We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food but....”

Yung Kee Restaurant
Ranked #296 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$13 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: Opened since 1942, Yung Kee is the only Chinese eatery that has been named by the Fortune Magazine as one of the top 15 best restaurants in the world. It was honoured as 1 Star Michelin Restaurant in 2010 and 2011. At Yung Kee Restaurant, not just you can try the world famous Signature Roasted Goose, you can also find tasty Catonese food ranging from exquisite home-styled, award-winning, to special dishes. Standing in the heart of Hong Kong's shopping and business district, Yung Kee Restaurant is your first step to taste authentic top quality Cantonese cusinie.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice food but....”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Went here for a dim sum and roast pork brunch on Sunday.

Food was excellent and was reasonable value (about £35 for two people which seems OK given the quality and location).

The staff and service were excellent and made us feel welcome through out.

Only slight disappointment after ordering was noticing they serve shark fin soup which in this day and age isn't really acceptable (though is sadly still very much common place in Hong Kong).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redfella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    509
    306
    106
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food but rather pricey. Century egg and roast goose is a must...”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Food quality here is pretty good. Very nice ambience and I suspect, thats what you also pay for! Roast goose and century egg is a must! Very good, but perhaps a little over hyped. There are cheaper places to eat with similar quality roast goose but you can't beat the service and ambience here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrewkyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive, over-rated”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Came here for lunch on a weekday afternoon, and it was packed to the brim. We made a reservation the day before, and was shown to the 3rd level of the restaurant at 1pm. Ordered the famed roasted goose, suckling pig, char siew, duck and roasted pork. Tastes good, but not fantastic for its price. Btw, they changed the fermented soy beans under the roast goose to some big stewed peanuts. Not really a fan of that change though :/

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esteller1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Take a bottle - somewhere else!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We generally can see something good in the many restaurants we visit but sadly not this one! From the chaotic arrival to the hasty departure 90 minutes later this was a total disaster! First was the lack of alcohol - which in truth is far from unique on Hong Kong. Next was the failure of our lemon tea to arrive for 30 mins! During which time a mysterious dish arrived at our table. Taking it to be a free appetiser we tried what turned out to be their signature goose and pork. The meat was gristly and full of bones. The first of our dishes arrived after nearly an hour with the others arriving at 10 minute intervals. At this point we decided to draw stumps and call for the bill. This initially was an astronomic £110 for 4 very poor main courses with the lemon chicken tasting more like a lemon drizzle cake! They even tried to charge us for the starters we did not order!! Our advice, take your bottle elsewhere!!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor was right on: fair ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Recommended by hotel so we went despite the poor reviews by others on trip advisor.
Food was luke warm and service was poor.
The meat platter was cold. We had goose , suckling pig and BBQ pork. It was extremely fatty.

Helpful?
Thank EMK0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yung Kee Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yung Kee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing