We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel i've been to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
Ranked #61 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel i've been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at Ovolo for a week in April 2014 and there was absolutely nothing to complain about. Rooms are small but well designed, clean and equipped with all the necessities, all looking brand new. Breakfasts, served in a lobby, were quite diverse and tasty. Self laudry is available and the gym is open 24h/7.

Very friendly and helpful staff [with special thanks and regards to Wilson, who had been simple amazing throughout our stay :)

One thing not so great about Ovolo is its location: 30 min by bus from the Central (but the bus transportation in Hong Kong is amazing [check the Octopus Card if you're planning to travel by bus more than a couple of times]) and next to fish market. However, Ovolo is in a center of Aberdeen, once a separate city now more a district, full of shops and restaurants (some of them very good), so there is plenty to do in the neighborhood.

Summing up, it's been a great week in Hong Kong, largely thanks to fantastic Ovolo Hotel.

And i haven't mention the quality/price ratio --> it's one of the cheapest hotels (3+ stars) in Hong Kong. If i'm ever back to Hong Kong, i won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more comfortable (less noise from the outside with windows open, better view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello there Marta A!

We are humbled by your generous “Best hotel I’ve been to” review. We are glad that you found great value to the services and the all-inclusive amenities that we provide. While your review is such an enjoyable read, it is first and foremost an inspiration to all of us here at Ovolo and we will endeavor to get only better!

Gone are the days that one had to fish for small coins from their purse/pockets and Octopus card has really put travelling in Hong Kong’s public transport with such ease. One can even use it in making purchases at any of the grocery and convenient stores around town. It is definitely recommended for any Hong Kong traveler intending to stay for at least 3 nights.

Wilson is overjoyed for the personal shout-out and he sends his thanks and his best wishes along with mine. Thank you again!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    186
    44
    18
    11
See reviews for
132
286
62
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014. One arrival, the staff could not help me enough. The room itself was small, but very clean. I had a great view of the fishing area outside, and it looked spectacular at night. I loved all the little extras... a bag of treats, the mini bar was complimentary, a shopping bag/backpack and a few other things.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outbackdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Outbackdaz

Thank you for highlighting our O bag among other things in your “Comfortable Hotel” review – our O bag is a complimentary multi-purpose backpack, or a shopping bag, a trip to the beach bag, a party bag – whatever-you-call-it-bag! And that is just one of the many extras! I'm glad you got to enjoy them.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I agree that Ovolo is such a thoughtful hotel!
Yes, the room is small, the lobby and the 'cafe' are small and it's quite far from the Hong Kong central, but it's lovely as it is.
We booked and stayed at the ocean view room for 5 days and 4 nights. The view overlooking the Aberdeen promenade/dock is beautiful, be it during the day or the night. The room is clean, the facility is complete; the kettle, tea & coffee, the free mini bar drinks, the snacks they gave you when you just checked into the room.
The breakfast was nothing fancy, but I think they are good. We got croissants, toasts, cereals, juice, milk, coffee/tea, ham, cheese and fruits. Pretty reasonable, I think. Around the hotel, there are little shops that sell food, Mcdonalds, little local restaurants and, even a supermarket.
Since it's a bit far from town, taking taxi can be quite costly, buses are more reasonable. However, make sure that you ask the reception which buses to catch (and where) to go back to the hotel, as the hotel pamphlet only tells you how to go FROM the hotel to places, not how to return. We got lost once and had to take a taxi back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nietis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello there nietis!

That is exactly the reaction we wanted from our hotel guests when they experience our “effortless living” concept. Keeping tabs of your hotel incidentals can sometimes spoil the fun of your vacation, so we got rid of those so you can truly enjoy our Ovolo hospitality.

As for our “Bus? No Fuss!” guide, our next reprint will include the return transport information. In the meantime, we have printed temporary guides for our guests. Thank you for the recommendation.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

the staff in this hotel are very friendly and are happy to help you in any way possible I cant thank them enough, they helped me find the Hong Kong heritage museum, local bus routes to city locations they were wonderful

the facilities available are brilliant, it was very hot in HK during July and I could go to the lobby any time and have a cold drink and an apple and the fridge in the room had drinks available for free like coke, water and beer

the breakfast was continental and had a selection of pastries, cold meats, yogurts, fruit, tea, coffee the usually goodies and there is plenty to keep you going through out the day

we stayed in a superior twin room that I found to be more then adequate for our needs and had apple TV which was a cool feature to have since I never used it before
I didn't use these features personally but there is a very good looking gym and a handy laundrette
the hotel also has handy packages for Disneyland and ocean park if your visiting theme attraction's
thanks for a wonderful time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear daniel m

We had been called many things but a “legend” that would be the first! And it is so inspiring!

We would like our guests to think of our LO Lounge as an extension of their room, that is why we load them up with complimentary beverages and snacks 24 hours a day! I’m glad you were able to enjoy them, plus the breakfast and the Apple TV in our rooms. We are so privileged to have a team of dedicated service professionals and I am very happy to learn that we were able to fulfill your needs during your stay.

And Daniel m, the pleasure was ours!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in Aberdeen area.
Small room, but clean!
Easy to travell to shopping and sightseeing by taxi.
Minibar and breakfast inkl.:)
We can recomand it and will come back for our next Hong Kong visit.

One tip from us to you - When you are travelling with taxi - always bring the hotel adress in lokal writing. And there is sevral Ovolo hotels so make sure you are goning to Aberdeen.

Helpful?
3 Thank mberte2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear mberte2

With our all-inclusive concept – free breakfast, free mini-bar, free happy hour, just to name a few, I do believe we have the best value in town and we are pleased to hear of your endorsement. However, if there was any area where we did not meet your expectation stopping you short on rating us 5 out of 5, please do let me know. As much as we love positive feedback, your candid comments for our improvement will be much appreciated.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I have just spent a short honeymoon staying at this hotel. The staff here,or Happy Shiney People, could teach some the worlds top hotels a few lessons in customer service. From arrival to departure, the service was of the first order,from the Manager down to the must junior. Nothing is too much trouble. The word "No" does seem to be in their vocabulary. The rooms are small,but well designed,and the floor to ceiling windows all breathtaking views over Aberdeen Harbour and beyond. The company policy of free minibar,free loot bag,free coffee and soft drinks 24/7,and free Happy Hour between 6 - 8pm,with free wine, beer and snacks makes this hotel unique. I must single out,Giselle,Eric and Lok for special mention,and I must also apologise for not mentioning those members of staff whose names I did not find out. Many other reviews mention the easy availablility of public transport,and I agree with those comments,but I feel that the hotel and the staff were the jewels in the crown. Would we go back?? The answer to that is a resounding "yes"

Room Tip: Book a seaview room on a higher floor,traffic noise could be a problem nearer street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brodazz9137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear brodazz9137

We are very humbled to know that we have made such a positive impact during your recent stay with us. Our objective has always been to provide genuine care and comfort to all of our guests. But it is not very often articulated the way you described your experience and your thoughts on your interaction with our staff. Reading your "If only all hotels could be like this!!!" review is so rewarding and we can’t help but be honored to be a part of your Hong Kong experience. Gisele, Eric, Lok and the rest of the Happy Shiny team here at Ovolo, thanked you and the mrs wholeheartedly. You walked through our doors as our guests and we bid you farewell as family! And I think that is what service is all about.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I booked this hotel in the area that we wanted to stay and was thrilled with the price and the pictures and location. My partner lived in the area and we were visiting his family. The hotel is in a great location for bus and taxi service. Other than that, I cannot say enough positive things about the quality of the hotel, room and the staff. The meals were good quality, the included amenities and the treatment by the staff made us feel like royalty. I was very concerned about the size of the smaller room. But it's setup well and I was able to accommodate two carry ons, two backpacks and two large pieces of checked luggage in the room. There was plenty of water available, laundry was always generally available (be kind, share with the other guests) and the hotel itself was tastefully decorate and contemporary looking. If I needed help with anything, the staff was always able to accommodate. Whether it be stamps, change, advice for a restaurant, taxi or anything. I probably won't stay anywhere else in Hong Kong!

Room Tip: The suites are quite large, but I found the standard room to be quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear John B

We not only spoil our guests with the many complimentary inclusions but we make every effort to ensure that those we provide for free is of the best and freshest quality. As indicated in many reviews here, the team does make a valiant effort to ensure comfort and care are provided to every single guests. I am very proud to work with these individuals. And you are so kind to point it out on your review. We can’t wait for your next visit and welcome you back to your home in Hong Kong!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Ovolo Southside
#37 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#59 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
#66 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#62 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#71 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour

Property: Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
Address: 100 Shek Pai Wan Road | Aberdeen, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Hong Kong life like a local. Surrounded by old-world Hong Kong's fishing community Ovolo Aberdeen is a unique lifestyle boutique hotel. Enjoy ultra-modern interiors, sweeping sea views and the latest tech. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 100 Shek Pai Wan Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing