We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and few services”
Review of Walden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Walden Hotel
Ranked #459 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 4 October 2012

On the plus side its a good location in hongkong island. MRT is a couple of blocks away and the harbor, Times Square is within walking distance.

The hotel is clean and friendly staff. Rooms are nice with everything you can expect from a hotel except for wifi.

But it's incredibly overpriced in peak season and they only make up the bathroom and not the room or bed. I found it strange. Saving cost maybe.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raylp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Usually stay for 2- 3 days on business trip. With the rate they offer, the room as just as expected in a money center city like Hongkong. Cramped but clean with free internet connection. The major plus point is its location. Only a short walk to my office at Lockhart Road, and only 15 minutes walk to Times Square and some prominent department store such as Sogo.
Plenty of nice food stall along the way to Times Square as well. Just few block near Bowrington Road Market, there's a nice and cheap sushi stall. You can hardly miss this spot since there's long queue in front of the store almost every day.

The minus point unfortunately, many taxi cab doesn't familiar with this hotel. I simply call the hotel and let them speak to the driver.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel is in a great position for seeing the local area. Ideal for a quick stop over. Navigating the city is easy too.
The room we booked was a double with extra single bed. What we got as a tiny triple room very very small. In need of some TLC
The room was clean and when we asked for extra towels etc these were provided.
This hotel could be so much better with a simple lick of pain and nice bed linen.
We only stayed 2 nights a s a stopover from England to Australia it served its purpose having said that if I were to visit again I would go for something more expensive to ensure better quality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lancs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Good location, close to Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, good spot to stay for HK Sevens.
Value and room size are pretty much on par for Hong Kong, ie always too much for too little, but rooms are generally fine. Internet on a cable, free, but no wi fi. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We loved this hotel, location was fabulous, rooms are spotless, but small, as most Hong Kong Rooms, the hotel is a tall thin building with only 3 rooms per floor, we were high up, say 23rd floor, no noise at all, yet right in the middle of where you wanted to be as a tourist.
Definitely the best budget hotel in Hong Kong

Room Tip: Higher the better in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnATravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I've been travelling a lot of times in Hong Kong since I was young until recently, so I'm very familiar with Hong Kong and some of the hotels there. Walden Hotel is disappointing. The room was small (2 single bed + 1 extra bed since I was travelling with my sister and mom) and the price was expensive considering it was a low season. The bathroom was clean and they have bathtub although it looked a bit worn out. The carpet needs to refurbished since it was stained and look really old and worn out. The TV channels were also disappointing, there was no volume and there were only a couple of channels. The extra bed was ok but a bit lumpy and short (I was the one who slept on the extra bed & I'm 5'4). Pillows were also disappointing since it was too soft and lumpy. It was difficult to open the suitcase that we had since the room was too small but the view was ok. We also asked for a non-smoking room but the room that was given to us still smelt of cigarettes. The concierge was ok, they do speak some English but when I asked them about where to get some of the best wonton noodles on the area and how to get there, they can't answer since apparently they don't know about it and one of the staff even opened a map in front of me but still wasn't able to answer my question. Finally one of the staff said that all of the shops that sells wonton noodles in the area are excellent. Which is a bit confusing to me since I was referring to Mak's noodles. But the ok thing about Walden Hotel is that they allowed us to leave our baggage there (we had an early flight to Hong Kong and a late flight back to Manila) and helped us get a taxi/cab. The hotel was situtated in a good location just cross the street and there's the tram and a couple of minutes walk to Causeway Bay area. Overall, the whole hotel could really use a lot of renovation and updating of decor and facilities so that the guests feel that they really got what they paid for, especially their fire exit, which when I peered into it, it was really scary, the steps were high and it looked like the old and haunted Hong Kong stairway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Small hotel in Wanchai on Hennessy Road so easy access to Central etc at any time of day or night.

Rooms were small and basic with bedding of poor quality and the decorative state of the room was very tired. It was only painted so could have been patched up cheaply. No pictures or anything else to try and make it look better. The lift was extremely slow.

Free water and orange juice and a packet of Ritz biscuits were appreciated.

It was New Year's Eve and most hotels were full but they had obviously tripled their prices for the night. They were unhelpful about an earl check in but gave a 1 hour late one.

There was free wired internet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#219 of 726 in Hong Kong
208 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#470 of 726 in Hong Kong
430 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#181 of 726 in Hong Kong
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#196 of 726 in Hong Kong
161 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place With The Star
Mingle Place With The Star
#300 of 726 in Hong Kong
51 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#510 of 726 in Hong Kong
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walden Hotel

Address: No.353 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: £53 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Walden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Walden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walden Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing