We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple Hotel, Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Metro Hotel
Ranked #236 of 1,878 Hotels in Nanjing
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple Hotel, Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Simple small hotel. Rooms simple and adequate. A little shabby around the edges. Staff speaks limited English. Located right at the entrance to the beautiful Xuanwumen Lake with fascinating activities day and night - flying kites, Tai Chi, Opera Karaoke, Chinese checkers, dancing, boat rides. One block from the Xuanwumen subway stop. 2 blocks to a small supermarket and Starbucks. 4 blocks to "Restaurant Row."

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the entrance to the park. Great to watch people, selling, seeing ladies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maestro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    40
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
4
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We came after 9pm. The bar/karaoke that was just next to the hotel seems to be dominant. You can smell the cigarette smoke in the lobby.

Difficulties that we had was the language barrier. There was a misunderstanding on whether the room has already been paid or not. But two thumbs up for the patience and friendliness of the staffs there for the effort that they put to communicate with us. We use the google translate at the desktop at the lobby. Finally, the misunderstanding was sorted out.

And nicely, they gave us free upgrade to a bigger room. with a living room and small additional guest toilet. The bedroom area was rather spacious. Most importantly, it is clean.

The breakfast variety, available at additional charge, was rather not interesting. It is located just next to the beautiful, good for morning walk/jog.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boucle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
180 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

This is one of the many hotels in the world which are calling themselves "upper class/5star" and while nothing is wrong with them, they aren't absolutely the best. Still, nothing to complain either, you're in good hands here.

The hotel does have quite a lot of foreign guests, so they're used to speak English and "Foreign wishes" everywhere in the hotel. Not surprising as it used to be the Hilton. Internet is 50 Yuan per day. Why is it always like expensive hotels do charge for internet while 2-3 star ones offer it for free? (At least 50 Yuan is on the cheaper side from what hotels charge..)

It's slightly dated, but not yet that much that I would say avoid it. A nice refurb in 2-3 years is all it needs, right now it might even be a bit too early (given Nanjing will host the Youth Olympic games in 2014, expect everything to be "nice and new" by early 2014, not before)

The rooms are of decent size, I liked the bathroom, had good pressure even in high floor. The bed was comfy (Not Chinese-style hard bed) and pillows of decent size. I hate hotels only offering small pillows, fortunately not the case here. We had very good sleep during the night, nothing to complain here.

Good thing: They stopped playing Christmas music on the morning of the 27th December in the hotel. They also had a fake-miniature-railroad in the lobby hall. It would have been better if they had got a real one (No, a LCE isn't a ICE..) but besides that minor lapsus, the lobby is of decent size, and not too cold even in winter.

While breakfast was alright, it was far from being actually good. Probably the "worst" thing about this hotel. Eggs (sunny side up) weren't well cooked, despite us telling them to cook them longer. Might be just bad equipment (it really looked over-used)

It had quite a few items, but only very few of them being really nice, mostly average. It gets you filled up, and we eventually found some items which we found decent, but it's definitely not 5-star breakfast. Average 4-star I would say. Not bad but not shabby.

The location is MUCH better since Nanjing got the subway, it's only a 3min walk from the station, and you're quickly in the center (the Hotel is at the city walls, which is quite a bit outside, Nanjing used to be very huge already when they built the walls)

In general, the hotel doesn't fail anywhere, and thus gets 5 "points" from me. It's quite a close one, but still earned. I might stay here again in the future and will definitely check more close on some of the points that I couldn't check through this time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller201000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

It was so convenient.
I arrived at the railway station. Took the Nanjing metro to Xuanwumen station. Got out and the hotel was just 100m from the station.

The beautiful Xuanwumen lake is just at the doorstep. The shopping and eating district at Hunan Road is also within walking distance.

Hotel is clean, and meets my expectations of a 3-star hotel.
We opted not to have breakfast in the hotel, but a quick peek at the buffet told us that breakfast here is decent. At least they gave us a choice and not forced breakfast on us.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to visitors.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wandernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
1.6 mi away
Eastern Pearl Hotel
Eastern Pearl Hotel
#39 of 1,878 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
#6 of 1,878 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel
Lakeview Xuanwu Hotel
#18 of 1,878 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atour Hotel(XuanWuMen)
Atour Hotel(XuanWuMen)
#37 of 1,878 in Nanjing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jiangsu Yishiyuan Hotel
Jiangsu Yishiyuan Hotel
#93 of 1,878 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Nanjing
The Westin Nanjing
#9 of 1,878 in Nanjing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metro Hotel

Property: Grand Metro Hotel
Address: No.22-1 Xuanwumen, Gulou District, Nanjing 210037, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 1,878 Hotels in Nanjing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing