We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not but, and very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel
Ranked #28 of 1,904 Hotels in Nanjing
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not but, and very convenient”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I can recommend this hotel by reasons as below,
- Very convinient; 1 minute from an exit of subway. You can easily move from and to Nanjing railway station and South Naning railway station which superexpress trains stop.
- Good neighborhood; There is "Hunan" road near this hotel where is one of the two downtowns of Nanjing. The other one is "ShinJieKou", where is at only three or four stations by riding the subway.
- Good neighborhood; Near this hotel, there is a big lake and park, called XuanWu lake, where we can see beautiful seaneries.
- Good cost performance; This hotel is not so expensive as other five star hotels, and clean enough for foreigners.

As the result, this is not the first class hotel, but worth for staying.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    200
    44
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
20
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Firstly arrived with surprised location which facing with Xuanwu Lake.
Lobby was great with warmly welcome atmosphere to the new guest for the first step.
There were plenty of helpful staffs though we have a problem with language, but not a problem for communications.
Room was spacious with fully equipped to complete all you needed during your overseas trip.
No review for hotel foods since food court just a minute walk to explore.
For shopaholic, local brand shops are waiting for visitors to enjoy their fashion design.

Overall, I will definitely stay to this hotel again for my next trip in Nanjing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JITHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed here July 16, 2013 to July 18, 2013. Great hotel Staff are friendly and helpful and speak reasonable English.

I booked a superior room and my booking came with one free breakfast. The price was $100.00 Canadian a night and well worth it.

Room was clean with fresh bedding and the usual room amenities and free Wi-Fi ( just ask the front desk for the password ).

Hotel had an indoor pool which was most welcomed after the heat of the day.

Near the Xuan Wu Lake Park, a must see, and the Dragon bridge pedestrian area which is also a must see, especially at night

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: get a room with a view of Xuan Wu Lake Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The location is excellent near the cross section of two major streets and also near the lake. The rooms are not too large but comfortable. The swimming pool, gym and spa are great but the expensive buffet dinner was a disaster. We reached around eight thirty and realised that we were scraping the bottom of the dish. The buffet dinner cost 200 yuan approximately and was bad. At nine, the staff almost shut down the restaurant even with us still sitting there.

Room Tip: Please select a lake facing room if you book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahibbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The hotel is located in a superb location with a great view of the lake and the sacred mountain.
The restaurant (breakfast and dinner) is round and offer a great view of the entire city.
The local Metro line is right next, an the train station is only two stations (5 minutes by Taxi) away.
The staff was very helpful, in particular they purchased a train ticket for me (for 20 Yuan =~ 2.5 $)
The room was great and compfi, In the morning I just stepped out and straight to the islands in the middle of the lake. great choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarryChen, Manager at Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for choosing Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel Najing,our service is always beyond your expectation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed at Lakeview hotel for two nights. The rooms are nice and spacious with good wifi connection. The breakfast buffet has an excellent spread and very tasty food. The view of the lake from the revolving restaurant is amazing. The only problem is that a lot of staff, including reception staff don't understand English. To ask for an Iron and table, I had to make 4 - 5 calls to different people until one of them came over to my room and I had to show them what I was asking for. Otherwise, at RMB 650 per night, its a good place to stay if you want to walk just 300 meters in the morning and reach the lake side.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GautamJindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarryChen, Manager at Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for choosing Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel Nanjing ,
We will improve our service ,proficient English skill is very important for our staff.
Waiting for your next stay ,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights in April. The location is excellent, right next to the metro. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bathroom is really nice. The room had free wi fi. My only quibble, and it may have been my fault is that we didn't select the breakfast option and upon check in the receptionist asked if we want breakfast as all we'd have to do is sign for it. I assumed that we were being given an upgrade in the facilities. Upon check out I was given the bill which included £35.00 for breakfast for two. I explained that of course I'd pay it but they need to be clear explaining to guests. In addition the breakfast is really disappointing and although I know that spitting and hacking up phlegm is part of the culture it really was hard to have to listen to it while trying to enjoy your yoghurt and coffee.
The best thing about the hotel is the location and everywhere a tourist wants to go is within metro distance. I'll post separate reviews for restaurants and places to visit.
Do take time to listen to the two musicians in the evening who play and sing in the piano bar. They were excellent.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank katrina1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarryChen, Manager at Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for choosing Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel Nanjing.
We will improve our service ,and hope you next stay!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
1.9 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#3 of 1,904 in Nanjing
1,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
#6 of 1,904 in Nanjing
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#4 of 1,904 in Nanjing
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Westin Nanjing
The Westin Nanjing
#10 of 1,904 in Nanjing
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
#14 of 1,904 in Nanjing
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel

Property: Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel
Address: No.193 Zhongyang Road, Gulou District, Nanjing 210009, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nanjing
#10 Spa Hotel in Nanjing
#26 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Xuanwu Nanjing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing