We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caprice: Excellent dining experience, deserving of its Michelin 3 Stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caprice (Central)

Caprice (Central)
Ranked #15 of 7,917 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: Michelin starred restaurant Caprice offers contemporary French cuisine accompanied by an extensive selection of wines from the Bordeaux and Burgundy regions, and cellar full of artisanal French cheeses.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,408 reviews
1,737 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,762 helpful votes
“Caprice: Excellent dining experience, deserving of its Michelin 3 Stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Caprice restaurant at the Four Seasons is generally considered one of the finest restaurants in Hong Kong and we feel it is well deserving of its Michelin 3 stars. We recently dined at Caprice, booking our table three weeks in advance (the earliest table available then), and we were not disappointed with the very good French cuisine and excellent dining experience we had here. They also seated us by the window which was nice.

First, the service at Caprice is exceptional. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left the restaurant, we were well-looked after. Staff were professional at all times, helpful in making dish and wine selections and perfectly timed in serving the courses, filling our glasses, clearing the table... very impressive really.

Caprice also had a relaxed elegance that we liked. The seating area is classic European arrangement with spacious table layout, large crystal chandeliers and touches of Art Nouveau. Large glass windows then showcase Victoria Harbour and parts of the Kowloon Skyline. Caprice also features an open-kitchen placed in the center of the dining area, providing three side views directly into the food preparation stations and cooking areas and allowing guests to witness the chef and team in action.

For our meal, we found all the dishes to be well-executed, the recommended wine worked well with our appetizers and mains. They serve other food items between courses which we equally enjoyed, the amuse bouche (pork knuckle with sea urchin) was outstanding and there were also excellent chocolates served up before dessert. While everything was very good to excellent, we couldn't help but compare the dishes we ordered. For instance, for appetisers we preferred the sauteed duck foie gras over the frogs legs provencale, for mains, the milk fed veal chop to the suckling pig rack. Lastly, for dessert, the dulce leche and orange and wild pepper souffle, and the accompanying voignier and muscat, were equally enjoyed.

Overall, Caprice is clearly amongst our very best dining experiences in the city. The restaurant is beautiful, the service impeccable and the food and wine very good. While a pricey evening out, it's difficult to walk away from Caprice and not be impressed with the dining experience.

Tip: Make reservations several weeks in advance. You can also ask for a table with a view of the harbour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    119
    54
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Caprice, like Yung King Heen, also treated us to a fabulous dinner during out stay at The Four Seasons. We had the degustation prepared for us with special desserts from Marike Van Beurden, who I hope is going well in her overseas competitions.

We were really looked after by Sebastien Boudon, Assistant Manager and he really enjoyed speaking to us about the matching wines and gave us a great tour of the Cheese Room. We could have stayed there for hours eating the fab cheese, with some matching beers and wines.

One of our Top Ten world dining experiences.

Lozzie64

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well deserved Michelin star restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is my visit to a 3 starred Michelin restaurant and I must say that Caprice has made it the best first time experience.

It has blew me away in so many aspects.

Uponing arriving, we have been ushered to a nice table with a view of Kowloon. It would have been better if the table was closer to the window (which wasn't available at the time of booking). Nevertheless, the partial view was good enough.

We started the dinner with a glass of Krug Grand Cruvee which was recommended by the very pleasant sommerlier whom also introduced some wine pairing throughout the dinner. We both had foie gras for starters and it was done perfectly. When the foie gras first arrived, we were a little taken aback by the clutter of vegetables hidden at the bottom. But it turned out so well and unexpected.

For mains, we had the Milk Fed Veal Chop and Bresse Pigeon. The veal was served and sliced by a server right before us and placed on a serving plate. I LOVE the Bresse Pigeon!! The meat was so tender and succulent!! It was perfect to me.

Throughout dinner, a little dish is served by Caprice before each course. And those are great little surprises. We were stuffed and did not had a chance for dessert, even the petite fours were given a miss. But Caprice was very nice to pack it in a box for us to take away :)

In short, the food was amazing and the service was top class and immaculate! We will defnitely go back when we are in Hong Kong next.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellyellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best French restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Caprice is beyond doubt the best choice if you look for good food and good service. It is always pricey,but Its lunches are good value, Just tried the set lunch this weekend, and this is a reminder of what a good life will cost. HK $540 for a 3-course and $480 for a 2-course, including a glass of red or white wine. Many families come with kids old enough to enjoy the food; many couples as well. Mind you, book a month in advance in order to secure a lunch table at weekends. It's worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good not amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Caprice markets and prices itself as one of the worlds best restaurants with 3 Michelin stars, but it doesn't quite live up to the claim. Moscow's Les Menus is both cheaper and in a different league of quality and creativity.
I had the 7 course Taste of Caprice menu at ~200eur (with 1 glass of wine).

Highlights
- Light and tasty Tourteau Crab Tiramisu
- Delicious John Dory Fillet - Pickled Macaroni and Gremolata in Aged Parmesan Emulsion
- sliced duck breast medium rare, with lovely duck confit wrapped like a parcel in onion served with broad beans and jus
- Wild Strawberries - Yoghurt Meringue, Jasmine Cream, Frozen Yoghurt strawberry
- friendly and accommodating staff
- beautiful harbour view.

Lowlights
- Price with wine frighteningly expensive.
- kitchen is open plan which should be fantastic, but the layout means you can't actually see the interesting detail work. Could learn a lot from Iggy's in Singapore, both layout and creativity in the dishes.
- amuse bush not amazing, small cheese and ham sandwich with small piece of pickled olive on salty peso
- Foie gras was boring and unnecessary with so many other nice courses to enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottAbroad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caprice (Central) also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Caprice (Central)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing