We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 366 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I found the room to be very comfortable. I like firm beds and the bed was firm, not hard. The only issue was the shower. It was technologically very advanced but tiny.

Everything was very clean in the room.

The location cannot be beat. It is right on the Barkhor so very easy to get to shops and restaurants and the Jokhang temple

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ermabom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

On the main drag but set back from the road so it is quiet and peaceful.

The Jokhang Temple is about a 10 minute walk away as are most of the half decent restaurants. There is a street market across the road each evening from about 8pm that sells the normal trinkets at about 20-25% of the daytime prices.

The rooms are clean. The hotel has patchy WiFi but it works. The staff are friendly and the Breakfasts were reasonable with a fair range.

They will happily store your bags for a few days while you hit Shigatse and Everest Base camp saving you the dramas of lugging them all over Tibet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a good, centrally located Hotel. It is a convenient location just requiring about half an hour to walk to, at ease, the Potala Palace, the Jokhang Temple and Barkhor. The Hotel provides postal services which we used but none of the letters have reached their destination (as we returned to Australia on 28 May 2014). I suppose, the postal service will take time and our beautiful postcards to friends in Australia and Europe will arrive at their destinations. The Receptionists were a delight. They were friendly, caring and always very helpful despite the constant arrivals and departures. The Room (we stayed at two different rooms at this hotel) was spacious but it was better on the second occasion. The shower cubical was difficult to operate in the first room. The breakfast venue was in the Hotel precinct and one had to step out of the hotel to reach it.We were pleased with what was offered. We found a little Kiosk (turn left at Hotel entrance and walk down for about 10 minutes) selling tasty, hot sponge cakes. There is always a queue in front which is an indication of quality and freshness of what is sold. There are plenty of restaurants in Barkhor St which serve good food at a very reasonable price, (Yak meat dishes were good) and the local Beer is very good. Once again, good, clean hotel and great service from the Staff, especially at Reception. There is a foreign exchange and Souvenir Shop and the young lady was very willing to explain the wares sold especially the Dzee (?) Beads, a typical product of Tibet. We were privileged to be in Tibet and enjoyed every moment of our stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airamSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The location of this hotel is great. Once we got our bearings with our guide, we were able to walk through the neighborhood to Jokhang temple and Barkhor street.

The best item on the breakfast buffet was a dark brown, very moist cake. I've included a picture - make sure to try it! It was a bit of a hassle to have to get the buffet slip of paper from the front desk and then walk down the hall and hand it to the girl at the restaurant. One morning I handed in my slip and then had to return to my room. Then I got to try to explain to the girl that I had already given her my slip of paper. There is a fresh cooked egg station - just ignore the filthy wall behind the chef and the state of the chef's jacket. One morning there was banana pancakes that were very good.

We did eat at the restaurant one night ... big mistake. When no one was there, we should have known better and tried our luck on the street. We had what the English translation said was a "big plate of chicken." It was mainly potatoes with a scrawny chicken neck cut into tiny chunks. In case you are wondering, no there is no meat on a chicken neck - especially not one this little.

The hotel is not heated at all. There is an air-conditioner in every room but that only helps when it is hot, it does not provide hear when it is cold. Initially, our room felt cold but we acclimated and in the end it was OK. We did request and received extra comforters. We also did not use the fan in the bathroom and closed the curtains immediately to try and provide some extra insulation from the cold outside.

I was aware ahead of time that some hotels in Tibet would not have heat so we did come prepared. I had comfy fleece pajamas and socks. We also brought along Therma Care muscle relief heat wraps. We did not need the heat wraps here but did use them later in our trip.

The shower was very high tech with multiple heads but the water was only warm (not hot). The carpet in the room was not even vacuumed and yet they check the room when you check out. The carpet in the halls is not properly laid and is full of ripples. In some places in the hall the carpet is simply cut off, leaving raw edges. They claim to have wi-fi in the lobby and I could connect but could not even access email.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2togoNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Arrived at the hotel in the afternoon after a long journey expecting more but it was a very basic hotel. Beds were very hard which we found out later is quite normal in tibet. Location was great for the main jockhang temple area. Tourist area and resturants are in abundance. Wifi only available in lobby and 2nd floor resturant. We ate in the resturant and it was very good so if you do not want the hustle and bustle of finding somewhere else the food is very good. Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired, mainly Chinese options and basic boiled egg and toast. Well adequate would be our conclusion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heleca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights as part of our tour through Tibet. This hotel is relatively clean, staff are reasonably helpful and can speak English, the lobby and public spaces are not heated and sometimes smell of cigarette.
Room: reasonably clean, the carpet is a little dirty, no smells, bed sheets and blanket was clean, everything works, the air-conditioner did not have a thermostat/temperature control and you can only choose low/med/high air flow.
Bathroom: clean, good supply of hot water, good water pressure, amenities provided.
Breakfast: a decent selection for Tibet, food quality was ok could be better, varies from day to day, some day it's mostly Chinese options with toast and eggs to others with bacon, fried potatoes etc
Service: good for China and Tibet, we noticed that most guests are foreign nationals and staff are fluent in English.
Location: good, on main road and in Tibetan area of Lhasa, 5 min walk to Jokang, 10minutes walk to Potala. Near lots of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The location is just amazing yet it is not noisy. The famous Barkhor street and its lively market is just steps away from the hotel and lots of other small restaurants and shops are around. The hotel is done up in Tibetan style...loud colors..gold, red etc. Our room was very spacious, a double one with large windows that had a nice view of the front porch. Beds were a little hard but lot of people prefer hard beds and I didn't mind either. AC wasn't very effective.The breakfast is decent; a combo of Continental and Tibetan. We had to collect our breakfast coupons everyday. The most helpful things were the two stores on the hotel lobby. One was a medical store that had a Dr on call 24/7 and sold small oxygen cans for emergency relief to any visitor who felt uncomfortable due to the high altitude and the other store sold jewelries, water, soda. beer, instant noodles and oxygen cans. Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bidisha_bagchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.1 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 366 in Lhasa
115 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 366 in Lhasa
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 366 in Lhasa
114 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel

Address: No.83 Beijing East Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Region: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 366 Hotels in Lhasa
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tibet Gang-Gyan Lhasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing