKD 9.80. Be sure to bring a map with you.

If you're travelling via tram to downtown, you can take any tram line at HKD $2 per person per ride. Tram arrives every minute or so. To come back to the hotel, take tram that is heading to Kennedy Town. And get off at a tram stop after you pass a police station.

From the airport, I took the hotel's shuttle service at HKD 140 per person. This airport transfer service will drop people at different hotels, but I was lucky to be the first. To use this service, just go to their airport shuttle counter at B05 on the arrival hall.

Restaurant:
The nearest cafe is Cafe O which offers really nice coffee and sandwiches. If you like dim sum, try a Chinese restaurant next to Ramada Hotel, a minute walk from the hotel.

I love the room except that we could hear the 'ding' sound from the elevators when someone got off the elevator on our floor. I recommend that you ask for a room away from the elevator. The hotel also provides an umbrella. You can pick them up in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JLBangkok-Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    627
    108
    18
    10
See reviews for
186
335
169
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

I've visited Hong Kong nearly 10 times, and for the under US$100 range, this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.

True, as many other reviewers mention, the location is somewhat of a drawback. It's about a 10 minute ride on a tram from the nearest MTR (subway) station. However, isn't that better than a 10 minute WALK from a subway station?

Most of the rooms have views of Victoria Harbour; I sent a letter in advance asking for a high floor with a harbor view, and was granted one (even though I had booked the room by bidding on Priceline.) The room was good sized (for Asia), had incredibly comfortable beds, and stunning views from our window. Taxis were always available at the front of the hotel, the tram stop is less than a minute walk away (along with a 7-Eleven and a Circle K), and a taxi to Causeway Bay cost me less than HK$35.

The area around the hotel has been described in, what I think, an inaccurate way. It's not really dirty at all -- no more than the rest of Hong Kong. It isn't the center of town, exactly -- there's not a lot going on at night right in front of the hotel -- but I think it's a safe area, having walked around outside at 10 pm one night and 1 am the next. I think that different cultural standards reflect what we see: if this hotel were in downtown LA, I wouldn't walk around at night outside. However, in Hong Kong, a dark street doesn't mean "danger" the same way it might to a Westerner.

That having been said, there are indeed NOT a lot of things to do in the walkable area around the hotel. For most restaurants & shopping on Hong Kong Island, you'll need to visit the Central-Wan Chai-Causeway Bay areas. You can reach all of these by taking the classic double-decker trams (HK$2 / US 25c) all the way or by taking the tram to the Sheung Wan MTR station and then traveling a few subway stops.

So, basically, a beautiful hotel with a slightly inconvenient location. If you want to be in the "thick" of it all, stay somewhere else. If you want a brand-new clean hotel, a few minutes out of the way, stay here. I would again, undoubtedly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VegasKureigu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I will definitely go back to this hotel over and over again. Location wise, I really liked it. It's very near to the tram station. You just have to cross the street and you're there. There's a convenience store nearby where you can buy water and snacks. There are also a chain of restaurants which is just 5 to 10 minutes if you go walking.


The staff is very helpful and considerate. We were about to take the Big Bus Tour when they suggested that it would be better if we take the tram. It is cheaper and we can go and leave the destination we want to visit whenever we want. They provided us with a very detailed map of HK. You can ask them how to go to a certain place and they will show it to you. They also have a shuttle that leaves every hour in the morning. If your a night person, you can always take the tram to Central.


The room was very clean and it smells good. I liked the green slippers they provided the guests. It's not extraordinary but I still liked it. There's also a great aircon and curtain control.


The only thing that I did not care for was the wifi connection. You would have to pay quite a huge amount if you want to use it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hannaeunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

The title states that the location is a drawback but it can also be a plus as well. For those who want to be in the middle of the action then staying closer to Central, Wanchai, TST would be more convenient. For those who would rather stay with the "locals" then this location is perfect. There is a less "touristy" feel but the hustle and bustle is still there; it's just more of the local people going to school, work, shopping, etc. That's the only potential negative I can see to this place.

The hotel is clean and modern in design. It is a high rise with a small footprint because space is at a premium in Hong Kong. Most of the surrounding buildings are built similarly.

The check-in was quick and efficient. I received a free upgrade to a harbor view room on the 32nd Executive floor which turned out to be the top floor. The view was wonderful. It was great seeing the boat traffic and to be able to see West Kowloon. There was a slight disadvantage to staying on one of the higher floors. With only 3 elevators servicing the hotel sometimes there was a slight wait.

The room was spotlessly clean, looked brand new, and had a modern contemporary design. I wish all hotel rooms would provide the multiple lighting options I had in my room with control switches next to the bed. I also love the wall-mounted controls for the window shades including a black-out blind. The room size was compact but expected for Hong Kong hotels. The bathroom was also compact with a shower but no tub. There was always excellent water pressure although I did experience several episodes of flucuating water temperature.

I was able to use the Executive Lounge on the 6th floor. There was a nice selection for breakfast and snacks in the evening along with beer and wine. The small gym was also on the 6th floor with some free weights, weight machines and several aerobic machines. Both the Executive Lounge and the gym had nice views of the harbor.

There was a very attentive staff who did not hesitate to help with any of my requests during my stay. Ask the staff for help on using the tram or the bus. Also ask for a card with the hotel address to use with taxis. After getting some tips from the hotel staff, I used the tram, the bus, and the MTR and got around Hong Kong and Kowloon just fine. The system is convenient, runs frequently, and fairly easy to use. The Hong Kong-Macau ferry terminal is about a 15-minute walk from the hotel. The nearest MTR station is about a 20-min walk from the hotel. The nearest tram station is just outside the hotel at the intersection. Several bus stops are at the intersection as well. I recommend sitting on the top level of the double decker tram or bus for nice views as you travel around town. I also recommend getting the Octopus card so you don't have to carry the exact fare amount.

The hotel also offers free one-way scheduled shuttles to several destinations. You can get a copy of the schedule on the hotel website.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Stayed four nights while visiting Hong Kong as a tourist. The hotel is very beautiful but very narrow so a small lobby and floors with just 5 or 6 rooms but 32 floors in height. The rooms are as described elsewhere and do include bathrobe and slippers. Hotel service is top shelf. On reentering the hotel there is almost always someone at the front door to open it for you and say "welcome back". The free shuttle service is a real plus.
As to the hotel's location I will admit I was somewhat skeptical but found I loved it. You are staying in a lower income residential part of Hong Kong Island. Children are busy going to and from school in their uniforms. Grandmas are shopping for the night's meal and the tram that takes you to the glitter of Central is fast, efficient (comes by every 1.5 minutes) and economical (26 cents). For an extra treat try to find the Red Chinese Administrative Office nearby, it's great for picture taking.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey city, nj
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Without a doubt, as the previous reviews all say, the service from the hotel staff was exceptional, the rooms clean and spacious and complimentary shuttle bus service available (one way only).

It's located in an area that's not very touristy, and it's great to see how Hong Kongers operate each day.

However, because the hotel's location was very distant from the major sightseeing destinations, it became cumbersome returning to hotel after a very long day of trekking around. The closest MTR station is Sheung Wan. It's about a 40 minute walk from the station. You can also take a taxi, but if you're looking to save some cash and/or get a true HK experience, then you can easily take the tram to the hotel. Take the tram that is either going to Kennedy Town or Whitty Street, and get off at Water Street, across from the Ramada.

I would recommend this hotel if you're staying in HK for less than a week and/or if you have the time/energy/money to take additional transportation from the MTR station.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The Courtyard by Marriot was just perfect for our needs since we were going to be spending most of our time on HK Island and it was close to the Macau ferry terminal. We actully liked the location in an ‘old’ Hong Kong kind of area. The Tram was just around the corner and we used it a lot. They also had a shuttle service in the morning to the ferry piers and IFC mall etc.

We were upgraded to a harbour view room - although it is only a partial harbour view and not as spectacular as some of the other hotels. The rooms are small and the toilet only has a shower and no bathtub. But everything was new and clean and well laid out. Adapters and cables were thoughtfully provided in a pouch on the desk. The windows have mechanised blinds and sheers! The bed was big and comfy. Room service food was excellent.

Service was top notch. They made restaurant reservations in Macau prior to our arrival and were generally very helpful. Overall it was great value. We loved our stay there and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MadhuShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#62 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#70 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#99 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#82 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#35 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hong Kong

Property: Courtyard Hong Kong
Address: No.167 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for spectacular shopping, sightseeing and entertainment, Hong Kong is ideal for business or leisure travel. With a beautiful backdrop of Victoria Harbour, Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong offers great harbour views and easy access to the financial district. Our downtown Hong Kong hotel is located near the MTR subway - HKU station of West Island Line with approximate 6 to 8 minutes on foot, hotel also offers complimentary shuttle to major Hong Kong Island business districts. The lobby's interactive GoBoard lets you find local restaurants, news and travel conditions. Smartly designed guestrooms offer great views, Marriott signature bedding, LCD TV, complimentary high-speed connectivity in all guestrooms as well as meeting facility, and a luxurious marble bathroom. Our Executive Rooms and Suites provide access to the cozy Executive Lounge. Enjoy a workout in our 24-hour fitness centre and dine at our award-winning restaurant MoMo Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Courtyard
Hong Kong Marriott
Courtyard Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing