We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value, great friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mingle Place On The Wing
Ranked #383 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location, good value, great friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I came from Macau via ferry and this hotel is walking distance from the Hong Kong - Macau Ferry Terminal (you need a map though). As expected, the room was really small (this was my nth time in HKG) like when you enter the room, the small bathroom is to your left and the big, comfortable bed, with clean sheets is just in front of you!
The in house television programming is very good. You get to choose what category you are after and you will be sick watching the movies - they are free.But you do not go to HKG to watch in hose movies - you go outside and be a tourist.
Day time, the hotel location is really busy. It is more residential and commercial and you see a lot of local business doing their thing. Historically, the area is the more older part of HKG and not really a tourist area. I booked this hotel because I want a hotel that is really local, I want to be local and feel local and do things local.
Chinese restaurants (not restaurants for tourists) on the main road which was great for me. The local market is just around the corner. The MTR is 100 meters away and trams are all over.
Hotel staff really friendly and helpful and for me that is great. When I needed help, they have the answer.
I paid $65 per night via Agoda which is really cheap. I will book this hotel when I have the chance in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanmanuelrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    105
    67
    28
    20
See reviews for
20
53
98
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We enjoyed our time at Mingle Place on the Wing. The room was a touch small but that was ok, as we did have an extra bed in there for the 3 of us. We had a window out to the street on the 4th floor which was fun (although there is no 'view', but we could open the window and look down at all the people). The main advantage that we liked is being close to the center of HK Island. We walked from the HK Airport Express Station, we were across the road from a subway train station which took us into Kowloon (Jordan, Mong Kok and Tsim Sha Tsui), and close to those cute double-decker trams that run the breadth of HK Island. We really liked walking out the hotel into the middle of busy HK streets. If you can learn to cope with how cramped everyone is in HK then you will enjoy this place. The front desk team were all young, very nice and friendly and english-speaking.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pesach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

a really very small room, but nice and very clean and for Hong Kong prices standards, it was still at a reasonable price. Very good location near MTR Sheung Wan and Macao ferry terminal. A good coffee shop just next door, or the McDonalds.

Room Tip: avoid the windowless rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed here for one night and second other reviews. The place is very conveniently located, close to Sheung Wan station. The price is reasonable. My room was at the corner and probably the narrowest in my entire life with a weird aspect ratio, maybe by 1.5 m x 10+ m. Yet, the room was clean and well maintained. Everything in the bathroom was fit with good hygienic supplies. TV had only 15 channels (one out of order), which was fine with me. Wifi was free and fast. They demanded a deposit of HK$500 and quickly returned at the checkout.

The only thing was I ran across a cockroach in the morning, which I watered down with shower. If I had seen it in the previous night, I would not have felt comfortable. When I checked the ceiling, the seal was not perfect with an obvious gap. Though the gap, I believe, the bug might have come. This may be understandable since the building should be quite old. It is Hong Kong, so I guess it's okay.

Next time I visit, if I am traveling alone, I will definitely stay here again for the value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I was looking for a place to stay in hk last month which is near the mtr;only 100m from the exit a2. other hotels are located at certain distance from the metro and with luggage to carry in the narrow streets
in Hk, it is a real challenge!..the rooms are small but just fine for a short stay in the city and the free Wi-Fi is very fast.
I highly recommend the hotel and will be staying there again next time, and the hotel is one station away to central which makes a quick and easy access to the airport shuttle;very appreciable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A couple of us from work went in tonight for our dinner break. Our server, Keith, was great, especially highlighting the specials. The food was outstanding, (Mom, don't look at this) better than homemade. We had a special treat when Ms. Dent came and sat with us and brought a sample of a drink she made. Go out of your way and try this place. It's worth the trip

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Quite one of the smallest/ narrowest hotel rooms I have stayed in, even for a crowded place like HK. There was hardly space between the door and the bed and though everything fitted neatly in the long narrow room with the toilet at one end. The only comfortable place to sit in the room was on the bed which was fine. The location was convenient with lots of shops around, but that is Hong Kong!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#152 of 718 in Hong Kong
232 reviews
Sheung Wan
Homy Hotel Central
Homy Hotel Central
#206 of 718 in Hong Kong
41 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place By The Park
Mingle Place By The Park
#466 of 718 in Hong Kong
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#99 of 718 in Hong Kong
450 reviews
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingle Place On The Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingle Place On The Wing

Property: Mingle Place On The Wing
Address: No.105 Wing Lok Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingle Place On The Wing 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Central, minutes' walk from the terminus of all subway lines, the Airport Express terminal, terminus of all ferry lines and jet-foil services, all the best restaurants and bars, all the best shopping malls, the most exotic Chinese cultural sites, and all the financial and business buildings that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mingle Place On The Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingle Place On The Wing Hotel Hong Kong
Mingle Place On The Wing Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing