We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight security can be improved further”
Review of Dekang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dekang Hotel
Ranked #11 of 366 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a total of 5 nights while travelling within and out of Lhasa. This hotel is located close to Jokhang Temple. It was the choice of my agency.

Rated 4 for the friendly and helpful service from the reception, especially the guy who helped me make a call to Nepal and arranged for a heater in the room (I found out later he was in some supervisory/authority position though I did not get his name). I felt thankful for his kind attention.

When I first arrived, I felt a little disoriented and the dim lights in the room did not help. The room decor was dated but size wise was okay. There was hot bath water and wi fi was accessible from the room and the lobby. You can also ask for extra blankets. I must say that overall, the staff at the reception were helpful. However, overnight security at the hotel entrance was too lax and definitely should be strengthened further.

The restaurant food was alright. The chef from Nepal was pretty affable and you could ask him for recommendations.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our two nights here recently were very comfortable. The hotel is Tibetan and the service warm and friendly and the rooms comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good - the omelette chef is legend! The hotel is within 5 minutes walking distance to Jokhang Monastery, the Barkhor and about 15 minutes to Potala Palace via the market street opposite Jokhang. It is also close to the Muslim Quarter. The view of Potala Palace from the rooftop bar on the 5th floor is breathtaking - the bar was under renovation while we were there but they kindly let us on to the roof for photos. Of note is the amazing noodle shop next door. Delicious spicy noodles at 3rmb a bowl and 2rmb for a plate of spicy potato 'fries'.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xingming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed there in fall 2013 as part of a tour and found it disgusting. The bathroom rug had never been cleaned, our room produced a silverfish, and a cockroach showed up in someone else's. The lobby ceiling sprung a leak and the upstairs hall carpet - again NEVER cleaned - was soaked. The lights in the halls are practically nonexistent, which is a good thing. Find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KDO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Spacious clean room. We had an extra bed in a twin room and there's still room to move about.

Hotel breakfast is ok, but we liked the butter tea here than anywhere else in Lhasa.

Staff is friendly and helpful. They are able to speak English and Chinese.

Wifi is available on lobby, reception in the room varies depending on location.

Next to the hotel is a small noodle shop with long queue everyday. There's a few grocery shop and eateries outside of the hotel. You can even walk further up the Main Street for more food and groceries. Walking to barkhor street takes about 10-15min, we referred to the map and walked through the alleys.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwaynefoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I was with a tour group who chooses Tibetan run hotels whilst travelling in Tibet rather than Chinese. Friendly staff, Internet in lobby and 2nd floor. Breakfast food with great omelettes if you have the Nepalese chef and a short walk to the Barkhor which is where you want to be as a tourist.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debsjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here after living in Lhasa for almost 2 years, having passed this hotel almost daily we decided to stay here before leaving Lhasa. I have to say for the price you pay it is a decent hotel, Tibetan style decoration and friendly staff.
They can work on the cleanliness of the rooms though, the lobby was a bit cold and breakfast was so so, but overall value for money.
Only problem was we were asked to move out due to the full occupancy of the hotel, even though we booked in advance for 2 weeks, we moved to the Yak Hotel.

Room Tip: Not all standard rooms are the same size, there are some nice rooms, very spacious with sofa area, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Hadn't heard of the Dekang hotel before we arrived in Lhasa as part of a tour, but were really glad we stayed there. The restaurant was great and the food was also good. The staff were very helpful and most knew quite a bit of English (useful when you don't speak Chinese or Tibetan!). The rooms were comfortable (better than in Beijing!), and internet access was provided via ethernet cable in the rooms which made it very robust compared with the fragile connections experienced elsewhere. The hotel staff were so friendly and very helpful, I would certainly stay there again, given the chance!

Room Tip: My son and I shared a twin bedded room on the top floor - great double aspect bedroom with lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.5 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 366 in Lhasa
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 366 in Lhasa
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 366 in Lhasa
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
3.6 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#12 of 366 in Lhasa
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
#1 of 366 in Lhasa
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekang Hotel

Address: No.2 Shengtai Road, Lhasa, China
Region: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range: £56 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dekang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekang Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing