We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No non-smoking”
Review of Tibet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tibet Hotel
Ranked #106 of 366 Hotels in Lhasa
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Neutral rating as I left almost immediately after being advised my earlier request for a non-smoking room could not be met because they don't do non-smoking rooms.

The room however was nicely appointed and the duty manager pleasant and understanding.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank RogerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is located in the modern part of Lhasa, about 3 km away from the old city and the main tourist attractions, it is in a nice, quiet park. They only serve breakfast but there are plenty of good and cheap restaurants outside the complex. WiFi only in the lobby but rooms have a wire internet access. Clean rooms and friendly staff

Room Tip: Take a room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a gem of a hotel. Spent a few days there. It is luxurious for Tibet. I love seeing the Dalai Lama's summer and winter palaces and the Buddhist temples. I bought a prayer wheel in a high quality shop. There are great mom and pop shops for silk clothing and all kinds of neat things. The hotel will sell you small oxygen tanks to carry with you for about $5 each. Not a bad idea to buy one for the first day or two until you get used to the very thin air. The people are very sweet natured.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rmgordonphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had 3 nights here and it was just fine, good location & secure with restaurants nearby.
Bed was hard which is normal for China & Tibet. Western toilets, heating/cooling and staff with some English skills. Would stay again no problem.
Tip: ALWAYS have ear plugs for sleeping in Tibet!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collieparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This 'place' would have been marginal for 1 night, but unacceptable for 3 nights. We should have checked out of this 'hotel', but the political situation & our strange tour 'guide' would have made the move interesting. There are several new modern hotels in town, so tour operators should be passing on this dump. The only positive thing was the size of the rooms.
Negatives: non-helpful front desk people, 1 person was somewhat helpful & spoke english.
limited western food for breakfast & we had to chase down our own coffee.
NO dinner service. Our 'guide' took us across the street 2 nights. We revolted & said we are not eating there again. We ate in town from then on.
very noisy west wing street side of the hotel.
There's more, but you get the picture..

Room Tip: DO NOT stay on the westwing side facing the road. There is a building close to these rooms where pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Tibet Hotel, Lhasa is one of the best hotels I have stayed in on my tour of Tibet. The rooms are large with excellent facilities. Breakfasts are buffet style with a large selection of western and eastern foods. Endless cups of coffee are what this traveller needed. The staff are most helpful and gracious. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkAS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel is a large hotel that seems to cater to large bus groups. There is no wifi and the heating was set to high and the room was hot, the bed was as hard as hell. The safe in the room wasn't working and the safe wasn't bolted to anything. There were dogs barking all night and cats howling and the walls were thin and could hear our neighbours as plane as day. There is smoking allowed in the rooms but not in the bed. Staff service was average and made no effort at all with any queries. Look for better. When arriving and driving in the first impressions are that this hotel is closed and derelict and you need to drive behind the main building scary for a solo traveller.

Room Tip: Get street side would be cooler and less dogs but lose some view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chooker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
3.1 mi away
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
St. Regis Lhasa Resort
#1 of 366 in Lhasa
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
3.4 mi away
Yilu Xiangxi Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Hotel Lhasa Duodilu
2.8 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 366 in Lhasa
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tibet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibet Hotel

Address: No.12 Beijing West Road, Chengguan District, Lhasa 850001, China
Region: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range: £36 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tibet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tibet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Lhasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing