We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth every cent”

Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 8,531 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: Overseen by Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong's Executive Chef Uwe Opocensky, the Mandarin Grill + Bar is proud to have retained its Michelin star for the sixth year running. Using the finest organic ingredients and seasonally inspired produce, we offer an exciting interpretation of grill classics with a dash of progressive gastronomy. Overlooking Statue Square and Chater Garden, decor is wonderfully vibrant with a moulded scallop-inspired ceiling, Gerard D'A Henderson paintings and a central banquette upon which a selection of stunning white lily floral arrangements are displayed.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“worth every cent”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Fantastic food and brilliantly presented with a great wine list. This place is worth every cent. The service is excellent, and perhaps a little OTT. The only warning is that it is very expensive... but worth it if you have a special person with you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    103
    32
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic business lunch venue”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Mandarin Grill and Bar has exceptionally good value lunch sets that are perfect for business lunches. The service is fantastic (as expected) and the menu changes regularly. Save room for the excellent cheeseboard!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“just great!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

it is an experience every time I eat there ! You always get a meal which tops it . And there is always a 'surprise' factor in a positiv way - they are creative !

Visited May 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great but expensive”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We went here yesterday. It was a great experience. Exspecially the sushi and the fish were very good. It's pretty expensive (578 khd per person) but the food is great. For 200 hkd you can add free refill wines.

Visited May 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So rude”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I wanted to for dinner at Mandarin Grill & Bar while visiting Hong Kong. When I arrived at reception, I was told in a very arrogant manner that there was a dress code (I was wearing New Balance sneakers and jeans) and that I could not have dinner here.
I did not receive any further explanation and no manger came to fix the situation. Hong Kong dress code is usually quite relaxed and I was surprised by the reaction.
I just flew in from abroad and did not take the time (I was staying at the four seasons) to change to be on time.
After being humiliated in front of my customers, I took them to Atelier de Joel Robuchon where they had no problem accepting the shoes I was wearing and my money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing