We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jasmine Hostelling International
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

To start off, I'll say something nice. It was very, very clean. That's about the only nice thing I can say I'm afraid.

You have to walk across an open courtyard to get to the showers, not so much fun in winter.
Front desk huffed and puffed anytime anything was asked for (including extra blankets which are advertised on the board)
There was no chef for the first few days we stayed, which would be understandable because it was Chinese New Year (little ridiculous in the service industry, but understandable nonetheless). However, front desk insisted on having a board with the menu on it, and times for breakfast on full display with no suggestion that it wasn't currently available. When the chef did come back, the food was very slow to arrive, 45 minutes one morning, almost half an nour the next. The offerings were inconsistent too, one day we got two slices of toast with the meal, the next only one, for example.
I had to wait nearly 20 minutes to check out as they wanted to 'check my room', but didn't appear to have anyone free to do this.
Also, various day trips were advertised at front desk, but the staff had no helpful knowledge of any of them.
This place was cheap, but there are other cheap places and in future I'd rather pay a bit more and stay somewhere else. Very disappointing as I've always enjoyed the accommodation provided by other youth hostels in China. On a side note, Nanjing itself was brilliant and well worth a visit (just don't stay here!)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottishTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    50
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
4
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

For a very cheap hostel it's pretty good.
Rooms were small and quite old, not very clean but OK. We had a twin with private bathroom. There were lots of mozzies flying about.
The social atmosphere was very good, with the pot luck dinner night on while we were there, where everyone bought a dish of food. A lot of the people who came were expats teaching in Nanjing so it was great to talk to people living in China.
The staff were not very helpful in getting overnight train tickets to our next destination, though they did write in chinese what we needed and showed us on the map where we could go to buy them.
It was easy enough to get to onthe bus, we showed the bus driver on our map where we needed to go and told us when we had arrived. form the bus stop it is just a short walk down a small road. be carefull to get on the bus at the correct side of the road when going anywhere as the buses don't do a loop, so you want to be heading inthe right direction.
Wifi worked fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2011

For 50 yuan or $8 a night for a 4 bed dorm you don't expect much. But I certainly didn't expect the front desk to yell at me for asking the Internet password for the 2nd time. Karen never had a smile and really hates her job. I'm an understanding person so I just pity her. She's the exact model of someone top mgmt should avoid for customer service.

Then there are the showers. They outside in a separate area with only a little door separating you from the brutal cold winds. Just try and not have numb feet. As for the men, just try to see your...

The rooms are spacious enough but the bottom bunk will receive no warmth. The top will feel wonderful under the heater that doesn't travel well.

Overall I would never stay here again. I've stayed at other YHA for cheaper and enjoyed my stay like Xi'an and Changsha. Nanjing Jasmine Youth Hostel, NEVER again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achan1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stayed at the Jasmine youth hostel with two teenage children as part of a package tour.The teenage children liked the place but l certainly didn't. l know that the place is only a youth hostel but we took two private rooms and l had plenty of problems. Firstly the T.V didn't work and they didn't care, secondly the shower was only about three miniutes of warm water before it run out, then the prices of the food / snacks were VERY high for China amd then there was the DOG. The Dog hanged around you all the time while you were trying to eat something, l couldn't get rid of it to try and enjoy my over priced snack. l didn't expect much from a youth hostel and l know this place rates high but out of all the places we stayed in China l rank this place the worst. (GET RID OF THE DOG)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
1.5 mi away
Nanjing Time Youth Hostel
1.8 mi away
Fuzimiao International Youth Hostel
0.4 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#3 of 1,896 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Nanjing
Fairmont Nanjing
#1 of 1,896 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#4 of 1,896 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmine Hostelling International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine Hostelling International

Property: Jasmine Hostelling International
Address: No.7 Hequn New Village, Shanghai Road, Gulou District, Nanjing 210024, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Nanjing
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasmine Youth Hostel is situated in Nanjing's University District. With easy access to public transport and our friendly staff being more than happy to advise and assist you with their local knowledge, we have no doubt that you will find us to be the right choice for your stay in Nanjing!We look forward to meeting you soon!- The friendly staff at Jasmine Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Jasmine Hostelling International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing