We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Highs and One Low - but it was worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
Ranked #3 of 344 Hotels in Lhasa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Three Highs and One Low - but it was worth it!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I arrived in Lhasa after spending three days in Beijing, one day in Chengdu, another one in Linzi (2600 km above sea level) before arriving in Lhasa (4000 km above sea level) and checked into this lovely hotel right away for an afternoon of rest. Despite taking medication in BJ upon arrival, unfortunately the free oxygen lounge in the hotel was good but not much help. Thankfully there was a doctor who works 24/7 and on examination, announced that I was suffering from typical altitude sickness of 3 highs and 1 low - high in blood pressure, high in heart rate and high in pulse rate but low in oxygen inside me - only 74%. There's no option to take further medications and ordered a cylinder of oxygen so I can rest and take in oxygen at the same time. Splendid. The rooms are simple yet adequate for their purposes. The buffet caters for all tastes and the staff were ever so friendly and attentive. There's a view of a mountain range just in front of the hotel, ideal for watching the sun set. The surrounding area is peaceful and tranquil but at the same time shops are never far away. Both check in and out were efficient and quick. There's a small but functional business centre. I was able to use its computer to amend a speech of mine and have it printed - for free. I've been told it is the best hotel in the city and there's a lot of visitors around, that's for sure but the place was not crowded at all. Heaven on earth, definitely.

Room Tip: An upgrade to a room with a garden view and a complimentary bowl of exotic fruits would be very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barnabas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    72
    36
    9
    13
See reviews for
46
101
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Really nice hotel, rooms are modern with discreet local touch. Staff is helpful and meals good. Breakfast options are very wide. There is oxygen salon on the first floor to adapt with high altitude. Also other amenities, including pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarisLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Walking into the Shangri-La you are greeted with a warm friendly welcome. The hotel is immaculate, cool and trendy. The staff is wonderful and although there is a language barrier at times they will do their best to take care of you. The rooms are beautiful and modern. The altitude may get to you but they offer a lovely oxygen "bar" to relax in to help you adapt, it's open 24 hours. The pool that just opened was an oasis. There is not a better place to stay in Lhasa!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynThomas67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Shangri La Hotel in Lhasa at it was absolutely beautiful to say the least!! The food was wonderful, their breakfast has an omelet bar along with anything you would want for a Western style breakfast along with An extensive selection of Chinese food. Fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice, pastries and much much more! We decided to get a massage in the evening, and they were extremely accomodating and the masage was just what we needed! They have a wonderful oxygen lounge area by the indoor pool, spa, and gymnasium. So, if the altitude is getting to you, you can go to the oxygen lounge and hang out with a book or your iPad etc. it is open 24 hours and really works!!! It is for sure a 5 star hotel and then some!!! Well worth the money!! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashell4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were amazed at the welcome and hospitality of the staff at this beautiful and comfortable new hotel in Lhasa. We were greeted with white scarfs of welcome when we arrived by the lovely female members of staff We were treated like family and our every comfort was seen to. Just ask and its done! Felt like I was in paradise. Our room was just like the photos show. Our shower had this seat you could sit and relax on with a large bowl fixed to the seat which was for some kind of spiritual use as it could be filled up and would overflow to the shower floor. It had its own drain too. Not to be disrespectful but you could wash your dainties in it if desired. The restaurant was great with everything you could ever want. Unfortunately I was ill on the next day after arrival with gastro-intestinal problems. My friend brought me plain toast and ginger ale which the staff helped facilitate and luckily I mustered myself by the next day to resume my visit to the city.
I had 2 massages at the Chi Spa. I love massages and these were lovely. The massuse brings out about 7 different oils for you to choose from and serves you tea while you choose. Then she escorts you to the massage room which is the ultimate in beauty( see their pictures) brings back my memory!!!! aaahh. The experience is wonderful and relaxing. Cost $$$. How many times do you go to Lhasa?
I did OK with the altitude as we prepared ahead of time with medications. But there is a lovely oxygen lounge with lie down chairs you could be very comfortable with. Some members in our tour took advantage of oxygen tanks which could be purchased and used in your room. A nurse and doctor were available at the hotel which other tour members said was very good as they used the service.
The hotel is the ultimate in spaciousness and the lobby lounge is candle lit in the evening! Sooo lovely! Truly an excellent hotel and experience while visiting Lhasa, Tibet.

Room Tip: The room was perfect! The only problem is getting tired when walking long distances. This hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Arriving to an elevation of 12000 feet above sea level can be a shock to your system but fear not, there's an Oxygen bar! The rooms and amenities are lovely but the service is even better! Try the yak burger only available from room service! We were there for three days prior to the trek to Mt Everest Base Camp (almost 18000 ft). On our return to the Shangri-la in Lhasa we were greeted like long lost family. Truly a wonderful place!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PegJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This is clearly the place to stay in Lhasa. The staff is amazing, the hotel is incredibly comfortable. We had massages in the spa and then spent some time in the oxygen lounge. I didn't really think much of the oxygen bar until we left to go back to our room and then I felt the altitude. This is a great feature given the location. The breakfast was great and I only wished we would have had more time to enjoy everything the place has to offer. If you are going to Lhasa stay at the Shangai-La.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoney89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lhasa hotels
5.3 mi away
InterContinental Lhasa Paradise
2.1 mi away
House Of Shambhala
House Of Shambhala
#2 of 344 in Lhasa
104 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lhasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tashitakge Hotel
Tashitakge Hotel
#4 of 344 in Lhasa
87 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jardin Secret Hotel
Jardin Secret Hotel
#31 of 344 in Lhasa
62 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Tibet Gang-gyan Lhasa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa
Address: 19 Norbulingka Road, Lhasa 850000, China
Region: China > Tibet > Lhasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lhasa
#8 Best Value Hotel in Lhasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within walking distance to Potala Palace and Norbulingka Palace. Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa has 289 contemporary guestrooms and 10 long stay apartments. Some of which offer views of the Potala Palace, start from 43 square meters and are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing