We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a happy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mingle Place On The Wing
Ranked #370 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a happy stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I have only just checked out of this hotel... and not very happy about the followings:
- The Bed smells of... well, doesn't smell clean at all and i guess they have not change the sheet as i can see some dirty marks on the sheet along the crease. (skin got very itchy later at night)
- Suppose to be a double... the sheet is surely double but beds are two singles put together...very uncomfortable to sleep in.
- staffs are extremely NOT friendly, nor helpful, lobby small and no air-con, was sweating at check in.
- The Door Knob is broken and when i asked them they have no reply about the issue.
- The TV/media system broke down (took 20 mins to fix)
- The Patio Light is broken (staff replied "yes, it was broken last week") WT...??? didn't fix it...
- Very thin walls... can hear people coming and going.
- asked the male staff about late check out and he said the latest check out is 12:30 and so I told him I was hoping to check out at ONE... half an hour only and he said i will need to pay a charge??? what??? half an hour man... for god sake!!!

Good things about this is
- location (close to the last stop of the HK Island line) Sheung Wan. next stop to central
- the superior room is VERY small but i got the one with patio and is something diff.
- I paid at a rate HKG$550 for superior double.(last min) would not pay a penny more for this hotel~~!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    105
    67
    28
    20
See reviews for
20
53
98
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CPH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I booked a superior room with a balcony at a very resonable rate.
Entering though a big glass front door a friendly and efficient checking in staff member dealt with me.
The room was ultra compact, bright and well laid out. Liked the T.V. system. Not much of a view from the balcony, but it did give the feeling of extra space.
The bathroom was nicly appointed with a lovely shower. Good touches with shaving kit, toothbrush kit, comb and lots of different soaps.
The two computer terminals located in the entrance were very useful.
The only drawback was the noise from the water system when other people took showers in the room above - very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hol113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

The room is definately too small for a couple to stay. However the room is high tech and good sound system. Location is good, next to MTR and near to Dry Seafood goods. But 400HK a night is not value for money. Greatly disturbed by the water pressure noise from the ceiling. No safe box. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpngpatrick88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Stayed at the Mingle for a total of 10 days in January. The location is great, on a reasonably quiet street in Sheung Wan yet only steps away from the subway - also loads of different restaurants in the area and only 10 minutes walk from Soho. Staff was not overly friendly but helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurotrash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

I only stayed at this Hotel because it was Christmas and it was in my budget. Like some other cities, Hong Kong hotels put up their tariffs by 150% over this period, as this hotel, Mingle on the Wing did so. This $50 hotel cost $130 on average over the 4 horrible nights I spent there.

I have included some photos (yes, I got a nice new camera here in Hong Kong) so I can back all my comments up. The best way is to list the pro and cons of this place in bullet form.

PROS
• This Hotel is near the MRT (subway station) called Sheung Wan which is the last stop on the Island Line
• The location is good, very local Cantonese and walking distance to some good restaurants and the suburb called Central
• Free in-house movies (care to be taken if you have kids, there is no lock and they do have Adult movies)
• Wifi was fast and reliable
• Bed and pillows were comfortable

CONS
• This is a noisy Hotel, I mean early morning, narrow street truck traffic delivering to the warehouses and stores nearby
• The rooms, even the delux room is small – think the length of a double bed with one foot to walk around it, that is how narrow the room is
• It takes about 5 mintues for the hot water to come through the shower head (everytime)
• Staff were responsive, but not very friendly
• There was a Power board INSIDE the shower – NOT kidding, see photo called Power in the Shower. This was not covered up very well and there were electrical wires geting wet in the shower – TRUE
• All the cool (big selling point for them) tech stuff broke down on a daily basis, TV remote, air con, it all at some stage failed and I had to get it fixed
• Towels had holes in them – TRUE, see photo. I had them replace the towels only to get more holy towels the following day. Don’t get much for your $130 bucks in this Hotel
• The Hosekeeping lived on my floor, 3rd floor (my floor), they were realy noisy starting most mornings at 5.30am when they took delieries of something, I actually thought they were running another business. Plus, I noticed they actually live in the store room, TRUE!
• There is NO SAFE in this surposidly hi tech hotel (go figure!)

I think the management need to ‘Mingle’ with their customers a bit more and find out and fix the many issues they have in their hotel, Mingle on the Wing. Seriously there are many other, much better hotels in this area and I will never stay with this ‘Mingle’ brand again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kristian_page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I stayed here one night before catching a flight back home- they have what is called a "lite"room for single travellers. it is small but well set up with tons of gadgets and movies and so much high tech stuff I had to have the front desk come up and help me! I got it for an amazing price online but I think their regular prices are too high. I paid 350 Hong Kong dollars and it is on the island walking distance to Wanchai and Soho. Nice staff too.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemonmerangue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We decided to book this hotel mainly because of the central location. The hotel was really difficult to find. We exit from the Sheung Wan station. The entrance of the hotel was very small and hard to spot. We literally walked past it. Luckily, with the help of the shopkeeper there, we managed to find it in the end. The rooms were quite small but they are clean and well made. We were a little surprised when we didn't find a safe in the room. On the second day, there was a blackout at our floor. All the lights were out and this made the packing difficult as we were checking out that day. The receptionist was trying to help as much as possible but I guess there's nothing much he can do. Overall, it still quite a nice experience staying there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euniceps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#160 of 718 in Hong Kong
229 reviews
Sheung Wan
Homy Hotel Central
Homy Hotel Central
#203 of 718 in Hong Kong
34 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#95 of 718 in Hong Kong
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
Sohotel
Sohotel
#154 of 718 in Hong Kong
240 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#34 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingle Place On The Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingle Place On The Wing

Property: Mingle Place On The Wing
Address: No.105 Wing Lok Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingle Place On The Wing 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Central, minutes' walk from the terminus of all subway lines, the Airport Express terminal, terminus of all ferry lines and jet-foil services, all the best restaurants and bars, all the best shopping malls, the most exotic Chinese cultural sites, and all the financial and business buildings that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mingle Place On The Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingle Place On The Wing Hotel Hong Kong
Mingle Place On The Wing Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing