We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good view”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rei Sushi Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Rei Sushi Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Central
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,733 reviews
1,069 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
“Good view”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

This place in IFC has a nice view of the opposite Kowloon side, and you'll pay premium for the view and location. I took the sushi counter seat, as always. Service was typical hong kong, efficient if not brusque. Ordered the 8 piece sushi platter and the sushi chefs were quickly working on the orders , including mine. They hardly ever look up or smile, never mind to chat with the diners at the counter. The sushi were mostly ok, the tuna and toro were good. There was wifi and i asked for the password. They passed me the business card and the password was the name and phone number, which I thought was good marketing right? Right after I keyed in the password, they took the card away! So they don't want guests to have a card of the place? Weird

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I expect more from a teppan place in HK”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Lunchtime visit with work colleagues. I was paying so perhaps that immediately pushes my expectations up. Choose a teppan set meal. Fairly average to be honest.meat didn't melt in the mouth like it normally does and service was a bit haphazard. Was busy though so maybe was just one of those off days but won't be going back in a hurry. Plenty other top restaurants nearby where you get more value for money.

Helpful?
Thank edgyreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bad Food”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Took my son for lunch at REI. Have been a few times before and enjoyed the food. This time was very disappointed.

Red tuna salad was okay but far too much mayonnaise. Soft shell crab roll smelled bad when it arrived and my ten year-old son spat out his first taste. We returned it but they left the spat out food on the table for the rest of the meal. The prawn tempura roll was okay but little flavour.

Teppanyaki giant prawn was borderline acceptable. Was definitely not fresh but probably not bad enough to send back. My son did not want to eat it. Teppanyaki cod was undercooked and had bones in it.

Worst Japanese meal I have had in Hong Kong in the last 14 years.

Unenjoyable meal - will not return (too may good options).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zephion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
187 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Thought I was in Tokyo”
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

The food was so delicious and the sushi is so fresh. Wide selection of sushi and sashimi available, delicious hand roles, tempura, fish and steaks and all the other things we didn't Oder anymore because we had already too much. Nice setting with stunning view to Kowloon. Try to get a window booth. So if you miss Tokyo quality Japanese food, go here. Prices are high but not outrageous

Helpful?
Thank doritg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The sushi Man”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The sushi man is the most funny and strange man ever seen behind a sushi bar, gave to the dinner a funny taste. The toro (fatty tuna) was excellent, as well the taste of the uni was far away respect usual taste. Good sake list.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stefano d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rei Sushi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing