We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience! Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
Ranked #69 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Experience! Great Stay!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our family of three stayed here for six nights, and we were very pleased. The rooms aren't large, but they are large enough. Our 8-year-old loved the bed high up on the wall. The bathroom and shower were very comfortable. We were on the 19th floor and we had a great view of the boats in the Aberdeen harbor.
We enjoyed the free breakfast and nightly happy hour.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
We found the location to be very convenient to the great public transportation system, and we had no trouble getting anywhere we wanted to in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank riderbymyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear riderbymyside,

Thank you for such a fantastic review! I’m very glad that your son like’s the overhanging bunk bed, quite a unique feature of our property. And like you, I can’t praised enough the effectiveness of the public transport system in Hong Kong, rank among the safest and most frequent public transport in the world. And it looks like you had a bit of fun and adventure too exploring the city the way only locals do.

It was our pleasure looking after you and your family!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    199
    49
    19
    14
See reviews for
140
298
63
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Think Hong Kong and you'll probably think the bright lights of Causway Bay or the expat cliques of Soho. There is however something different and its found here at 100 SPW. Aberdeen itself gives a real flavour of the local Chinese communities and the busy harbour may have upgraded its flotilla but has lost nothing of its charm. Its not a pristine neighbourhood but you can wander safely here amongst the locals. Ovolo are doing something different. A kind of all inclusive deal with included breakfasts, free mini bar and snacks - there's even a free booze happy hour in the communal area that feels at times like a smart, grown up hostel. The team are a joy and nothing is too much trouble Julie will welcome you with an infectious smile, as manager Chum who always seems to be around to chat to gives the best tourist advice and the team (they're all top people) keep everything in order and the rooms impeccible in presentation. Pay the extra for a suite or a deluxe sea view to enjoy the amazing sunsets. Take a trip to Lamma island from the nearby harbour for a Cornish village type experience and of course the bay is only 20 minutes by bus or less by car so you can enjoy the bright lights of the city and then still retire to Ovolo where it'll quickly feel just like home.

Room Tip: 2201 is small but has an incredible view. The suites are worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Adam O,

“Real flavour of the local Chinese communities” that really sums us up, Aberdeen is an integral part of our operations where a huge number of our staffs live just a stone throw away. Not from Aberdeen myself but time is a tad slower here and it’s definitely a welcoming contrast, almost a relief from the sometimes overwhelming crowded streets of the city proper. Thanks for the personal shout out and the glowing remarks for the team, Julie for sure will be ecstatic to see her name on this review. Thank you again for the "Best of everything" caption and we can't wait to welcome you back home!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Ovolo Hotel 100 is an excellent choice, the room was fantastic, clean, plenty with good little details, such as free minibar, great internet at room, superb breakfast, a bag with sweets, tv with channels in english, and some more etceteras.
The neighborhood is the only issue, not because you will feel unsafe, but because is far away from the Center of the City and you will spend time and money every day to commute. I also had a situation that a taxi didn't know how to rich the hotel, because "this is not a taxi zone...people here doesn't have the money to take taxi here". The Hotel is in from of the Fish Market, and this was a great experience for me...but only for a couple of hours.., not for every single day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Eduardo R

I’m glad you think we are “an excellent choice” for your recent Hong Kong visit. Apart from the warm hospitality we provide to our guests, we put a real value for traveler's hard-earned cash. Hotel breakfast which will usually cost over HK$100 comes for free, shelling-out HK$30 for a gourmet coffee at a café and we offer them complimentary round-the-clock and the two happy hours…. need I say more :)

Aberdeen is a residential area so taxis are not as frequent compared to the business districts of Hong Kong but our team here will be happy to book taxis in advance. Ovolo is relatively young compared to the major hotel players in town and your review and patronage definitely helps raise awareness, so I have you and the rest of the reviewers here to thank for.

The nearby Wholesale Fish Market supplies 80% of the seafood to household and restaurants tables all over Hong Kong and it is a site to behold in its peak hours when all the fish trawlers docking to unload their freshest catch. I’m glad you got a chance to see that.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Quite disappointed with this hotel as description of the rooms on their website were misleading. Be aware that booking "Deluxe sea view" doesn't mean you are going to enjoy sea view as we were persuaded by Eric and one more staff that the room looking over graveyard, road and harbor is a "deluxe sea view". We traveled with two groan up children and their superior tween room was exactly the same as ours but cost less. It was only when we complained to the management and told them we'll share our experience with other travelers on Tripadvisor they showed us the room with a big window and proper sea view. Next day we received an apology with bottle of vine and chocolates which was nice but we felt cheated. It was too complected for us to move to another room at 11 pm. Also, rooms are very small for couples, there is no cupboard, you get 4-5 hangers each and that's it. You have to leave your suitcase on the floor next to the bed which makes it really difficult moving around the room. This might be OK for young travelers but not for us (we are in mid fifties). We wish if we have paid a little bit more to stay in a different hotel and definitely will not be back to this one.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Admir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Admir S,

We are very sorry that we were not able to provide the usual Ovolo hospitality that many reviewers here had experienced and that overall we fail to meet your expectation. We value guest comments good or bad and we feel that it is essential that we follow-up with yours, and we did immediately after we became aware of the incident. We do have two types of Deluxe Seaview Rooms and the type preferred was not available upon check-in and my team failed to offer an alternative. I believed I have spoken to you personally upon your departure to extend my apologies over the handling of your room assignment which I agreed could had been handled better. Please note that this incident had been a training subject for the team for our immediate improvement. Again, my sincere apologies.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Top notch value for money.The location is on the quiter side of hongkong island, but a lot of local restaurants nearby.The view of the harbour and the mountains nearby is beautiful.The concept and design is wonderful.You get free breakfast,wifi,goodies in room,mini bar.This is amazing value for the money one pays.Appletv is in the room along with a 3d tv.The bathroom amenities by Malin Goetz is of top quality.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bismoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Bismoy,

Thank you for leaving a fantastic review following your recent stay with us. While the old adage “there is no such thing as free lunch” is true to most cases, this does not apply here at Ovolo. And because it is free, we work even harder to ensure our amenities are of great quality. Thus the AppleTV, the Samsung Smart 3D TV and yes the chic New York brand – Malin+Goetz bath amenities. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location of this lovely hotel is just perfect for those wishing to visit tie beaches, perhaps not so great for the town ( ie soho etc ) end of things , still all transport is inexpensive , & you will always have a lovely & welcoming hotel to return to in the evenings if you don't mind being a bit out of the way . Everyone at this hotel is soooo nice , helpful & friendly its incredible .I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody going to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: We were on the twelfth floor with a great view of the river & all the boats coming & going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirandacork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mirandacork,

Thank you so much for such a glowing review! It is summer and a perfect time for long leisurely walk along the golden sand beaches of the south side, a mere 25 minutes bus ride away. You have definitely seen a different facet of Hong Kong away from the skyscrapers and the malls, though seldom explored by travelers but I’m glad that you did and thank you for sharing.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great. The stuff is always helpful and ready to help. The location is actually quite convenient as there's a bus just opposite the hotel towards the left that brings you all the way to the city area where CWB sogo is at. The rooms are clean and well stocked with drinks and bath amenities. Just great! The hotel is modern and for the price this is a great deal! Always love it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloechloe1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Chloechloe1990

Ever so often we hear great feedback from guest visiting us for the first time. But to get a wonderful review from a returning guest after their initial experience, coming back with expectations, is really a confirmation that what we are doing is what our guests want. This will only motivate us to do even better.

Thank you for your patronage.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Ovolo Southside
#35 of 718 in Hong Kong
631 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#73 of 718 in Hong Kong
425 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#26 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,159 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour

Property: Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
Address: 100 Shek Pai Wan Road | Aberdeen, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Hong Kong life like a local. Surrounded by old-world Hong Kong's fishing community Ovolo Aberdeen is a unique lifestyle boutique hotel. Enjoy ultra-modern interiors, sweeping sea views and the latest tech. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 100 Shek Pai Wan Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing