We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Secret Pub in Hong Kong”
Review of Club 71

Club 71
Ranked #2,062 of 8,224 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Neighbourhood: Central
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Central
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Secret Pub in Hong Kong”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

There is just something fun and charming about Club 71. The ladies working there are super sweet and have been handling this shop for a long time. The location is easy to access but somewhat hidden with a nice outdoor playground which is a huge different from those crowded and loud bars in LKF. Your standard beer and drinks here reminiscing old speakeasy and hipster bar.

One of my favorite places in Hong Kong and super cheap during happy hours.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seems a bit overpriced”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Now to be fair; this my first bar visit in HK. However I deem ~70 HKD for a pint in a small back street bar is kinda high.

The place does have charm and is very low key in atmosphere. Right now there is sitting a dude at the bar and jamming on his guitar :-)

Kinda difficult to find: enter on Man Hing Lane via Peel Street

Free wifi: ask in the bar

Helpful?
Thank Mads B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a delightful surprise: tranquil, friendly, reasonable”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

my husband and i stumbled on to this neighborhood gem the first day of our brief 36-hour stay hong kong — and (with some difficulty retracing our steps) were delighted to return the next day before we departed. we loved the low-key vibe, cross-section of customers, friendly bartenders and tranquil location, on an alley off hollywood road across from a small park. we also appreciated the reasonable prices, free wi-fi and the subtly lgbt-friendly vibe.

we will recommend this bar enthusiastically to anyone we know passing through hong kong!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 269dbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good dive but there is much better available if you care to look.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Can't fault anything about the place really it's a nice a dive as any. Didn't do it for me though. There's much better and cheaper if you care to look. Living on its lonely planet recommendations. Staff are excellent but where aren't they in Asia... needs to pick up the game if it is going to survive. Good experience but there is much better value out there and much better cultural experiences to be had as a cultural innuendo if you have the time to find them. Overall over priced for the experience but well worth a swift half if you have the patience to find it. Very much over price in my opinion. If you are a do it all money is no option kinda dude you'll love it. Nothing bad to say except there is much better around if you can be bothered to look.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam_James_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's not like Hong Kong”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

In Club 71 you would not believe you were in Hong Kong - it's great. A tiny bar, reasonably priced drinks, pleasant staff, a totally non-pretentious place. Difficult to find as it's not really on Hollywood Road, but in the basement of a building that backs on to it. Well worth a visit. Simple snacks/food can be ordered from the staff and a takeaway from a neighbouring restaurants.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HKGELLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Club 71 also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Club 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing