We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia
Ranked #113 of 340 Hotels in Lhasa
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Good hotel but you must be prepare to accept chinese type food, dont expect a 5 starts european or western hotel. Food in the restaurant was good but chinese style, staff try their best but you must not be in an hurry.

You are getting a good deal for the price, 300 rmb a night, we did not like the first room they showed us, we where 3 so they moved us to another one. YOU must remenber that in china they will help you but very often you have to make a fuss...in the most pleasant way but a fuss anyway.

I think they cant get the staff so half of the time they dont understant what you want, Remenber that these people have probably never been out of llasa...never mind Tibet or china.


it will also depends if you have contact with Tibetant OR Chinese HAN...these later do not work well with Tibetant as they try to force themself into their country so staff problems arrize.

We found Tibetant people helphfull and chinese one suspicious of us....so it is pot luck most of the time.

Our room was ok ,would not stay there again unless the staff problems are sorted.
BUT certainely worth a visit if only once.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    37
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
18
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, CA 94015
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel was arranged by the travel agent for the private tour. The guest rooms are small. the towels were an absolute disgrace, The breakfast area was not very pleasant. Due to the slow season, at that time only had 8 guest rooms, so they don't want to cook and with poor quality offerings. The location is not in the center & taxi to downtown cost Yuan 10.00. The guest rooms are very dirty such as dust on furniture & shower mat with black mold. Espeically the carpet, is extremelly dirty & really disgusting. We requested to switch to another room after they had vacuumed the carpet & changed the bed linens. They had let us to checked all the guests room to see which one we like it. Somehow, they all the same. This hotel definitely needs remodel. We supposed stay there for 3 nights & had asked agency changed the hotel for next 2 nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannahsu1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have been there for just one night in low season, paid 300rmb incl. bf.

- 30 minutes walk to city centre.
+ room was warm, big enough.
+ bath was clean, smallish but okay,
- breakfast is a desaster (in any regards)
- service is quite slow
- hotel seemed state run to me
+ chin. restaurant was okay

Room Tip: I had a room to the back of the building, which would have been silent, if neighbours would not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vielreisende R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melle , Belgium
Level Contributor
189 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

You can have your doubts about if this hotel is a museum or a hotel. They are both but I can imagine that some customers have a problem with the museum part. There are about 10000 parts exposed and makes the hotel a bit overdone.
The hotel claims to be a 5 star hotel which can be right on Chinese standards. If you know a bit what they think is normal for that kind of hotel then you can understand this quotation. For ex. Chinese people think two times vacuuming per week is more than enough , making a lot of noise when you go to your room , even late in the evening , is no exception.
Also that personnel is not speaking English is the standard. For paying I have to show my credit card , next to my room nr. since the simple sentence 'Can I have the bill for room ...' only gives me 2 surprised faces on the reception desk. Same problem in the restaurant where only 1 person (Nepalese) is speaking English. So if you need something, look for him, so he can give instructions.
So if you are a bit flexible then this is a very good hotel, if not stay away because you will have a nerve crisis.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IVE-Melle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have selected this hotel based reviews on internet, although our tour guide arranged another hotel. We never regret our choice.
The lobby has nice Tibetan decorations and the hotel has a great exhibition of Tibitan art and many pictures provide some information about the history. The rooms are clean with OK facilities, the first 3 nights we were up-grated to a suit, which was very nice. The hotel restaurant serves very good breakfast with a wide range of selections and lots of fruits. The dinner was also good with good service and not overly expensive. The waiter is from Nepal, he speaks perfect English and is very good in understanding and fulfilling guests´ requirements.
The location of the hotel is a bit far away from the city center, and we had some problem to find a taxi. However, since the hotel restaurant was good and we were tired due to high altitude, it was not a major issue for us staying in the hotel after a whole day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
330 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This huge hotel is a place of art and the Thibetan art decorates every corridor and public area. Room-wise is very good with tasty decorated big rooms. Free internet available.
Almost NO english is spoken tghough and is not going to be spoken in the future since now the bulk of clients are Chinese (like everywhere).
It is already 10 years old and in some case this is visible. IT remains nevertheless a solid good option in Lhasa.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here 3 nights as part of a 2-week group holiday. The hotel is very welcoming - we were given the welcome scarf and a 4-person Tibetan dance on arrival; the whole hotel is full of ancient artifacts and treasures collected by the owner. The bed was huge (over 7ft wide) and the room was very Tibetan, which I loved. However, there were no shelves, no drawers for things like tshirts, underwear etc and the lights were too dim to read by, other than at the desk. Personally, I like to write my diary and read my book in bed last thing at night and this wasn't possible. My room faced onto the main road which was very noisy, cars and lorries hooting until 3.30 a.m. Nevertheless, because Tibet was the whole reason I went to China at all, I loved my stay here as the base for visiting Potala Palace, Sera Monastery etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsetadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
1.2 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#5 of 340 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shambhala Palace
Shambhala Palace
#6 of 340 in Lhasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fengchao Hotel
Fengchao Hotel
#178 of 340 in Lhasa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lhasa Manasarovar Hotel
Lhasa Manasarovar Hotel
#41 of 340 in Lhasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taicheng Hotel
Taicheng Hotel
#32 of 340 in Lhasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia

Property: Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia
Address: Building B, Yangcheng Plaza, Gongbutang Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Region: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia Hotel Lhasa
Hotel Yaluzangbu Grand
Brahmaputra Grand Hotelhmcc Dia Lhasa, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing