We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Nanjing Riverside
Ranked #12 of 1,890 Hotels in Nanjing
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a small group of friends for 3 nights. Overall, I was disappointed but let's start with the pros:

The decor is modern and cozy. The rooms are well equipped. They serve nice international breakfast. Great view from our room. The staff speaks OK English (which is rare for China).

Now, the cons:
1. Reception staff not accomodating our needs. We requested all our rooms (6) to be on the same floor. They put us on 3 different floors despite our request. We booked this trip a few months in advance so they should have been able to give us all the same floor. They moved 2 of us to the same floor as our friends on the second day but that's exactly what I didn't want to do, having to pack & unpack after just 1 day.

On the first night we were "upgraded" to a higher room type. But after we had been moved to the standard room the following night we found out that the room size & amenities were exactly the same. The only difference was a plate of small chocolates to welcome us. So much for an "upgrade".

2. Their room facilities are not standardized. We all booked the same room type: standard. But 2 rooms have no bathtubs, 2 rooms were much bigger than the rest.

3. The air conditioner is centrally operated. At night it was so warm I tried to lower the aircon temperature in vain. On the 2nd night we found out that this hotel is so cheap that they don't turn the aircon on. Apparently they only allow guests to use the aircon in summer. For such a big hotel chain I think it's unacceptable to not give the guests control of the desired temperature in their rooms.

4. This is the only hotel in our 2-week China trip that charged for wifi. All the other 4 hotels we stayed at gave us free access to wifi.

5. BAD location. Granted, our room had a great view of the Yangtze River, but there's no shopping center or food stores within walking distance. Luckily we were on a full service guided tour in Nanjing. Otherwise it would have been difficult & troublesome for us to get around.

6. We had to catch an early flight on the fourth day so we requested takeaway breakfast. Their breakfast package is so small compared to other hotels I've stayed at. It's barely enough for an adult. Other hotels usually put a beverage in the takeaway bag but there's no drink in theirs.

All in all I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Find somewhere else to stay. And I definitely won't be returning to Hilton Riverside Nanjing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jingga18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjingriverside, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Nanjing Riverside, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Valued guests, greetings from the Hilton Nanjing Riverside! Thank you for your review. We are very regret to learn that our hotel's non-ideal location bring you so much inconvenience. Thank you for your feedback regarding our food & check in service, your comments will help us to improve the situation. We’re so sorry that we didn’t provide you with the best quality of services and amenities you deserved. Besides, we have fully noted the problem of the staffs' English & Serivce quality you mentioned here and we will make necessary improvements & staff training regarding English & Service accordingly. At the Hilton Nanjing Riverside we take pride in trying to ensure customer satisfaction, and all of us at Hilton Nanjing Riverside really look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    82
    35
    9
    11
See reviews for
39
33
16
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nanjing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Good service, good scene, good food in executive lounge. Located near the Yangzte River. You can drink coffee and watch the river. Good feeling. The pillow is not comfortable. Too soft. No lunch in executive lounge is a pity. You must share breakfast in Floor 1 with lots of team of travler. Too noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Yongning M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjingriverside, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Nanjing Riverside, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear valued guest, thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and know that our executive lounge made you feel comfortable and enjoyable. And very regret to learn that we did not provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve and what you really needed. At the Hilton Nanjing Riverside we take pride in trying to ensure customer satisfaction, and all of us at Hilton Nanjing Riverside look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel while visiting my fiance's family in Nanjing over Chinese New Year with a friend from the US. We got a room on one of the top floors with a river view balcony, which was quite nice overlooking the Yangtze River. The room was quite modern and very spacious.

But I only give the hotel an average rating because of the location and service. The hotel is a bit out of the way and it is difficult to get a cab in this area. When we were departing we had to wait over 20 minutes for a cab even though we called the concierge about 10 minutes before checking out. The staff also struggled to communicate with my friend who does not speak any Chinese. We were able to sort this out since I speak Chinese, but I expected better from the Hilton staff, especially the staff in the executive lounge.

I also thought the breakfast was below average compared to most western hotel chains in China and was not impressed with the executive lounge. They also had some water leaking issues from the ceiling in the restaurant.

When I return to Nanjing I might stay at this hotel again because of the nice rooms and view, but may also consider looking at other options.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingm0nkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjingriverside, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Nanjing Riverside, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Greetings from the Hilton Nanjing Riverside!

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and note that you found the facilities of the hotel comfortable.

We are very regret to learn that our hotel's non-ideal location bring you so much inconvenience. Thank you for your feedback regarding our food & check in service, your comments will help us to improve the situation. We’re so sorry that we didn’t provide you with the best quality of services and amenities you deserved. Besides, we have fully noted the problem of the staffs' English & Serivce quality you mentioned here and we will make necessary improvements & staff training regarding English & Service accordingly.

At the Hilton Nanjing Riverside we take pride in trying to ensure customer satisfaction, and all of us at Hilton Nanjing Riverside look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
南京, China
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The environment and service are pretty good, while the bed is not so comfortable, when i woke up in the morning, i felt backache. Besides, the food should be improved as well. The environment and service are pretty good, while the bed is not so comfortable, when i woke up in the morning, i felt backache. Besides, the food should be improved as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Zhen Hua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjingriverside, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Nanjing Riverside, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Warm greetings from the Hilton Nanjing Riverside! Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Besides, we have fully noted the problem of the bed & food you mentioned here and we will make necessary improvements accordingly. All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Purely delightful top of the line deluxe hotel. Being a Gold Hilton Member had the access to a fantastic Executive Lounge. Beautiful view, fantastic food, fabulous rooms, elegant and prompt service is any traveller's delight. Excellent house keeping and fantastic room interiors. One of the best Hilton Hotels ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sourav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjingriverside, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Nanjing Riverside, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Valued guests, thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and know that our executive lounge made you feel comfortable and enjoyable. All of us at Hilton Nanjing Riverside are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

While this is a beautiful property and the rooms are huge, as many other reviews have warned, this hotel is just too far away; it's in a residential area with nothing around. No convenience stores, no subway and no taxi. Outside of morning traffic, it's 25+ plus to get to the subway.

Taxis won't come out there bc it's too far out. There's no cab rank! Calling for a cab is like begging for someone to donate a kidney.

There are few international guests so the front desk staff are not ready for prime time; limited English and simple requests (e.g. "Copy of my bill") become horrendously complicated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjingriverside, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Nanjing Riverside, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Greetings from the Hilton Nanjing Riverside! Thank you for your review. We are very regret to learn that our hotel's non-ideal location bring you so much inconvenience. Besides, we have fully noted the problem of the staffs' English & Serivce quality you mentioned here and we will make necessary improvements & staff training regarding English & Service accordingly. All of us at Hilton Nanjing Riverside are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Actually booked the other hilton but due to communication issues our driver brought us here!
Check in is slow but then it always is at most places I've stayed in China.
Rooms are great although due to the fog I couldn't see what would otherwise been a great view.
Had a beer and a feed at the 12th floor executive club. Beer not too cold but fine just the same.
The bar in the exec club closed at 8 but they obliged and served us a few extras which was a nice touch
There was live music downstairs in the foyer bar which was neat.
The room was very nice, great shower with plenty of pressure.
Very comfy bed.
Good selection of English channels on the tv too.
Huge breakfast selection the next morning in the large river cafe.
Good selection but could have hotter.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjingriverside, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Nanjing Riverside, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear valued guest, thank you for your feedback regarding our food & check in service, your comments will help us to improve the situation. We’re so sorry that we didn’t provide you with the best quality of services and amenities you deserved. We know how teribble the log could be, but really hope you’ll give us another chance and stay at the Hilton Nanjing Riverside again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
5.5 mi away
Fairmont Nanjing
Fairmont Nanjing
#1 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#2 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Nanjing
Hilton Nanjing
#8 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
2.4 mi away
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
#14 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#4 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nanjing Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nanjing Riverside

Property: Hilton Nanjing Riverside
Address: No.1 Huaibin Road, Xiaguan District, Nanjing 210011, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,890 Hotels in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Nanjing Riverside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the lower reaches of the Yangtze River, Hilton Nanjing Riverside provides tasteful accommodations for both business and leisure travellers. Just 25 minutes from the central business district, Hilton Nanjing Riverside offers 411 guest rooms and suites, modern in-room technology and extensive meeting, conference and recreation facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Nanjing Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing