We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - 3 stars hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mingle Place On The Wing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mingle Place On The Wing
Ranked #360 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location - 3 stars hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

It is a very small hotel and it is not easy to locate. It took a while for my local cab driver to find it. The lobby is very small (not enough room to accommodate a family) and the hotel is also using the space in the lobby to store the luggage of those customers who have checked out.

I stayed in a single room and it is small, really good enough for just one person to stay there. The shower was not working too well (hard to control the temperature) and it has no wondow.

The above are the negatives of the hotel. What is great about this hotel is that it is only about 50 meters from the MTR exit and it is cheap (less than USD 100 for a single room). The room is reasonably clean and it has almost everything that are needed for a comfortable stay (WIFI etc).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Springleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    106
    67
    28
    21
See reviews for
21
54
98
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent three nights in HK in a twin room at Mingle on the Wing. The hotel is perfectly located, approximately 45 seconds walk from the front door puts you at the entrance to the Sheung Wan MTR station. There is a 7-eleven within 100m and numerous restaurants/bars in the vicinity.

As many other reviews mention the rooms are quite small, however not inconveniently so. The room was modern and tidy apart from a few signs of aging present such as scratched cupboards, a broken shower handle and a power socket that didn't seem to work, but given the great price we paid for the room these imperfections were easy to overlook.

The staff, although not overly friendly or chatty, are helpful and polite. We arrived in Hong Kong at 7am and we tried our luck checking in at approx 9am - normal check in time is 2pm. The lady behind the desk told us that our room wasn't yet prepared but that they could store our bags until we could check in. She also said they'd try to have the room ready by 1pm for us which they did.

I wouldn't hesitate to return, especially with the great room rates that seem to be available for this place on most of the big booking websites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I needed budget hotel and after looking many times . I found this hotel or let me say it is a guest house , i didnt have time lot of time to stay in room , so this hotel fit my needs .. if you r planning a budget stay , it is so highly recommanded , not just because of low price comparing to other hotels . You could put in consider you will not.pay more 30 dollars to get the mtr express service for unlimited access to mtr and 2 trips from.and to airport . I didnt pay one more single dollar in transportation. The hotel is 100 meter away from the metro station sheung wan and even if you love to party it is only 6 mins walking from the clubs and bars so you will safe taxi money in all situations.. A perfect budget package for me

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hesham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed for only one night and am glad that I did not stay longer. The double room was really small (which is normal by Hong Kong standards) but what is disappointing is that there was obviously no thought given to the room design or layout. Instead of being compact/sleek like other equally small HK hotel rooms, it simply feels cramped and even a little clastrophobic. The windows were TINY, and instead of having curtains, they had these sliding panels running on one rail which meant two thirds of the windows were effectively blocked at anytime! Room was clean, but run down, and you can see the peeling wallpaper. Aircon directly faces the queen bed, meaning one person will sleep with the cold dry air blowing directly at him during the night, and it gets abit noisy from time to time too.
Plus point is that it is super-near the Sheung wan MTR and not difficult to find at all, but there isn't really that much to see around the area. Would not recommend unless you are looking to explore the vicinity and need cheap accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meltwinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Hanoi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

In the single room this isn't much more than a pod sleeping system.

A corridor with a mattress at the end of it. But nothing quite works in terms of the design. The kettle is stowed on a shelf where there's nowhere to plug it in. There's a plug at mattress height next the to the bed but it's pointless because any appliance used there would literally be sitting on top of you pillow.

The DVD taking up shelf space. Who needs DVDs when you've wifi?

The single bed is tiny. The bathroom has a pointless window into the bedroom where the mirror should be. Why? The mirror is instead at right angles to the sink. At the foot of the bed there is a needless stool meaning you're liable to fall over it getting out of bed. There's nowhere you can put your suitcase without tripping over it.

Above the bed is a wooden beam crossing above your pillow at an angle of 45 degrees. I cracked my head on it twice and still have a lump.

Beyond that staff were efficient but I came and went without so much as a good morning or a smile.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VNexpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

On the way back to the UK from Australia, I decided to stay in Hong Kong for a few nights.

First night:

I arrived on the Thursday night, the location of the hotel is great. Near central/Soho, near the MTR and ferry port to Macau. The entrance of the hotel is tucked away making it not overtly obvious on arrival. Receptionist wasn't rude, but not exactly friendly. Very blunt. "Yes? Passport. Money." Don't think it was her lack of English either as she understood anything I ask/said and would reply in sentences when she had to.

For the first night I booked a double room. Room was small as I had expected from other reviews, but it was clean and stylish as was the bathroom (Tip - The hot water takes a while to run through). The bed was comfortable, air con worked fine, Lots of little mod cons in the room except an iron!

Based on the first night I thought this great value for money and a real find.

Next night I spent a night in Macau so I checked out. The man who checked me out was a lot friendlier.

Second night:

After arriving back from Macau I checked back into the hotel to the same female receptionist and the same blunt reception. This time I booked a single room. I had high expectations after the first night. The room, although decorated the same, wasn't as nice. The room was even smaller (as you would expect) but it looked shabby in comparison to the first night, lots of marks on the walls, stains on the seat, cigarette burn on the bedside tables, the bathroom was a wet room as opposed to having a proper shower, the actual toilet had lost paint off the water tank. I guess these were all cosmetic rather than cleanliness. Some of the non primary lighting controls didn't work.

If all the rooms were like the first room this would be a nice little 3 star hotel and probably would have gotten 4 stars for my review, but the second night unfortunately let it down. My advice to the management would be you're almost there - Get irons in the rooms and just keep those standards high!

Room Tip: - Get a double room even if travelling solo, from my experience neither room is very big so the doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander_1984_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlight, Australia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I chose Mingle on the Wing for two reasons - price and location. It delivered on both counts. Very close to Sheung Wan MTR and the Macau ferry. Cheapest I could find without being a dormitory in a youth hostel. The rooms are tight. Smallest room since the Pickwick Hotel, NYC in 2004.

No surprise, I knew what I was signing up for. Television worked, shower was fine and the single bed was comfortable.

How do you use the Trip Advisor rating system? This place did the job. Can't give it 5 - because it isn't 5 star. But it worked for me.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank bladdamasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#158 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#99 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Sheung Wan
Sohotel
Sohotel
#165 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#31 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingle Place On The Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingle Place On The Wing

Property: Mingle Place On The Wing
Address: No.105 Wing Lok Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingle Place On The Wing 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Central, minutes' walk from the terminus of all subway lines, the Airport Express terminal, terminus of all ferry lines and jet-foil services, all the best restaurants and bars, all the best shopping malls, the most exotic Chinese cultural sites, and all the financial and business buildings that matter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mingle Place On The Wing Hotel Hong Kong
Mingle Place On The Wing Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing