We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious laksa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Katong

Katong
Ranked #2,765 of 7,917 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sheung Wan
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious laksa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

This is a bustling (at lunchtime) restaurant in which you wouldn't spend hours lingering over lunch - it's more of an order, eat and leave type place. That said, staff are friendly and the laksa is delicious. The soup base sometimes varies in terms of thickness but it is always tasty. If you are wearing something light coloured they will give you a bib - a very nice touch...

Make sure to ask for extra sambal!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissLambkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
186 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“pleasant change in the elements mall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I was glad to have a singaporean/malaysian cuisine in the convenience of an air-conditioned mall. and it is a welcome change from either chinese or western or jap noodle cuisine.
I suppose it's as authentic as you can get in this city given the small singaporean and malaysian population.
quick and cheap weekday lunch available

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avidtravellerhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Il Padrino's experience with Laksa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

There are some Asian dishes that il Padrino loves even more then his "native-land" spaghetti and one of these is the Laksa . You know , is the kind of love at the first bite .......
Now , I love to try Laksa everywhere it happen to be in Asia and for my personal experience in HK the best Laksa is the one you can have in Mercer Street , Sheung Wan . The ambient is really basic , no frills , same as the service , but I love that because this is what you expect from a restaurant like that . What is incredible is the Laksa .... can't descibe you but , believe il Padrino..... is the best one in HK ever !!!
Please do not think that the Katong's shop in Elements is from the same chain ..... that one is not good at all , please go , try , and you will agree with me . My singaporean GF also agree completely with me on my laksa's review .... and her beeing Singaporean ....... double guarantee !! Saluti dal Padrino

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Padrino-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good mee siam (altho you...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2008

Good mee siam (altho you have to ask for extra lime). Laska was decent but skip the prawn mee

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“only go if i hv not had...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2007

only go if i hv not had the authentic version for over 3 months

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Katong also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Katong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing