We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very small rooms but location is ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mingle Place On The Wing
Ranked #388 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here for one night and did find the room far too small. Once the suitcase was on the floor, there was literally no room to move at all. Shower room/toilet was reasonable. Strong selling point is the location of the hotel, right to Sheung Wan MTR station & short walk to LKF & Soho where the bars/restaurants are.

Another negative was request for a double bed but given 2 single beds, but guess that could happen to any hotel. If criteria for room size it's not a big issue then hotel can be recommended because of low price for the area and location, but unfortunately for us the room was very small, too small for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

Spent a 5 nights stay in this small but good hotel. We stayed in a standard room, the air con started to leak on the 3rd night. We complained to the hotel receptionist and we were changed to another room without delay. Besides from the occasional loud bangs of doors from others on the same floor, we had no problem sleeping and we loved the hard mattress. I do think the edges of toilet sink and shower cubicle can be cleaned more thoroughly. Love the location of this hotel, a lot of cheap and good eateries near the hotel, MRT is just one block away, tram stop is also another stop away. This was my third time staying at this hotel, would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Hotel is located at Sheung Wan, exit A2 is the closest exit to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here for one night on Mar' 11, booked a standard room for 2 ppl, although the room is small, but bed is comfy and big enough to even sleep 3 ppl. Valued for money and way too near to Shueng Wan MTR. Rooms should have more better sound proofing as i can even hear the water from the shower next door in the middle of the night. Best for those who just need someplace to sleep after a whole day of shopping and eating.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evon_lst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The Mingle on the Wing has the right price and the right location. It is less than a minute's walk to the Sheung Wan MTR station and you won't find a better price for what you get. The rooms are certainly small, but they have everything you need, are clean and in good repair. One little agrevation is that it has always been tough to regulate the water temperature in the shower for some reason - get it to the right temperature and in less than a minute it changes - arg! The Internet connection is good. For the value, I'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UsuallyFarFromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

It's been awhile since I visited Hong Kong. I remember my first review of Mingle on the Wing back in 2009 and it had brought significant readership and followers from my blog which many took an interest and stayed at the hotel.

Having said that, my reason for staying in Mingle is definitely due to the location, which is in Sheung Wan. The sure way of saving taxi fare is to hop on the Airport Express Train that cost around HK$70 (Est US$9) to transit at Central MTR, pay another HK$24 to Sheung Wan MTR (Last stop on the Island Line in Blue). The nearest walk to the hotel is by exiting "A2" and try to look out for 7-11. Its just a quick 3 mins diagonally across.

I never do like to comment on unpleasantness of the staff bearing in mind that they still need to keep their jobs but that particular trio on shift, showed no interest or hospitality on their faces.

I was allocated to a room, which was directly in front of the lift and what made it even uncomfortable was that the bed was directly facing the main door and lift door. In chinese feng shui, one should never have their feet facing directly the main door, as it signifies the 'coffin position'. I was ill throughout my stay and was little disturbed by the chattering of the chambermaids due to the close proximity to the next room and thin walls. As mentioned by another reader, the bed takes up pretty 95% of the sleeping area and that, my friend, is absolutely true.

It is unusual for me to switch loyalties and find a new place or environment to stay in but I think I've outgrown my time with Mingle and unless you upgrade to an Executive or Deluxe Room, which I was unable to upgrade as it was full.

On the positive side of things, it is definitely a place in the heart of a nostalgic sleepy district, great in-house movies to watch, a Skype phone to connect to your account and decent music systems.

My take is, something gotta be revamped to take the hotel to greater heights.

Room Tip: Request not to have a room, facing the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed here 2 nights with a friend on the 2nd floor, the room was small, the air-conditioner was constantly leaking, the TV didn't work, 1 day the electricity tripped and the whole system couldn't work for awhile and the bathroom door kept getting stuck and couldn't be closed. I felt it was over-priced, despite the great location. Our friends had better experiences though. Perhaps the room closest to the staircase on the 2nd floor should just be avoided!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hayhefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights here over New Year's Eve (2011-12) and can thoroughly recommend it.

Pros: the main pro is the location. You can see the Hotel's entrance from the Sheung Wan metro (MTR) exit - it's a 60 second walk. If you're not familiar with Hong Kong, being so close to an MTR station is great. You can be anywhere in Hong Kong within a quick, cheap and easy ride on the metro. That being said, the location is also good enough that you can walk to plenty of the key places, including Soho (10 mins), the Central Ferry Terminal (10 mins) etc. There's a Starbucks around the corner, plus a 7-11, restaurants, ATMs etc all on the same block. In short, it's right in the heart of Hong Kong island.
- other pros include fast (and free) wifi in each room, plus a big TV, DVD player and even a decent sound system, funnily enough. Also, the staff all speak decent English and will help with directions, restaurant bookings, recommendations etc. The cleaning staff did a great job every day, and we left our laptops, cell phones, passports etc on the bed when we went out, without any problems.

Cons: the standard rooms are clean and modern, but tiny. Seriously tiny. Like novelty size. The bed takes up about 95% of the floor space. For us this wasn't a problem, as we were out exploring most days and nights, so it was fine to return to the room and sleep/recover and watch TV in bed. But if you have other plans, this might be a factor for you. The bathroom was also tiny, but clean and modern.
- The price for New Years Eve (A$400+ p/night) seemed crazy given the size of the room, but this was the cheapest room just about anywhere on Hong Kong island for that time, so we can't complain.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-dog9842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#170 of 723 in Hong Kong
234 reviews
Sheung Wan
Homy Hotel Central
Homy Hotel Central
#193 of 723 in Hong Kong
50 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Sohotel
Sohotel
#161 of 723 in Hong Kong
251 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#95 of 723 in Hong Kong
462 reviews
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingle Place On The Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingle Place On The Wing

Address: No.105 Wing Lok Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: £38 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingle Place On The Wing 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Central, minutes' walk from the terminus of all subway lines, the Airport Express terminal, terminus of all ferry lines and jet-foil services, all the best restaurants and bars, all the best shopping malls, the most exotic Chinese cultural sites, and all the financial and business buildings that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mingle Place On The Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingle Place On The Wing Hotel Hong Kong
Mingle Place On The Wing Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing