We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mingle Place On The Wing
Ranked #379 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
George Town, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“decent stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

not as small as what i've tot, clean and just nice for a short stay...
easy to access, surrounding with shops and restaurants, convenient for shopping and food hunting...
small lobby, basically just a counter and small walkway and small lift, but it doesn't border me at all... i did not call for room service, wrong rating below...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    105
    67
    28
    20
See reviews for
20
53
98
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you have not set the record of sleeping in the most space efficient hotel in Hong Kong, this is one for you to try. Clean, friendly staff, all rooms come with design bathrooms, cinema surround systems, minibar , without leaving your bed, telephone etc. If your suitcase is too big you also can leave it at reception. breakfast is in the coffeeshop next door, and for having a drink there are great classic pubs, down the street. Though the rooms are designed for 1 person, if you like your partner, no problem to stay with 2 people in the room, provided it is only for freshening up or closing our eyes,

Room Tip: try a high floor, then you have less noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I was a bit worried because of some negative reviews i saw but things turned out perfectly fine.

I stay in "Lite" room which is a very small, narrow room and no window. I guess it may be just approx 10SQM. I would suggest if you want to stay here, you would better bring only medium size luggage, hand luggage or rucksack. Normal size luggage would be too big and would leave you no space to walk. I stayed alone for 6 nights. Room was clean, bedsheet and linens were clean and made up daily. WiFi Internet is realiable. Good size shower room and in a good working conditions. There are Hair Dryer, DVD Player, bathroom amenities, fridge and mini bar items provided. The best thing in the room features is the selection of DVD on demand. Totally free of charge. I was in Hong Kong for work and out during the day time. It was good to have some entertainments after long day of work.

Staffs were helpful. Some comments said its staffs doesn't smile much which it's true. Nevertheless, i got all my needs solved very quickly when i asked for something. I think most of service staffs in Hong Kong are hardly smile anyway.

Location of this hotel is also one of the best. From exit A2, you can see the hotel building stright away on your right hand side. 7-11 is at the corner. Starbucks is in the next block. SASA outlet is only 300 meters away. Macau ferry pier is located in the area too, only less than 10 minutes walk. Laddder street and Western Market are nearby in the walking distance.

I used to stay on Nathan road where rooms are bigger but room rate is also double. In Hong Kong, space is like a gold. If you expect a decent room size in a good location, you can prepare to pay extra.

Overall i like this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatangel_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Mingle on the Wing is handy for its location alone. It's very near the metro on Win Lok Street, and the Shun Tak Centre (ferry terminal) so its a handy place to stay if you are visiting for 24/48 hours and want to store your luggage nearby. We travel to Hong Kong from Shenzhen every few weeks, so for us its convenient, but I'm starting to think it might be better to look for something a little nicer.

Check in was not very smooth this time. The credit card machine wasn't working and the receptionist insisted on a $500 deposit. We had $400 in cash which we offered and she refused to accept, insisting on the $500. They still had our credit card number on file, so it was not like we could ever leave without paying. She was very unhelpful, and inflexible and in the end my husband had to leave to find an ATM to get the cash for the deposit. I complained to her about her attitude and the service, and it was just water off a duck's back. She wasn't apologetic and just didn't seem to care.

We had booked an upgraded room, as the basic rooms here are just too small. The room is ok, but it was smelly - and it just wasn't very pleasant - I notice this every time I come to this hotel and I don't know whether it's cleaning agents but I'm guessing it's just lack of fresh air throughout the whole building. After awhile you get used to it and don't notice it anymore.

Rooms are all completely overlooked, with small windows high up. In fact the only way to be in the room is to have the curtains closed because there is no privacy with buildings across the street being so close. This does make the rooms every more claustrophobic and dark.

Rooms are clean, linens are nice, although the duvet cover had a hole in it - threadbare. How housekeeping could fail to notice that is beyond me. It should have gone straight to the bin or at least been repaired. I get the sense that they don't care too much.

Bathrooms are nice. In the bigger rooms there is a big shower. There are no wardrobes or drawers. When you stay here you are definitely living out of a suitcase - but for a night it's ok. There is some hanging space, a space to sit down along a narrow side board and a low powered hair dryer. Bare in mind that the standard rooms here are so small there is no room for luggage or 2 people to walk around.

All rooms have really good entertainment - they have an integrated entertainment and room lighting system and you can watch a good selection of movies and dramas. Saying that, I think I'd rather spend my money on a nicer, bigger hotel which is less claustrophobic.

This place is fine for 1 night - 2 maximum, but anything longer - find somewhere else, especially if you are a bit used to staying in nice hotels.

This hotel is board only. There is a small cafe right next door called Soft Aroma. It could do with some money being spent to spruce it up a bit, but it's fine for coffee and you can choose a selection of magazines to read. We had an all day breakfast, and it wasn't great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestreviewer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Rubbish. Location 10 meters from metro, but overpriced, dark, small, ugly, no views, street in front is a dried- fish selling area. If you're used to live in a shack in a Bolivian slum, you may not even feel comfortable. I spent 10$ more and moved to Ramada in Western district. What a difference!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Hod Hasharon, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Small but good room. Very good location just by the metro sation. Walking distance to "soho" and central night life. No drawers or closet. Good value for the money, specially for a short business trip.

Room Tip: Always remeber your purpose for the trip. Do not pay extra for swiming pool, fitness center spa or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I came from Macau via ferry and this hotel is walking distance from the Hong Kong - Macau Ferry Terminal (you need a map though). As expected, the room was really small (this was my nth time in HKG) like when you enter the room, the small bathroom is to your left and the big, comfortable bed, with clean sheets is just in front of you!
The in house television programming is very good. You get to choose what category you are after and you will be sick watching the movies - they are free.But you do not go to HKG to watch in hose movies - you go outside and be a tourist.
Day time, the hotel location is really busy. It is more residential and commercial and you see a lot of local business doing their thing. Historically, the area is the more older part of HKG and not really a tourist area. I booked this hotel because I want a hotel that is really local, I want to be local and feel local and do things local.
Chinese restaurants (not restaurants for tourists) on the main road which was great for me. The local market is just around the corner. The MTR is 100 meters away and trams are all over.
Hotel staff really friendly and helpful and for me that is great. When I needed help, they have the answer.
I paid $65 per night via Agoda which is really cheap. I will book this hotel when I have the chance in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanmanuelrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#156 of 718 in Hong Kong
232 reviews
Sheung Wan
Homy Hotel Central
Homy Hotel Central
#206 of 718 in Hong Kong
41 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#100 of 718 in Hong Kong
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place By The Park
Mingle Place By The Park
#464 of 718 in Hong Kong
128 reviews
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingle Place On The Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingle Place On The Wing

Property: Mingle Place On The Wing
Address: No.105 Wing Lok Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingle Place On The Wing 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Central, minutes' walk from the terminus of all subway lines, the Airport Express terminal, terminus of all ferry lines and jet-foil services, all the best restaurants and bars, all the best shopping malls, the most exotic Chinese cultural sites, and all the financial and business buildings that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mingle Place On The Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingle Place On The Wing Hotel Hong Kong
Mingle Place On The Wing Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing