We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place needs some sprucing up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mingle Place On The Wing
Ranked #370 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This place needs some sprucing up”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Had stayed in Mingle on the Wing 2 years ago and was pretty impressed by it superb location and value for money. Was rather disappointed when I returned this month, the room condition has deteriorated - varnish on furnitures has faded, dusty in nooks and corners, and what's more shocking, there were giant silverfishes crawling beneath the wash basin! It's no longer value for money. Unless there is a major renovation, I won't be staying at Mingle Place again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusLiSGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    105
    67
    28
    20
See reviews for
20
53
98
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chandigarh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The single room is small but a good value for money for its cleanliness, location and the comforts provided in it

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanChd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

The hotel is very small, there was some confusion during check-in, but everything went on well after that. The room was also very small but the technology was very impressive, the wake up alarm was also great and the bathroom was very clean. The hotel is very near the metro station so it was quite convenient for us! We traveled with our 3 year old daughter and she was very happy to find some of her favorite cartoons on their list!
Advise: you need to talk very slow and make sure they really understand what you are saying, don't assume that they know what you mean. You need to get the code for the free internet from reception desk. Also get the outlet converter while you're there too.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DocAppleV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2010

After I stayed a night in a terrible hotel, I finally changed to come to the Mingle. I was a bit scared after read what was written on tripadvisor!

Finally, it's a good place. I was in the "Lite Room" and for the price you get what you need. Fast and free internet, a shower/toilet and a bed for 1.5 person. A flat TV is added but don't try to work there as the table is definitly not a desk, or you will need your pillow on your seat... The bed was comfortable. The telephone was down as well as the light of the bed. The TV channels are not interesting.

The service isn't amazing but they are not bad. Smilling when you smile, a special thanks to the womens who clean the room that were very funny and speak a little english.

Close to the subway (30 seconds by walk from Sheung Wan station), a few minutes walk to the mid levels and Central. There is a coffee shop downstir that is not very interesting. We can't use the internet of the hotel :/

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junjie-blog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I found this place for HK400 which seemed like quite a good deal. When I saw the size of my room, however, I understood why - it was the tiniest room that I have ever seen in my life! This didn't bother me so much as I was travelling solo, though I found the whole high tech gadget thing extremely annoying. You can't even reach out and flick a switch to turn the light off - it's all done by a stupid remote control that's really hard to figure out! Then the lights went in my room and didn't come back on, so I was moved to a single (from a superior single) which, staggeringly, was even smaller than my first room! Was pretty annoyed at being downgraded as the least they could have done was upgraded me! Luckily I was only there for one night and was leaving at 6 the next morning so I didn't have to spend long there. It's not an entirely unpleasant place to stay but make sure you don't get downgraded - it's not fun!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Only plus here was free broadband, but rooms tiny and poorly laid out. Seating at desk was so low I had to reach up and over to even get to my keyboard! Described as the ideal business hotel, one would have to say it fell well short of that benchmark. Not recxommended

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloom_New_Zealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I had a good first impression
- good location (just a minute's walk to Sheung Wan MTR station)
- Warm friendly welcome by day staff. Even the cleaners were bright and cheery! Staff speaks English, Mandarin and Cantonese.
- I had a single room which was modern, nice and clean. (I had superb water pressure from my two shower heads - rain shower and handheld)
- Free WiFi

However....
- The advertised technological gadgetry didn't work in my room. I brought it to their attention - they said they would fix it but they didn't. I was only in the room late at night so it didn't bother me much. My keycard failed on the first night - took me awhile to finally get a working traditional key, but was up and running for the rest of the stay.

- My Hong Kong friends say the hotel has a 'reputation' since it offers hourly and cheaper 'one night only' rates. I was alright with it - funny encounter in the elevator with an 'interesting' person :) Just so you know.

- Staff on late night duty (second night) was slightly unpleasant. All I wanted was my key but she was more interested in her phone conversation. I understand very little cantonese but I know it wasn't about work. She barked at me to sit down and wait. Was quite taken a back.

But it was cheap.. got a clean, pleasant albeit small room. Did I mention the super water pressure? Loves it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disjecta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schungx, Owner at Mingle Place On The Wing, responded to this review, 10 April 2010
We are very sorry for the misunderstanding. The Mingle Place Group does run another boutique hotel in nearby Central (Mingle At The Eden) -- branded as the perfect hide-out paradise in the Central area, which provides hourly rates.

However, you can be rest assured that Mingle on The Wing offers rooms at least on a daily basis and never by the hour.

As for the other issues you encountered, we'll make sure to improve on those! Thanks for your support!

- Stephen (Mingle Place)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#161 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Sheung Wan
Homy Hotel Central
Homy Hotel Central
#198 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#95 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
Sohotel
Sohotel
#154 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#35 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingle Place On The Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingle Place On The Wing

Property: Mingle Place On The Wing
Address: No.105 Wing Lok Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingle Place On The Wing 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Central, minutes' walk from the terminus of all subway lines, the Airport Express terminal, terminus of all ferry lines and jet-foil services, all the best restaurants and bars, all the best shopping malls, the most exotic Chinese cultural sites, and all the financial and business buildings that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mingle Place On The Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingle Place On The Wing Hotel Hong Kong
Mingle Place On The Wing Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing