We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of LaSa ChuFang

LaSa ChuFang
Ranked #6 of 98 Restaurants in Lhasa
Cuisines: Asian, Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.chinahighlights.com/lhasa/lhasa-kitchen.htm
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit of everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Tibetan, Indian, Nepalese, chinese - you can eat all of that there and most of it is ok. The price is average, some meals can be a bit weird (chicken Tandoori for example). we preferred the Indian dishes with Daal, curry, Naan or rice. You will get more authentic food elsewhere...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Masihasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    69
    43
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
229 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“OK but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

It's main positive is it's position close to the Bharkor in the old town, so many a foot-weary group of foreigners end up here. And also, it has a number of western dishes on the menu.
Service was slow, food was acceptable, but I thought it was a little overpriced for what I got. Just a point, one of our group ended up with tummy trouble after having eaten here (a western dish). My recommendation is to stick to local dishes when in their countries - you're more likely to get something that is properly cooked as they are familiar with the preparation, and ingredients are not likely to have been sitting in a freezer or fridge for ages.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angtravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
407 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Nice set up, decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Lhasa kitchen is a safe bet to get a decent meal and a variety of dishes catering to most peoples needs. It has a mix of asian and western dishes, of decent quality and reasonable prices.The service is a little slow, so don't go if you're in a rush. The restaurant is reasonably well done and clean, and comes across as warm and cosy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Lhasa kitchen is just opposite the Jokhang temple, food is very tasty and good. The Yak steak that I like the most it taste difference from other restaurant, we tried many dish and share with our friend, all taste very nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EricMiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackheath NSW
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We Kept Going Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

A delightful restaurant with a range of excellent Tibetan, Chinese and Western dishes. This can probably become rather touristy in high season but in the winter we were happy to see Tibetan friends and families enjoying Lhasa Kitchen.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LaSa ChuFang also viewed

 

Been to LaSa ChuFang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing