We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer is not king at The Veranda”

The Verandah Restaurant (The Repulse Bay)
Ranked #459 of 8,058 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$39 - US$193
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The Verandah is a celebrated restaurant that brings you a faultless combination of heavenly traditional Continental cuisine, blended with innovation, fine wines and discreet, attentive service, in a classic yet relaxing setting in true Peninsula style.The Verandah re-opened following a six-month-long extensive restoration and refurbishment of its interiors and kitchens in August 2009. It maintains the relaxed and spacious atmosphere of the original Repulse Bay Hotel but with a Grand Hall to create a more spacious and welcoming arrival experience and a revitalised interior. A new Grand Staircase provides stylish and convenient passage from the restaurant to the Palm Court and the retail arcade. Regulars can rest assured that The Verandah's celebrated signature dishes — and its traditional English Afternoon Tea and Sunday Brunch — remain on its bill of fare.Opening hours : Wednesday to Saturday, Public Holidays Lunch 12:00 noon to 2:30 pm Afternoon Tea 3:00 pm to 5:30 pm(3:30 pm to 5:30 pm onPublic Holidays) Dinner 7:00 pm to 10:30 pm Sunday Brunch 11:00 am to 2:30 pm Afternoon Tea 3:30 pm to 5:30 pm Dinner 7:00 pm to 10:30 pm Closed every Monday and Tuesday (except Public Holidays).Lunch and Afternoon TeaKindly note that our dress code is Smart Casual.We respectfully request that gentlemen refrain from wearing plastic footwear, beach flip-flops and sandals. Additionally, sleeveless shirts are not allowed for gentlemen.DinnerKindly note that our dress code is Smart Casual.We respectfully request that gentlemen refrain from wearing plastic footwear, beach flip-flops and sandals. Sleeveless shirts are not allowed for gentlemen. Additionally, full length trousers are required for gentlemen.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer is not king at The Veranda”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We've reserved two months in advance for dinner with friends. For some reason, the reservation could not be put into the system yet, but they would take note of it, they assured us. A month later, I've called to check on the reservation to make sure, and they said that it was not possible anymore because a party was booked. They suggested I reserve the evening before, which I did. A week later, I get a call again to say that the reservation was cancelled on that day too, because there was also a party now.

I understand that parties bring in more revenue than individual reservations, so we decided not to go to this restaurant anymore.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Hotel
Most people take public transport but there actually an underground carpark, if i remember correctly if you dine at the Verandah you get free parking. This building is so beautiful - definitely visit once with your loved one on a date. Bring your camera, preferably during the day on a sunny day, walk around the building and lawns and get many beatiful pictures with the sea as background. We even wanted to have our wedding here but didn't work out in the end.

Restaurant
The setting is very english and fancy, the tables and chairs are comfortable, the tea sets look beautiful and photographs are a must. The food itself is decent. afternoon tea costs about HK$300 per head. The servers are courteous and i like the laidback atmosphere, no one is hurrying you, we sat until almost all other patrons have gone!

Overall i highly recommend for couples, dates, especially people with cars, and ofcourse tourists - after your meal you can literally walk across the street to the public beach!

P.S. if you want to have afternoon tea here on weekends best to book in advance

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Easy Sunday Morning”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I reached The Repulse Bay Club via express bus from the Hong Kong Station. The fare was HKD 10.00 and took us about 15 minutes to get to the place. The bus drops you off right by the club.

The ambience of the restaurant is wonderful: colonial building, high ceilings, wooden ceiling fans, marble floors, wooden doors and windows with brass fixtures. We had a table by the window so we had a seaside view while enjoying our brunch.

Appetizers and dessert was buffet style; and we were given a choice for our main course. The appetizer spread consisted of different salads, shrimps, crabs, sushi corner, cold cuts/canapés corner, fresh asparagus soup, foie gras. There was also a fresh juice bar. Try the sangria--very light and refreshing.

For the dessert spread, they had ice cream, apple pudding, crepes and freshly made tiramisu which you must try!

There was a choice between the pork loin, pasta and fish for the main course. my aunty had the pork loin and according to her was a bit tough. I had the fish which was nice and light.

We had a wonderful Sunday get together with family friends in this homey place-good ambience, wonderful views, good food, good service. Very different and welcome change from the usual bustle of the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aamManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A favorite in Hong Kong for 15 years!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We used to live walking distance from this lovely restaurant so we have been quite a few times for special occasions. The service is always very attentive and well trained, the food consistent and fresh, the ambience amazing with an "Old Hong Kong colonial" feel. We ate there last night on a whim to celebrate a new job procurement and it was as wonderful as usual.

Their fixed price menu is very good value for a fancy restaurant (HKD 508) for 4 courses. It includes a choice of cocktail, appetizer, main course and dessert to suit everyone, even vegetarians. The portions were just right. If the fixed menu isn't your preference there are many selections on the a la carte menu and they have 2 other special inclusive dinners that are tasty but a lot of food (Boston Lobster promo and Repulse Bay Classic menus) My husband is a big fan of the Repulse Bay Classic!

Now for some tips....
1. always call for a reservation to avoid disappointment. They have many wedding parties here and often the whole venue is booked. Friday and Saturday nights are popular and often fully booked.
2. it is a nice option for Sunday brunch
3. get a table by the window on the left side facing the restaurant. The view is better.
4. treat yourself to a glass of champagne with fruit flavor added. The blueberry is the best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank kitpattrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
183 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, but disappointed by the food.”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The good things first... The restaurant is just gorgeous - with an old world colonial charm, and lovely sea views. Perfect ambience for a brunch/ lunch/ afternoon tea.

We went on a public holiday... On those days, They serve a set lunch and there are no ala carte options. For HKD 498pp, this includes buffet spreads of appetizers (mostly salads and cold cuts) and desserts, one soup and one entree (from a choice of 4). Three of us ordered the pork sausage with mash, and one ordered the salmon. The salmon was okay, but the sausage was smelly and tasted almost raw (may be its supposed to be like that?)... All of us returned it after one bite. They kindly replaced our mains with the roast duck... We didn't like that either... But it was more edible than the sausage. The desserts were decent, especially the mango pudding, the raspberry tart and the bread and butter pudding. Overall, the food was a disappointment, especially given the price tag.

The service was okay. Appreciate the fact that they replaced our mains with no argument, and didn't try to hurry us, even as the place started filling up with the afternoon tea crowd.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanwalkwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Verandah Restaurant (The Repulse Bay) also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Verandah Restaurant (The Repulse Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing