We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks very Majestic”
Review of Potala Palace

Potala Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$102.00*
and up
Half- Day Potala Palace Tour from Lhasa
Ranked #1 of 58 Tours in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The residence of the Dalai Lama is an immense religious structure and a masterpiece of Tibetan architecture.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Looks very Majestic”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It is an absolute treat to walk up to the upper reaches of this lovely edifice. Tiring but fulfilling and steeped in history !! Wish the Chinese Govt would open out more of the rooms for the public to see - particularly in the White Quarter. Took some lovely snaps of this at night. Amazing when lit up.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SBSLidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,421
    327
    63
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the highlight of my holiday to China and Tibet. I had seen so many photos of the palace but was unprepared for the overwhelming emotional feeling once actually being there. It was a very humid day when we climbed up the very steep steps and slopes to the top of the Red Palace. The steps to the last few floors were exceptionally steep and I was glad of my walking pole. A few members of our party decided not to attempt it due to the heat and altitude. The views at the top were fantastic as were the tombs of the previous Dali Llamas. It was certainly an achievement to have made it to the top. Allow a good 3 hours and be prepared to be inundated at the bottom by dozens of locals trying to get you to buy their wares.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank candt1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Off the bucket list!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Walking to the top of the Potala Palace was a once in a life time experience. Be prepared for lots and lots of steps of varying height. Some of our tour members were not prepared for how strenuous the climb would be plus always the altitude issue in Tibet to consider. The Palace itself is wonderful .... so many beautiful things to see and a guide added so much more to the experience, Only negatives are the great crowds and overwhelming smell of incense. If you are like me and incense makes you feel ill remember to bring a face mask.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
855 reviews
519 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“Like a Dream”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was unsure if I would actually make it to Tibet - I got word that I (along with my small group) would be allowed into Tibet just one day prior. Once inside Tibet, my guide took care of all of my paperwork to enter the Potala Palace. The 300+ steps I had to climb to access the palace was intense. With 13 floors and more than 1,000 rooms, this is simply an awesome feat of human engineering especially considering construction began in the 7th century and lasted 10 centuries. The interior is surreal. The large stupas (over 20 feet high, covered in tens of thousands of kilos of gold and precious stones) are incredible. There is so much to see/absorb here, it would take days, if not weeks to truly take it all in.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank backpacker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

An obvious attraction not to be missed...but will also not disappoint.

There are about 300 stairs to get to the palace and the oldies in out group seriously struggled with the climb. The rest of us did it without breaking a sweat...but be warned.

Would love to be here in the time when the whole town gets together and volunteers to paint the palace.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potala Palace also viewed

 

Been to Potala Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing