We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Location”
Review of Zhongshan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zhongshan Hotel
Ranked #993 of 1,896 Hotels in Nanjing
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central Location”
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a leisure trip to see local friends.

Booked the trip through www.chinalinkstravel.co.uk, I had stayed the the Central hotel last time so fancied a change.

Located near Ju Jiang Lu metro station (* see footnote), the entrance is actually off the main road and you have to look out for McD's and walk down abit to find the opening where the cars drive in.
My local friend helped me check-in (as I don't speak mandarin) was initially put off to find other guests smoking in the lobby - please note that smoking is permitted everywhere...in this hotel, in the city, in mainland China....absolutely everywhere.

The room was fine, if a little dated - it could probably do with a refurb sooner rather than later.
Breakfast - a bit on the greasy side, but no shortage of food. Please note as a single guest you'll be expected to share your table with other guests.

Front desk staff didn't spek much english, luckily I had a cantonese phrasebook and could point to the chinese word when I needed an adaptor/charger for my phone - they had someone bring one up immediately :o)

My pre-booked taxi to the airport was bang on time and the bellboy very polite and curteous.

If you're in Nanjing I will definitley recommend visiting Fuzi Miao, Sun Yat Sen Memorial (a little out of town, you can take a taxi), the Massacre Museum is a must-see...you will be deeply moved.

*BTW - please note the map on trip advisor places the orange star in totally the wrong place, the hotel is near the junction with Ju Jiang Lu station with Golden Eagle shopping centre opposite. This is a tricky traffic junction and there is a restriction for cars heading north they are not allowed to turn right during rush hour....but any decent driver will be able to get you there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22_L_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    39
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Service and setting of the hotel are outstanding.
Grass and open areas, historical buildings on site.
Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeelongFlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhineland-Palatinate
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Friendly staff, great location, good value: the staff was extremely forthcoming and accommodating, the downtown location was outstanding, and you cannot beat the price. :-)

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the cigarette-laden air
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Nanjing Zhongshan Hotel is conveniently located near the shopping malls and sightseeing districts. You can get to FuZi Miao (Confucius Temple), XuanWu Lake, MoChou Lake and 1912, XinJieKou and Nanjing Museum easily either using the subway or a short taxi ride away. The Nanjing Massacre Museum is slightly further but can still be easily reached from this hotel. There are also lots of shopping centres, hair salons and eating places near this hotel. Service is not too bad and hotel is clean. You can make a request for non-smoking rooms and if they are not available, the staff can arrange to have your room 'smoked out'. There is also a touch screen bus guide near the lifts located at the lobby.

  • Liked — Convenient Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cynbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napoli
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

hotel not bad, but the staff at reception is not kind at all !! i will not stay there once again

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank francmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanjing hotels

California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2007

Wife's client booked this property. The only downside is that the staff don't speak English, so we're limited in our requests. However, everything else is top-notch. The room (we have a VIP room) is spacious, the bathroom is ultra-modern, breakfast has a variety of Western and Eastern choices - all good. And the surroundings are both beautiful and with historical importance. Our best stay in China thusfar.

  • Liked — Modern, comfortable, well-appointed, great breakfast
  • Disliked — Language difficulties
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kimnjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2007

I stayed at the Zhongshan while I was visiting Nanjing in November, 2006. The hotel was fantastic! The bed, like others in China, was hard, but I didn't mind it at all. The staff were amazingly helpful in every aspect. The broadband in my room worked fine once I got the password from the front desk. The staff had many good English speakers and the restaurant had great food.

I want to go back to Nanjing, and I want to stay again at the Zhongshan. I loved my stay there.

  • Liked — Location, friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Hard bed - if I go back, I'm asking if they have a softer, Western mattress.
  • Tips/Secrets — The day tour of Nanjing is awesome. Spend the extra 100 yuan for an English guide and you'll have a blast!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzptm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
Tian Feng Grand Hotel
#643 of 1,896 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#3 of 1,896 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Nanjing
#1 of 1,896 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
InterContinental Nanjing
#4 of 1,896 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Lukou Airport
Pullman Nanjing Lukou Airport
Pullman Nanjing Lukou Airport
#11 of 1,896 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhongshan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongshan Hotel

Property: Zhongshan Hotel
Address: No.200 Zhongshan Road, Xuanwu District, Nanjing 210008, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zhongshan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zhongshan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhongshan Hotel Nanjing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing