We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not float my boat”
Review of Wang Fu

Wang Fu
Ranked #516 of 8,749 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Central
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Central
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Did not float my boat”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Popped into this place for a quick bite on my final night before heading to the airport - it is a very small local spot with two lovely ladies running it who were happy and helpful with their limited english. One of them suggested their special on the night - (pork and fennel) dumplings as well as their mutton noodle dumplings. we added a side of green veg. Look - it wasn't horrible - it was just very average. Broth in the mutton noodle dumplings was flavourless, baby bok choy tasted like it has been steamed for hours and very watery - pork and fennel we ok. You can find a lot better even at this price level - it was very very cheap.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent price”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Wang Fu is a bustling little cafe in the heart of Central and the food is excellent. I can highly recommend the cold sesame noodles, cucumber salad and any of the dumplings. The dumplings are very filling and with 10 in a portion, you don't need to order much else.

Service was a little abrupt but very efficient and the staff speak reasonable English making it fairly easy to order.

I've visited here twice in the month that I've lived in Hong Kong and will definitely be going back again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcneesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Cheap, tasty and quick”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

While another reviewer said the skins are too soft for a real Beijinger, it's actually one of the things I like most about the dumplings at Wang Fu. Another thing that I like is that tomato and egg dumplings are available every day, unlike at nearby Dumpling Yuan, where they're only available certain days. The filling in the vegetable dumplings is so nice and fine, with more greenery than mushrooms. I personally am not a fan of some restaurants' habit of overloading on mushrooms to replace meat, so this delicate vegie filling makes me happy.
Service is friendly, and the dumplings come out quickly. Prices are fairly reasonable for this part of HK, at about HK$45 for a plate of 10 dumplings.
In a city with such great dining options, everyone's going to have their own favourite places, but when around Wellington Street with a hankering for dumplings, I wouldn't hesitate to check out Wang Fu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple Good Food”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My friend had read about this little treasure online, we were seated inside the door right beside the lovely old owner, he was forever counting money and using the calculator.
We ordered 2 plates of dumplings and 2 plates of vegetables, they came out very quickly and were all tasty, we all had a can of beer that was served with a paper cup.
This little gem is no fine dining Michelin experience, but is well worth a visit for traditional dumplings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Damgann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap, Tasty Dumplings”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Had a quick lunch here in this bustling restaurant. We were seated at the end of the lunch rush between many hungry diners. Ordered a couple of plates of dumplings and some vegetables. It was quick, tasty. Service was snappy. Recommend for a quick lunch with friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jasperstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wang Fu also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Wang Fu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing