We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok but not more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jokhang Temple Cool Yak Hotel
Ranked #171 of 366 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel is in a good location, breakfast is good, rooms to the rear are quiet, internet connection is good. The rooms are also absolutely freezing, the beds hard and uncomfortable, staff are just about friendly but don't go out of their way to make the stay a nice one. I'd rather try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GudrunK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here after we bailed out of another hotel in Lhasa: the rooms were a bit small but good enough- definitely NOT a luxury hotel, but given the price and location we thought it was a good choice. No lifts, but try and stay on the 2nd floor or above as the ground floor rooms were noisier and the ones on the end of the hall smelled bad. Given the choices in Lhasa, we all thought this was a pretty good hotel for a good price. The location made it easy to get into the older part of Lhasa as well as may of the other interesting little streets nearby. There is a nice western bar and restaurant right next to the hotel that is run but a Dutch couple and a wonderful Nalapese manager...we normally try to stay away from westernized places but this bar and the restaurant downstairs was really comfortable....great cocktails and equally good breakfasts.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank PKChang8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The problem with this hotel, as other people have said, is that it is right on the main road and we formed the opinion that Lhasa vehicles have their horns on some sort of permanent automatic sounding. having said that, we asked to be moved, and that happened the next day, into the quieter rear block. The other problem, if on the third or fourth floor is that, at altitude, every time you climb the stairs, you end up gasping for breath the first couple of days.
All that said, the rooms were brilliant, the breakfast room was adequate, and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteDavies_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Rooms were ok, Internet available and Breakfast was also good. Location was very good in the city center in walking distance to the tourist spots, but sometimes a little noisy. Given the price it was a very good experience..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loeslein_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is an OK hotel for me. It's a regular hotel, good breakfast options, but I guess it's rather too touristy for me. But it's central location and you can walk everywhere nearby.

Was getting the hotel because the last one was full. Ask for the room inside the complex if not it would be too noisy. Breakfast is nice on the rooftop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel is located in one the busiest road of Lhasa which can be a bit noisy depending on the room you pick, ask for the back ones. Also, the hotel has 4 floors and has no lift.The service is good, the breakfast has lots of options, but for meals go to the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My stay at The Yak Hotel has been prearranged as a part of my tour of Tibet. It is considered a “Tourist Class” hotel and is centrally located but on one of the main busy streets in town.

There is a lot of construction going on around the city and The Yak does not escape the noise from it even at 2am. Besides the construction noise it seems that drivers here have a fascination with their horns which you will not necessarily appreciate if you have one of the street facing rooms.

Everyone in our tour group ended up with one of these but the property has inside hall rooms and rooms further away from the street which would probably be more desirable. However, I am told the front rooms are better appointed.

My room is spacious with nice bathroom facilities although my bed is a bit firm and so are the pillows. The room does have nice light blocking curtains which you will probably appreciate your first day here if you arrive by train from Beijing.

The staff at the hotel speaks limited English which can lead to a few things being lost in translation. For example, one clerk told us they do not have internet service but with further questioning she tells us that they do have Wi-Fi. I guess it would help if we spoke Chinese.

The Yak does offer a nice breakfast buffet with an omelet station which is included in the price of our tour. Located on the rooftop, you will probably be out of breathe and exhausted by the time you get there after climbing a healthy set of stairs.

Room Tip: Select Inside Hall Room Or One At Back Of Property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
0.6 mi away
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
#1 of 366 in Lhasa
506 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
1.1 mi away
Yilu Xiangxi Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Hotel Lhasa Duodilu
0.3 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 366 in Lhasa
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jokhang Temple Cool Yak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jokhang Temple Cool Yak Hotel

Address: No.6 Xiasasu Zangyi Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Region: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 366 Hotels in Lhasa
Price Range: £17 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jokhang Temple Cool Yak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jokhang Temple Cool Yak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jokhang Temple Cool Yak Hotel Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing