We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orange Hotel (Nanjing Xinjiekou)
Ranked #94 of 1,996 Hotels in Nanjing
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel two or three times during March and April. It is modern and clean and the staff are really helpful. The beds are comfortable and the rooms pleasant. Like some others I don't like the poor imprisoned fish captive in a small fish tank. Each guest could use one of the hotel's bikes free for two hours a day which as a cyclist I made use of. The man who looks after the bikes, and serves guests breakfast - among his work - is very pleasant. And the reception staff are great and seemed to have higher than average (for Nanjing hotels) abilities dealing with an English speaking guest. The location is handy for many attractions in Nanjing. Some taxi drivers seemed challenged finding the hotel which is down a lane off a main road. Take note of the excellent directions provided by Ceciltong August 13, 2013 Trip Advisor to find the hotel which is next to a China Bank of Construction branch. The hotel provided a modest but passable breakfast for just 10 RMB. It would be wonderful, for a higher charge, if it decided to also offer a more substantial breakfast.

Room Tip: One stay I had a room which overlooked local housing and one night there was a lot of machinery nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here for 15 days when I visit my parents here. I was born and raised in this city. This is my hometown but I lived in the States now. I chose this hotel because it's close to my parents' condo and I just want a little privacy. Anyway, the hotel is very clean, the location is perfect within this price range. I love the shower water! The room decor is just so-so, not bad and not outstanding either. It has free wi-fi and also connection cable. However, the room has NO fridge, NO safe box which I think it would be a big plus. I was told the front desk has a small safe box for guests use; but I was told by them that even a iPad is not fit in! In addition, the hotel offers free 2-hour bike rental, or RMB $5/day. However, I don't suggest foreigners to take that deal because biking on busy streets are NOT safe in this city. One more thing, unlike other developed coutries' hotels, this hotel pre-charge rooms; which I felt very uncomfortable. I booked rooms via C-Trip (携程), I found later the CTrip price is higher compared to the price other guests paid. I was "forced" to pay one week costs on my check-in night. Then they called me after the first week urged me to prepay again for the next week's stay. Live in the States for 20 years and travel around world every year, this is the first time ever I had such experience! I felt very uncomfortable about this practice because other hotels always charge costs at checkout time!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColumbusUrbanLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is easily assessable by public transport from Nanjing Airport. I took the Airport bus (route 1) and got off at the last stop - Nanjing (North) Train Station, and then the Metro Line 1 southbound to Zhangfuyuan Metro Station (5 stops away). Take exit 1, and at the top of the stairs walk northwards to the next street (with the main Zhongshan South Road on your right).
Zhangfuyuan station is one stop away to Xinjiekou Stn (northbound on Line 1) which offers several dining and shopping options, one stop away from Sanshanjie (southbound on Line 1) for access to the Confucius Temple area, and two stops away (southbound on line 2) to Zhonghuamen Station to visit the city walls and Zhonghuamen.
I paid RMB338 for a clean deluxe queen room (through ctrip) and RMB 10 for a simple breakfast (ham sandwich with orange juice and a hard boiled egg).
If you are the adventurous (and not the squeamish) sort, I recommend a walk around the backstreets besides the hotel. At the entrance, turn left and follow the road or the locals, and you get a glimpse of where the local shop for the freshest local produce.
The staff at the hotel was very pleasant and friendly and I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a convenient budget option in Nanjing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceciltong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Nice front desk. Very close to Zhangfuyan metro. Nice rooms. It's a bit strange that you share an elevator with a language school but you need a key for each floor so it seemed secure. Remember it's Exit number 1 from Zhangfuyan metro.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2007californiateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Helpful front desk girls was so nice, helpful and always with smile. Guiding us for nice local foods and attraction place. Walking distance from mrt station zhangfuyuan, just 2mins from exit. Very near to MingWahLang road, plenty of local foods there. Rooms is nice, clean especially the executive room.

Room Tip: Choose executive room, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KahWai_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This place is right next to Zhunghuamen metro station, therefore the accessiblity is great. Secondly its just 10 min walking distance from Nanjing main hub Xienjiekou.

The rooms are large as compared to other restaurants in china, and very convenient. Only problem is that in rooms, they dont have any english channel in TV. Other than that eveything is very good.

All rooms have wifi and wired internet connectivity free of cost.

There is no restaurant. Buffet breakfast is provided which is always a fixed menu and fixed quantity. But it is sufficient. The travellers can order the breakfast in room or get it packed also if they are in a hurry. This is very convenient.

Secondly there is a Indian restaurant very near to the hotel. You have to walk towards xienjiekou and turn left from the first petrol pump which will come on you left.. walk straight and you will find indian restaurant.

Also if you walk to xienjiekou there is a walmart there which is walking distance from hotel.

The most important thing is that some reception staff do speak in english. So incase there is anything you need, you can explain to them. It is really difficult to find english speaking people in china to it is a added plus.

There are also many laundry shops nearby, incase you dont want to give your laundry in the hotel.

All in all its very good choice to stay in nanjing for short trips.

Room Tip: Buy a metro card. It connects most of the places of interest in nanjing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anant25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a strange hotel. It shares space with an English language school so students use the same elevator though you need a key card to access the hotel area. The rooms are not super clean. If you use the stairs as I did you'll notice that the doors near the staircase leading to an enclosed alley are always open meaning any critters are free to enter as they please.

On the other hand, it's pretty cheap at less than 300 rmb a night. The Zhangfuyuan metro station is right nearby (it's one stop south of the Xinjiekou station as I learned too late). This means that even though there's no decent food nearby, a 2 rmb token gets you to more happening areas of town. Plus, the shower is excellent: clean, good water pressure and what feels like a granite floor. Overall, price performance wise, I would stay here again. Oh, the stand outside the hotel serves a great burrito like breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoytSze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hotel Nanjing Zhonghua
Ibis Hotel Nanjing Zhonghua
#215 of 1,996 in Nanjing
178 reviews
0 mi away
The Cumberland Boutique Hotel
The Cumberland Boutique Hotel
#30 of 1,996 in Nanjing
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jinjiang Inn (Nanjing Xinjiekou)
0.8 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#5 of 1,996 in Nanjing
1,294 reviews
2 mi away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#7 of 1,996 in Nanjing
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hotel (Nanjing Xinjiekou)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel (Nanjing Xinjiekou)

Address: No.288 Zhongshan South Road, Baixia District, Nanjing 210002, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing > Downtown , Baixia District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 1,996 Hotels in Nanjing
Price Range: £32 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Hotel (Nanjing Xinjiekou) 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orange Hotel (Nanjing Xinjiekou) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing