We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good pool, not such good food”
Review of The Westin Nanjing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Nanjing
Ranked #6 of 1,969 Hotels in Nanjing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Comfortable place to stay and good value for money. They have a large indoor pool, though it does seem to get busy in the evening. I wasn't impressed with the dinner buffet (nothing very exciting to eat, and not much difference from one day to another. For breakfast the pre-cooked fried eggs were cold but the chef refused to cook me one to order.

The bedroom is a decent size, clean and modern, though it took me a while to find the power socket for the desk. The bathroom follows the modern "open plan" style, with two (sliding) doors and an opaque screen (which does make it lighter). Unfortunately, some aspects of the design are more for appearance than practicality (a "joystick" to control the waterflow and temperature in the handbasin and an oddly shaped and undulating stand for the shampoos and lotions).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheProbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Westin Nanjing, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear TheProbe,

Greetings from The Westin Nanjing, and thank you for taking the time to give us your recent stay experience with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and pool. However, please do accept my apology for not having up to your expectations with food, I already addressed these issues to related F&B teams, we are in progress of upgrading and improving more tasty buffet selections. Once again, Thank you so much for valuable feedbacks, I hope we have the chance to welcome you again in very near further and make you have a more comfortable and enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

It was my first time to Nanjing and I didn't know what to expect, but the Westin here was excellent. The location is really good, in front of a lake and only a couple of minutes walk from the subway. Like any Chinese city, traffic is getting worse, so it is so convenient to take the metro everywhere. The lake looks very nice but unfortunately I did not have time to walk around it. The rooms are nice a light and I had a great view, and was very happy to see they have the Westin beds. Breakfast is good and the service in the hotel is very helpful and friendly. The service especially in the bar is very nice and friendly. I will definitely return on my next trip to Nanjing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacksonLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Westin Nanjing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Jacksonlau,
Warm greetings from the Westin Nanjing, and thank you so much for take the time post such nice comments on tripadvisor. I’m delight to hear that you have an uplifting and enjoyable stay in Nanjing, and our staff was friendly and accommodating. I have already passed on your words to our teams, it is inspiring for everyone here that we were able to meet your satisfaction. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedbacks, we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have stayed here a few times, but have not reviewed until now. The hotel lives up to the standards you expect from Westin. Service, staff, rooms, restaurant, and overall condition are excellent. I thought the staff at breakfast was extremely attentive as well as in the lobby bar one evening. I am a gold SPG member and I highly reccomend this property as one of the nicer Westins in China.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJames88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Westin Nanjing, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Mark S,
Thank you so much for you posting a kind feedback on Tripadvisor, and everyone here hopes that you are well. I was delighted to hear that you had such a great time at the Westin Nanjing and also especially enjoyed our service. We most certainly look forward to your return and will do our best to exceed your expectations and make your future stays are even more comfortable and refreshing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is located straight in front of a subway station, so it can easiliy be reached. Furthermore, there is a gate through the ming wall also in front of the hotel, so e lovely lake and the pedestrian area next to the it, can be reached within minutes.
The lobby is situated on the 23rd floor, so you will be asking for a room with a view at the lake and you can see miles over Nanjing. There is only one restaurant on the 23 rd floor where you can breakfast etc. When we stayed there, they had a nice buffet in the evening and also breakfast was great. They also have a cosy bar on the same floor with dark wooden floors, leather sofas etc. A good place to rest.
Spa and fitness with swimming pool are on the 8 th floor. This is the only nuisance in this hotel. There are only three lift and you can be sure to wait quite some time in front of it during rush hour.
Service was good and checking in also very swift, same a check out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Westin Nanjing, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear RSF15,
Greetings from The Westin Nanjing, and thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor. We are all delighted to hear what a great Xuanwu Lake experience you had and that our staff were able to bring you a memorable and relaxing stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience with elevators and rest assured that we continue to do everything possible to improve the current situation. I most certainly hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Thank you so much for your valuable feedback again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We moved to the Westin Nanjing for 2 nights at the end of January 2014 after a horrible experience at the Sofitel Galaxy Nanjing just down the road (for which we've posted a separate review).

The Westin Nanjing contains all that you expect from a quality 5-star establishment. It is well located, just around the corner from the busy Hunan Road and adjacent to a large shopping mall. Check in was efficient and the front desk staff were very professional. Our room was spacious and had a great view of Xuanwu lake.

The Buffet breakfast had great variety and served freshly squeezed juice. We were also happy with the gym facilities - the gym was spacious and had very modern equipment. One minor annoyance - a lot of the gym staff were playing on their phones infront of guests. While this doesn't really affect guests' experience but it does seem a little unprofessional. Overalls, though, we greatly enjoyed our experience at the Westin.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cyjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Westin Nanjing, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Cyiy,
Warm greetings from Nanjing, and I would like to thank you for having chosen The Westin Nanjing for your recent stay. I’m thrilled to hear that this is an enjoyable 5-star experience you expected during your stay, and had a enjoyment of xuanwu lake view from your room.Please do accept my sincere apology for the disappointment you encountered at Gym and I appreciate your time to indicate this issue that we need to improve. I have spoken to the Workout Team, and we will be carrying out some further training to ensure that we always maintain the highest levels of professionalism. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon to The Westin Nanjing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Traveled a lot in China, but always struggled to find a soft bed, a quiet and clean-smelling room, and helpful but not overwhelmingly "friendly" staff. The Westin Nanjing got it just right, plus a LOT of extras: Xuan Wu Lake, away from the crazy downtown traffic but close enough to get to EVERYTHING, breakfast buffet, and ...! Too bad it was only a two-night one-day visit. And the service - PERFECTO! Can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Westin Nanjing, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear KYC1988,
Warm greetings from The Westin Nanjing, and thank you so much for sharing such nice feedback with us. I’m so delighted to read that you found everything perfect as you expected at our Westin Nanjing, as well as enjoyed a wonderful moment of the Xuanwu Lake during your tour of China. I have already passed on your words to our teams, it is inspiring for everyone here that we were able to meet your satisfaction. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback, we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel brings you to Nanjing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Booked a Club room for the weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The service in the Club is excellent. The girls are very attentive and go the extra mile. After I checked in downstairs I went up to the room and then on to the club for happy hour. Asked the girl "ella or ellie?"about why the gentleman downstairs said I was upgraded to a club floor when I actually booked a club room to begin with. She said that for the weekend, if you are Gold or P status you get upgraded to the club floor. I was a bit sad that I did not know that prior to booking as it cost more to book a club. 10 minutes later the nice girl came to me and had me sign for the lower priced room as they made a mistake downstairs etc etc. Anyways...the girl went above and beyond what she needed to do. Excellent!! The buffet breakfast was always pretty good in the main lobby and in the lounge, although lounge on the weekends serve till 11am which is awesome because downstairs is until 10:30 and by 10am you have almost nothing left to eat. I did not have dinner buffet there as it did not look very good and for the price, we were better suited somewhere else. Overall experience was very good and I would def go back! Location is also good, connected to a new mall which has some good Chinese restaurants and a nice new movie theater which we went to twice ;-D

Room Tip: Book a club room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A4turbo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Westin Nanjing, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear A4turbo21,
Warm greetings from The Westin Nanjing, and thank you so much for sharing your stay experience with us. I’m so delighted to read that you were able to relax and unwind at our Westin Executive club, and enjoyed the extended breakfast hours. We recently adjusted these specifically so our guests could relax during their Westin weekend. It is a pleasure to have you as our guests and we will certainly do our best to exceed your expectations and make your future stays even more comfortable and renewing. Thank you again for your valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#5 of 1,969 in Nanjing
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
#10 of 1,969 in Nanjing
211 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fairmont Nanjing
Fairmont Nanjing
#1 of 1,969 in Nanjing
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#4 of 1,969 in Nanjing
1,289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
#16 of 1,969 in Nanjing
676 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Nanjing
Hilton Nanjing
#12 of 1,969 in Nanjing
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nanjing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nanjing

Address: 201 Zhongyang Road, Nanjing, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nanjing
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
#17 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range: £83 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Nanjing 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Nanjing is strategically located in the Hunan Road central business district with an adjacent retail podium and offering a retreat overlooking the scenic Xuanwu Lake. From our hotel you will see the bustling and vibrant city of Nanjing. We are a casual walk to Jiangsu Exhibition Hall which conveniently connects you to the subway station.Our Westin Heavenly Bed in each of our 234 guest rooms and suites offers an indulgent respite from the usual demands of the day. Find comfort from the sumptuous and stylish all-white bed, consisting of a custom designed pillow top mattress, down blanket, crisp sheets, luxurious duvet, and five dreamy pillows.Feel rejuvenated with a dip in our 25-meter indoor heated swimming pool, or a session at Westin WORKOUT, our fitness center offering the latest in cardio equipment and weights.A full range of support services is provided at the Business Center, and our guests will appreciate high speed wireless internet in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and public areas throughout the hotel.Indulge your culinary senses at our innovative restaurants, offering you a unique dining experience. The Westin Nanjing features a total of 1,000 square meters of meeting and banquet space including a Grand Ballroom with 530 square meters on the 9th floor and 4 meeting rooms on the 22nd floor.Seasonal Tastes – Be invigorated by the color, freshness and flair our all-day dining venue presents. With open kitchen and an interactive dining experience, Seasonal Taste features both buffet and a la carte selections. The Westin Nanjing is proud to offer SuperFoodsRXTM.Five Zen5es – An innovative and lively restaurant offering new-look Huaiyang fare and Chinese dishes prepared using authentic methods. Private rooms are available for a more intimate dining experience. It will be ‘the’ place to be seen in Nanjing.Lobby Lounge – Retreat to our lobby lounge bar to unwind in a relaxed atmosphere with a cocktail or light snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Nanjing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nanjing Hotel Nanjing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing