We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy hotel in posh shopping district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 1,955 Hotels in Nanjing
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Nanjing (and many other Chinese cities) are your opportunity to stay at fancy hotels with the same budget or less than you would pend on a mid-range hotel in Europe. The Cumberland is very fancy and stylish. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and big. They have a flat screen tv and free wifi, which works most of the time. The only weird thing is that there is a glass wall in the bathroom right next to the shower. Rooms with more than one bed have blinds in the window, but rooms with only one king bed don't.

The only thing to complain about is that the modern key cards and weird locks are very hard to use. Made sure to have one of the cleaning staff that are always around on each floor to show you how to use it and let you practice under their guidance. Mastering these locks is challenging. But the cleaning staff are very nice and helpful even thou they don't speak English. Staff at the reception do speak good English thou.

The location is good, right in the center of Nanjing in a modern posh shopping district. The closest subway station is a 10 min walk away. Outside the neighboring posh shopping center there is also a taxi queue, which is unusual for china and very convenient, since you always know where you can get a taxi fast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faithofabegweit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

Mid April weekend stay here while presenting in Nanjing. Clean room, good wifi, gym to myself for two days. Wifi in gym so I can play my music. Great location. Have a sense of humor about the translations and no in house breakfast is also fine with me. Bed was cozy.

Room Tip: Gym is on fifth floor so I got a room on five.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank RobertPagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is supposedly a boutique hotel. The rooms are beautiful. The wifi works very well. But the bed is as hard as the floor. And there is a "pillow menu" asking me to choose among four types of pillows--none of which makes any sense (a buckwheat pillow? a chrystanthemum pillow? a semen cassiae pillow? a guarding neck pillow?). Get real, folks.

Now the bigger problems are with customer service. The kitchen is being redone so there is no breakfast. I asked for milk to make myself coffee when we checked in. Was told that this is impossible. I later read that the bar serves coffee, so I called and asked for milk from the bar. I spent 15 minutes on the phone with folks who spoke no English. They didn't know what milk was but ultimately they seemed to understand. Then two minutes later they called me back and told me I couldn't have any. I went down 10 flights to the bar and ultimately the manager took a carton of milk from the refrigerator and poured me a glass.

Now this morning I have been waiting for half an hour for coffee instead of the breakfast they offered (a piece of bread and an egg sandwich, which I didn't want). They tried to charge me $6 for the small cup of coffee, which I refused to pay. The coffee was lukewarm.

I was up early and tried to cancel my wake up call, It didn't work. No one understood English even though I was transferred to four people. I am not some superpatriot who demands that everyone should be fluent in English. However, if you are running a hotel with pretensions to an international clientele (in a very tony section of the city), at least someone should have some basic understanding of the world's international language (why did they call this place "The Cumberland"?

The shower is wonderful, but you need to turn on the heat at least half an hour before showering. Welcome to boot camp.

The issue is simple:The rooms are huge and beautiful. But the overall hotel doesn't work.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trustscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 26 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank yocho_cheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#24 of 1,955 in Nanjing
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Nanjing Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Eagle Summit Hotel
Golden Eagle Summit Hotel
#26 of 1,955 in Nanjing
126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City
Holiday Inn Nanjing Aqua City
#15 of 1,955 in Nanjing
478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eastern Pearl Hotel
Eastern Pearl Hotel
#37 of 1,955 in Nanjing
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Boutique Hotel

Address: No.102 Zhongshan Road, Nanjing 210005, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,955 Hotels in Nanjing
Price Range: £48 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cumberland Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing