We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel. Horrible food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort
Ranked #13 of 1,890 Hotels in Nanjing
Certificate of Excellence
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel. Horrible food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I decided to take my family for a weekend, for a break. We were looking to relax and get some good food. Only half of the expectations were met. The hotel is nice, international standards. I was upgraded to an executive room because I am a gold card member of their rewards program. The room was nice and big. I requested a non-smoking room and since I was 'upgraded' to the executive floor, they couldn't meet my request. However, the room didn't have any residual smoke odors, which I was expecting.

We decided to try the buffet for dinner. For the price paid, selection was limited, beer was not included, and presentation was very bad. What made it even worse was breakfast was in the same venue and some of the breads and cheeses that were out at dinner were the SAME that were presented for breakfast the next day. You can tell the food was old and they made no attempt to fix up the presentation to at least make it look fresh.

Overall, we still enjoyed our stay. We would go back again, play a round of golf while we are there but definitely leave the hotel to go outside for our meals.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichTheChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM-Grace, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Zhongshan Golf & Resort Nanjing. I am sorry that your experience about food did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, since new Executive Chef come and join Sofitel team.the quality of food and beverage have improve more. We hope that you will give us one opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    88
    26
    1
    6
See reviews for
29
15
3
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

Overall I liked my stay at this hotel. The rooms were very nice and the staff was friendly although not very attentive. But I have to go on record that this hotel should not be rated 5 stars according to western standards. The western food was horrible, the Chinese food was very average. The entertainment was subpar and the hotel was in disrepair. The lobby ceiling was disgusting. I think they should lower their prices or fix up the place. They charge 5 star prices for a 3 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yossarian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM-Grace, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Zhongshan Golf & Resort Nanjing. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Hotel has been opened for six year. the equipment and facility is old. but hotel already had action plan to improve it ,such as new Spa opene on March of this year. our new executive Chef join sofitel team ,the quality of food has improved much more.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ha Noi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

I checked in this hotel on June 03 and checked out June 08 (2012). Since I have a business trip in Nanjing.
It has very spacy rooms, with good facilities. There may be some bad comments on its breakfast, but I think it was much better than some other Chinese hotels. I also enjoyed its bathroom with good shower, bathtub and shower gel, shampoo...(L'Occitane)
However, there are some bad points as well. First, it is quite separated from city center, further more, the hotel do not supply free shuttle bus to city center or airport or train station, which other hotels do (for example, their neighbour hotel, The Purple Place).
There are also some defects in my rooms (4047) like a loose lamp switch, a false wall lamp, poor quality iron and iron board...
And one weird thing for me is that, they do not have wifi in room (4047), only LAN, then only my laptop can access their high speed internet, not my phone.
It is a good hotel with affordable price, good staffs... but I will not chose it for my next stay.

Room Tip: good room should face golf course in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuanJun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM-Grace, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Zhongshan Golf & Resort Nanjing. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Hotel has been opened for six years, some equipment and facility need to improve. hotel also have one action plan to install WIFI in the room this year.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Presumably this was supposed to be a luxury international hotel, but these days it falls a long way short of that standard.

For example, I came back to my room one day to find that there was no shower gel. I called the "service centre" but they couldn't understand my request. Eventually they sent someone to come and check, and I pointed out the problem. The lady promised to come back with the shower gel but either she forget or the hotel had run out of this precious commodity. Later I tried asking reception (where the standard of English is usually better), but they couldn't figure out what I wanted. But, hey, there was a bar of soap.

Meal service is haphazard: at breakfast they give you a basket of bread, which would be great if they delivered it when you sat down, but I gave up and got my own - and of course the basket turned up later. The dinner buffet is not great, but they don't really have enough customers, and the a la carte menu is also fairly limited.

And, as others have noted, it's all too easy to flood the bathroom using the shower, and the "rain forest" shower head drips cold water.

But the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheProbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM-Grace, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Zhongshan Golf & Resort Nanjing. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

According to these weak points which you mentioned ,hotel make concern action plan to training our staff to improve our service and improve the equipment and food quality.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

The hotel did live up to the luxury promise. But as with most places in China, the details are usually overlooked. The room was clean in general, we asked for a non-smoking room, and got one, and we got a nice view of the golf course which would look much prettier if there are actual grass on it. If we want to be picky, I say that the cleaning staff missed a few spots here and there, but in China's standard I'm very satisfied.

The service in the hotel's restaurant is terrible as expected but the pasta and pizza we had was surprisingly good!

If you are planning to visit the city I would NOT recommend this hotel since it's a bit inaccessible if you don't drive or if you can't get a cab. And at night, cab in Nanjing is VERY hard to come by! We waited 2-hour or so and ended up going with a random guy on the street who hustled us for a few extra RMB, made us car-pool with a few other lost soul he found on the way, and took a bit of a detour

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM-Grace, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Zhongshan Golf & Resort Nanjing. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

According to our weak point as you mentioned that we will training our staff to improve our service of food &beverage department. and as you know ,our hotel is a resort and far away from downtown but we well arrange taxi service in advance if you ordered.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
6.1 mi away
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
Jinling Hotel Nanjing
#2 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fairmont Nanjing
Fairmont Nanjing
#1 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
#14 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
#6 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
5.7 mi away
InterContinental Nanjing
InterContinental Nanjing
#4 of 1,890 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
10.4 mi away
Renaissance Nanjing Olympic Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort

Property: Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort
Address: NO. 9 Huanling Road, Nanjing 210042, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nanjing
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
#20 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort is located in the magnificent Purple Mountain Scenic Area and the first golf hotel built to deluxe five star in Nanjing. The hotel possesses international first-rate facilities setting a new standard for modern top ranking golf hotels. It is the perfect mix of business and leisure comes together for avid golfers, holidaying families, business travellers and corporations. Within any of its 250 luxurious rooms you will find a fusion of classic Chinese charm and modern comfort. Stay connected with the world with broadband internet access while you enjoy the specialized comfort of Sofitel’s own MyBedTM which promises a decadent resting experience with its patented mattress, plump feather under-mattress and ultra-light comforter. The renovation covered major upgrades of the hotel’s restaurants, including Zijin Court, the Chinese restaurant, which is widely recognized for its innovative interpretation of traditional and popular Huaiyang-style cuisine. The Kitchen, an all-day dining restaurant has been transformed into a more comfortable and chic dining experience. With its exciting and innovative Brazilian style of cooking and serving, Wild Fire takes you to an unforgettable dining trip. Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort, with various advanced and well-equipped facilities, is the best choice for you to hold business and social activities. The newly-built pillar-less Zhongshan Ballroom with an area of 1400 square meters is able to accommodate up to 620 people for a banquet setup and up to 1200 people for cocktails setup, the hotel also features another seven meeting rooms equipped with the latest audio visual technology, including broadband internet connections and plasma televisions for video conference links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Nanjing Zhongshan Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Nanjing
Sofitel Zhongshan Hotel Nanjing
Nanjing Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing