We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bang for the buck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nara Thai Resturant

Nara Thai Resturant
Ranked #369 of 7,781 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bang for the buck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

the place was pretty buzzing with 1+1 offer on drinks (till 8 PM). There are several places on the street which gave out loads of vibrance. we chose to sit inside (it was slightly cold for the outdoor sitting). I specially enjoyed the vegetarian *street like* pad thai.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank priyamagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    58
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“I never knew Thais can make parathas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I had my food several times at Nara Thai and I have always had chicken curry served with rice and parathas.they make very delicious parathas and the chicken curry has a special fragrance of coconut milk tht is too good. The price or four persons who can easily share two sets with some parathas is good value for money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Handsome1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum! We went back twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stumbled upon Nara's while checking out the surroundings around our hotel - it was so worth it! Delicious food, great staff, very quick and very affordable. I had the chicken fried rice minus anchiovys (which they were happy to do for me) and its the BEST ive ever had. Hubby had the seafood fried rice and mussels gratin which he loved and the kids had fish & chips and mixed satays which disappeared in minutes! The service was fantastic and very quick. We even went back 2 night later for dinner again and loved it once more!
Its a place to chill out and watch soccer - 2 big tvs for it -but its also very quiet inside, and cozy! We loved it and would go again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kik-sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful service - never got my meal but did get the bill!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We went to Nara Thai based on favorable reviews. The place was about 1/3 full when we arrived and placed our order, which was straight forward: an appetizer of spring rolls, a green curry and a pad Thai. We got the appetizer in good time, then they brought my husband's curry but never the pad Thai never came. We asked the waiter who said "it was still cooking" ; at that point we asked for rice to go with the curry. Half an hour later, still no pad Thai or rice; by then the place was full and the waiters were avoiding any kind of contact. We asked again about the food and the waiter despondently answered that I would still have to wait 15 more minutes because they were very busy. I said I did not want the food anymore and to bring us the check; my husband went to talk to the manager who was not remotely apologetic, but said they were very busy and that he would "tell the kitchen to improve". The last straw was that he gave my husband the bill and we ended up paying for the rice he never got! Beware of this place!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astridra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is more of an eat and go place, but the happy hour goes from 3pm to 9pm,so you may be tempted to linger. The food choice was varied across several cuisines, but well cooked and tasty. Service attentive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank muckyboots_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nara Thai Resturant also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Nara Thai Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing