We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious roast goose”

Tai Wing Wah Restaurant
Ranked #897 of 7,925 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious roast goose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Had dinner there and enjoyed the roast goose. Was rather bemused that they actually offer boiled rice with lard and soya sauce, something we used to hear off when we were young. The atmosphere was busy but the food came out fast. Most of the dishes were delicious.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuneSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    46
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Over priced and lack of services”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We are local Hong Kong couple living in that area. We have heard of this restaurant and we decided to go there for a long time, for its fame of serving genuine local village food. However, we were very disappointed and decided we will never come again.

We used to dine at Chinese restaurants in the area for dinner after work and normally, we were surprised by the good value of food and dinner set promotions. So the below comments are based on the comparison with other Chinese restaurant in the same area.

Here at Tai Wing Wah, even normal dishes were charged at average 40% higher than the other restaurants in the area. Some of the dishes I would say is local village food but most of them, are actually common Canton dishes. I strongly believed that they are charging higher because of the fame of the restaurant ONLY.

With higher price, we were expecting better quality of food, hygiene and services. But this is not the case. The waitress kept passing by our table and trying to get away our dishes, pushing us to finish asap. The menu stated that dessert is served at the end. However, when we asked the waitress, she said that we have to order! We didn't realise it's included in the menu originally but we saw the other table was having that. But it is very common to include either fruit/ dessert at the end. We checked the menu afterwards and saw that is written on the menu. Even if they have finished, she should have said it's finished instead of ordering. We reckon she said that just because she would like to get us out of the restaurant asap.

For payment, they even have a minimum charge for paying by credit card!! Completely ridiculous! There are lots more much better choices in Yuen Long. No wonder they don't have a lot of customers. We will never go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tungtung1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Totally rubbish and its bias!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

When I got there all my family was waiting there for 20mins for a space,there was 8 of us 2 families.there we were waiting for a space then I found a table open with 10 spaces and not aloud to sit at it and apparently reserved for the counters son totally bias! Once we got a space we sat on a table only fit enough for 5 people and there was 8 of us, then I saw a table free that could fit all 8 of us perfectly , I asked if we could sit on it but they said no so I left it, soon after a big family came and guess what it was the resteraunts close customers very bias...this shows they only care about the people who only come often!! Don't go or else you will be waiting for 20mins and then finding your self ona table that could only fit half the amount of people

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank needtolisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dining with local people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

If you want to find some local restaurants to try the Chinese cuisine, this restaurant may be your choice. There are plenty of dish to choose, which start from HKD70. Barbecue Pork is one of favorite dishes there. Both the service and environment is acceptable in my point of view. I went there with my wife for a few times previous half year. We will definitely go again and again as it is in good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chun Sek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cheap and Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

The food is of high standard as with many restaurants in Hong Kong however this place is better. The fried egg with oyster is simply amazing. The fish is wonderfully steamed with just the right amount of seasoning. We had 3 dishes among the 3 of us and it cost less than HK$200.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnWong56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tai Wing Wah Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tai Wing Wah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing