We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in Lhasa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tibet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tibet Hotel
Ranked #45 of 338 Hotels in Lhasa
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Lhasa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a gem of a hotel. Spent a few days there. It is luxurious for Tibet. I love seeing the Dalai Lama's summer and winter palaces and the Buddhist temples. I bought a prayer wheel in a high quality shop. There are great mom and pop shops for silk clothing and all kinds of neat things. The hotel will sell you small oxygen tanks to carry with you for about $5 each. Not a bad idea to buy one for the first day or two until you get used to the very thin air. The people are very sweet natured.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmgordonphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    30
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
7
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had 3 nights here and it was just fine, good location & secure with restaurants nearby.
Bed was hard which is normal for China & Tibet. Western toilets, heating/cooling and staff with some English skills. Would stay again no problem.
Tip: ALWAYS have ear plugs for sleeping in Tibet!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collieparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This 'place' would have been marginal for 1 night, but unacceptable for 3 nights. We should have checked out of this 'hotel', but the political situation & our strange tour 'guide' would have made the move interesting. There are several new modern hotels in town, so tour operators should be passing on this dump. The only positive thing was the size of the rooms.
Negatives: non-helpful front desk people, 1 person was somewhat helpful & spoke english.
limited western food for breakfast & we had to chase down our own coffee.
NO dinner service. Our 'guide' took us across the street 2 nights. We revolted & said we are not eating there again. We ate in town from then on.
very noisy west wing street side of the hotel.
There's more, but you get the picture..

Room Tip: DO NOT stay on the westwing side facing the road. There is a building close to these rooms where pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Tibet Hotel, Lhasa is one of the best hotels I have stayed in on my tour of Tibet. The rooms are large with excellent facilities. Breakfasts are buffet style with a large selection of western and eastern foods. Endless cups of coffee are what this traveller needed. The staff are most helpful and gracious. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkAS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel is a large hotel that seems to cater to large bus groups. There is no wifi and the heating was set to high and the room was hot, the bed was as hard as hell. The safe in the room wasn't working and the safe wasn't bolted to anything. There were dogs barking all night and cats howling and the walls were thin and could hear our neighbours as plane as day. There is smoking allowed in the rooms but not in the bed. Staff service was average and made no effort at all with any queries. Look for better. When arriving and driving in the first impressions are that this hotel is closed and derelict and you need to drive behind the main building scary for a solo traveller.

Room Tip: Get street side would be cooler and less dogs but lose some view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chooker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We're a tour group of five from Hong Kong. We travelled to Tibet from 18th Augus to 1 Sep for 15 days. The local tourist company arranged us to stay on the 2nd floor of the VIP building of Tibet Hotel after a long journey on 12 hours train with delay arrival. The rooms were big and comfortable, can access free internet too. Weather was fine, so we could open the window for fresh air. Good hot water was provided 24 hours for shower. Bedding was good too. I had good sleeps there for the two days. Breakfast was in above average China standard. Restaurant is on ground floor with buffet. They provided coffee only as you request from the waitress.

Taxi fee from Tibet Hotel to the city centre, "Palace" and Shopping street was about RMB15. However, taxi also took other passengers if not full. If peak hours, like 7pm, it's so diffucut to hire a taxi. They were not follow the fares in the meter but by negotiiation. It's a bit annoying and stressful for the transportation back to hotel.

The hotel also provided free baggage storing service. We left some stuff in the front desk as we moved to the east part of tibet on the following days. As we came back after the trip, we really feel that we had gone home again. Stayed one more day on 4th floor for rest and shopping , then we checked out again and continued our trip to the south part of Tibet, Lin Gee.

I'd would stay in Tibet Hotel if I went to Lhasa again. As my tourist guide says, Tibet hotel is the best in Lhasa, better than Holiday Inn Hotel.

Room Tip: VIP building of Tibet hotel, better standard for western travellers and VIPs. Rooms in higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noelleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

It is not very close to Potala Palace. i think it situated in west part of Lhasa. not the center.

But it is near Lorbu Lingka. it is ok for me. as we do not want to live very close to Lhasa, it is a little loud.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronbk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
2.8 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#3 of 338 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fengchao Hotel
Fengchao Hotel
#177 of 338 in Lhasa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#13 of 338 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.4 mi away
Xueyu Tiantang International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tibet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibet Hotel

Property: Tibet Hotel
Address: No.12 Beijing West Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850001, China
Region: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
#17 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tibet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tibet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Lhasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing