We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive , good food”
Review of Dynasty

Dynasty
Ranked #38 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$128
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Description: Showcasing authentic Cantonese cuisine, Dynasty, the award-wining Chinese restaurant in Wan Chai, creates delightful lifestyle destination for unique dining experience set against the backdrop of Victoria Harbour.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive , good food”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Went in with great expectations , had been recommended by a local friend. It is expensive and though view was not as good as some other places I visited it was nice none the less.
I enjoyed the dumplings & crab and suggest you to try them out. I really enjoyed the Char siu and think one should try it if they like pork and want something more authentic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AartiuKapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    59
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Having read some of the reviews, we had the char siu, which was very tasty, The meat was lean, very little fat, but still moist and not dry. They also had dumplings with hairy crab, as it was the season - which was OK, but not as good as some other places. Their crab claw was nice. A fish fillet dish and veg dish was OK. They had an unusual bird's nest in double-boiled milk dessert which was interesting. Overall a nice meal, but not sure why they got the 1 Michelin star. There was a nice view of Kowloon from the windows. No dim sum at night, so would probably go again at lunchtime to try that the next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yss97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced for average food”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was a disappointing meal, with over-salted and overcooked beef. Not worth the price. The view by Hong Kong standards is not as spectacular as many other venues, although the due to the geography it will always be more impressive to be on the Kowloon side looking toward Hong Kong Island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“CHAR SIU IS TOO DIE FOR!!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The food is excellent, what you would expect in an Michelin star restaurant.
I would recommend getting the char siu, it was melt in the mouth experience, i never tasted such wonderful pork.
definitely visit again next time am in hong kong

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldwide12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience in a fabulous venue”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I had the pleasure of having lunch in one of the private rooms here and enjoyed absolutely everything about this restaurant.

Our private room overlooks the spectacular harbourview. We were extremely lucky that it was a beautiful sunny day. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome. The service was very professional and courteous. The private room comes with a TV screen with a laptop connection; extremely useful for business lunches.

The restaurant itself is very tastefully decorated with a nice ambiance about it. Although we were here for a business lunch, the atmosphere and service made us feel relaxed. Not to mention the food. Oh my word, the food. The roast pork and BBQ pork were some of the best I've ever tasted. We enjoyed a family style meal and I personally adored every single dish presented to us. Especially the fried beancurd - it was amazing how something so simple can taste so divine! I think this is testament to the culinary skills of the resident chefs. I'd take my hat off to them if I were wearing one.

Needless to say, I will be returning to Dynasty the next time I'm in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lapetitelucette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dynasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing