We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing collection of carvings”
Review of Mas Carving Center

Mas Carving Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Private Ubud Tour
Ranked #92 of 489 Shopping in Bali
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mas Village is a village of art with a focus on carving of wood sculptures. It is situated in Ubud District and Gianyar Regency has a distinctive style in the art carving of wood sculptures that promotes characteristic synergy of humanism and naturalism. The fame of this village as a village of art has been recognized nationally and internationally which can not be separated from the greatness name of some maestros who born, growth and find their identities and spirit of art in Mas Village like the famous artist, Ida bagus Tilem (deceased) and others.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing collection of carvings”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I was taken by my driver to one of the stores at this village and was very impressed at the quality of craftsmanship. They claimed to use high quality wood like crocodile and ebony. The prices were quite expensive but somewhat negotiable. They knocked the price the carving I was interested in by about 20% but did not seem willing to go lower than that. I ended up buying a "Bali Opera Queen Mask" made of crocodile wood. Definitely worth checking out if you're willing to pay for a quality carving.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Elijah_Lamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
254 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“This Is Where Talent Resides”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

As part of a group, it was almost guaranteed that we would be taken to Mas Village. As soon as you step off the bus you see how talented these men and women truly are. There are carvers at work outside and you see all of the finished pieces upon stepping inside the shop. Although there are several affordable pieces, most of the work there is quite pricey. If I'm being honest, it's also meant to be purchased by those for whom money is no object. Several members of my group made purchases but I did not. I tried to negotiate on a piece for a friend but they refused my price. So...I walked away. And...several days later I honestly regretted it. What I missed the most was the fact that I wanted a souvenir that said "Bali" and most of their pieces did not. Had I purchased the piece I wanted through them, they could have asked the carver to engrave the word "Bali" on the piece right then and there.

My recommendation: if you spot a piece you love and have to have, do NOT hesitate to negotiate the price. Most of all, don't walk out unless you purchase it. You will come across some general pieces throughout other stores in Ubud, but the truly unique pieces are hard to find.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank appetite4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only certain galleries are worth your time”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The Mas Village outside Ubud does have many galleries. But only a few is worth your time if you are a serious collector of wood sculptures. I would recommend the Manis Gallery (huge collection of master-pieces and works by anonymous carvers), the Tilem Gallery (small collection of mostly expensive master-pieces) and the private huge gallery of master carver Wayan Mudana (truly a genius). There is also a huge gallery of quality pieces in the Taksu Bali Gallery in Peliatan (opposite the babi guling restaurant). The pieces by anonymous carvers are very reasonably list-priced. You can easily get a 50% discount. If you are willing to spend USD1000, you can get a museum-quality sculpture that will delight you for life. They can take care of shipping for you too at very reasonable cost. If you are not buying wood sculptures in Ubud, you have come here for nothing. There is really nothing much to do here in Ubud except Yoga and body massage. The art market near the Ubud center is a dump that you should skip completely unless you are interested in penis-shaped key chains.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank kkfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great experience and beautiful carvings”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We spent a good couple of hours wandering around Mas and found it to be a great place to find some beautiful and unique items.

Definitely worth a look if you are in the Ubud region.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RafKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1,184 reviews
545 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“God given talent”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

It is believed that the skill of puppetry and woodcarving was bestowed upon craftsmen of the village of Mas by the Gods themselves.
The towns and villages of central Bali Ubud, Mas, Celuk (Silver and Gold craft) are all well known for art and handicraft. Mas has a lot of carving centers, showrooms and shops, even small ones all along the roads there. They all have from decently carved reasonably priced woodcarving to exquisite and expensive ones.
I picked up a beautifully carved Barong, and a few Balinese masks as souvenirs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank percyvakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mas Carving Center also viewed

 

Been to Mas Carving Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing