We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hong Kong
Ranked #59 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 16 December 2010

I'm not sure how well the people who say "it's not very central" know Hong Kong. Granted, if you do not know the island it may seem far away on the map from "Central" but one has to understand that distances in Hong Kong are tiny and that each neighborhood has it's own charm. The hotel is right near the water and a taxi to "Central" takes about 3 mins and costs about $3USD or you can just take a 15 min walk through the streets or even take the double decker tram that stops 50ft away for a true Hong Kon experience for 2HKD (about .25 cents)

With that said the hotel was great. The rooms were surprisingly big for the price in Hong Kong and the bathrooms were well appointed with lots of space and even a rain shower head. One wall was solid glass and provided an amazing view of Victor Peak. The window had two levels of electronic shades: solar and black out. We stayed on one of the Executive Floors which gave us access to breakfast in the Executive Lounge which had a great selection of local and western food as well as even fresh squeeze juices.

We had early start times so we ordered room service twice for 6-6:15 am delivery. They were about 25 mins late but the hotel was gracious enough to comp us those meals. We later noticed that on the breakfast card it says "If your meal isn't delivered within the 15 min window then it's on us." We didn't know this when we brought up the complaint so kudos to them for not putting up a fight and just comping us.

Overall a great stay for a week that saw us working 16 hour days. Beds were extremely comfortable.

Only down side is no include wireless.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuriNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    640
    110
    18
    11
See reviews for
190
342
175
419
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Check-in was the fastest ever. I was upgraded; It was a small room but very modern and very clean. I found out later that all the rooms are almost the same; very modern and very clean. Location is In the center of the city. Hotel staff was very good, actually excellent, including reception and concierge. I reccommend to everyone. (Don't forget that Courtyard is one of Marriott's brand and keep it cheap it is a bit different; no restaurants, bars, big lobby or anything else; only one place for everything but still a very good, safe, clean, modern hotel to stay!)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYBALION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I have only good things to say abt the place. The only con is that it is not very central and there are no tourist breakfast places in the immediate vicinity.
However, it is easily accessible from the airport by bus ( #12) which stops literally within 40 feet of the entrance and takes abt 40 minutes.
You can walk to the nearest Metro stop in abt 15 minutes or take a very cheap tram(which is a fun thing to do).
So, if you get a decently priced room - it is worth it, particularly with a harbour view.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piterskii_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

This hotel was booked as part of a package in conjunction with Cathay Pacific air tickets to New Zealand, initially I was worried that it was a bit out on a limb but these worries were unfounded.

Situated on Hong Kong Island the Hotel is situated close to the exit of the West Harbour tunnel and the excellent road system makes access easy from the airport. There is a pre-bookable Airport Shuttle bus but if travelling with a small party (4 or 5) it will be almost as cheap to hire one of the small limousines that operate to/from the airport, the price for 4 of us was 750HK$ (£62) for the 30 minute transfer which equates very well with UK Taxi prices.

The hotel itself is a small tower block (32 floors) situated at the West end of Connaught Road, with the entrance off a typically chinese narrow street, nut once inside the entrance foyer was spacious and clean, reception detail was easy but we had a complication when we found that instead of 2 twin bedded rooms, we had 2 rooms with King Size beds, this could have caused problems but was quickly rectified, rooms 1 - 6 on each floor look out over Victoria Harbour and provide a constant ever chanhing view, however, if looking for a harbour view then any floor above 9 would provide the best option.

Our package came with an inclusive breakfast and the 2nd floor restaurant was found to be spacious with attentive staff, the buffet style breakfast providing an excellent array of cuisine from Fresh Fruit and breads, bacon, ham, eggs through to the traditional chinese fare.

Although there was little information readily available to the naked eye, the concierge service was excellent providing a booking service for tours, dining, transport and a ready supply of bottled water upon request.

As already stated the hotel is at the west end of connaught road, and once you have your bearings the local transport system is simple and effective with frequent buses and trams linking with Central and the famous Star ferries to Kowloon and at a flat fare price of $2HK (16p) for a tram ride over any distance one must ask why in the UK we pay £3.00+ to travel just one stop, we have it wrong somewhere.

Lastly if visiting HK don't forget to purchase an Octopus travel card, the cost is $150 but this includes a refundable deposit of $50 giving $100 of travel, this covers you for Buses, ferries, trams, metro, the Victoria Peak tram (watch out for queues) it can also be used to purchase drinks and provisions at the local convenience stores - a real bargain 3 days travelling only cost us $42 (£3.50).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Improve-UK-service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Hotel was clean and rooms were small for Hong Kong standards but modern and comfortable. Had an issue with room and staff was accomodating and quickly resolved.

If budget is primary concern this is a reasonable option, but for me half the joy in visiting Hong Kong is being in nice hotel in the heart of the city, not an updated Courtyard in a drab part of town. For an extra $50 or so I would say there are better options and whatever cost savings I had was partially erased by the increased taxi fees.

Not a bad choice for tourists on a tight budget but I would avoid if staying on business as there are better options for not alot more.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasonLJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Checked in at midnight.

Informed by Reception no room with twin beds available.
Amazingly, Reception also insisted that no extra beds were available as well.

Room amenities adequate and clean. Room seemed somewhat cramped.
Hotel just about worth a value for money rating based on price.

Travellers should be aware that the hotel is some distance from an MTR station and the lack of general amenities in the vicinity (a couple of convenience stores but anything more is a 15 min walk away).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnTSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I stayed at Courtyard Marriott on a business trip for 3 nights with colleagues. The biggest advantage for this hotel is the location, not far from the Central station where the airport train drops you and quite close to the central business district. The Courtyard is nothing extravagant (not supposed to be either) but has all the makings of a decent business hotel and is quite conveniently located. The rooms are decent with all that a business traveller needs but a tad small though. The bathrooms are quite like a box but again sufficient.

We used the restaurant a couple of times, with the service being quite quick & food decently priced; also it had a decent option od vegetarian options to the relief of quite a few of us. Also visited the gym one, however diffcult to call if one since it just has a few cadio equipments thrown in, so dont expect a full fledged gym.

Service is quite decent with the front desk being quite helpful & quick, however the real issue was the elevators; the hotel had just two elevators making the waiting time during peak office hours unjustifiably long.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingSoul83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#60 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,700 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#69 of 718 in Hong Kong
607 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,195 reviews
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hong Kong

Property: Courtyard Hong Kong
Address: No.167 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for spectacular shopping, sightseeing and entertainment, Hong Kong is ideal for business or leisure travel. With a beautiful backdrop of Victoria Harbour, Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong offers great harbour views and easy access to the financial district. Our downtown Hong Kong hotel is located near the MTR subway - HKU station of West Island Line with approximate 6 to 8 minutes on foot, hotel also offers complimentary shuttle to major Hong Kong Island business districts. The lobby's interactive GoBoard lets you find local restaurants, news and travel conditions. Smartly designed guestrooms offer great views, Marriott signature bedding, LCD TV, complimentary high-speed connectivity in all guestrooms as well as meeting facility, and a luxurious marble bathroom. Our Executive Rooms and Suites provide access to the cozy Executive Lounge. Enjoy a workout in our 24-hour fitness centre and dine at our award-winning restaurant MoMo Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Courtyard
Hong Kong Marriott
Courtyard Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing