We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT VALUE IN A VERY ROMANTIC PLACE”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pondok Umalas Room

The Bedroom 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bedroom 1
room 1 The Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
The Bedroom 1
room 1
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
Come in and spend some quality time in the heart of Umalas!
The Bedroom 1
suite 3
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
room 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
suite bedroom
Bathroom Bedroom 1
suite
Entrance Bedroom 1
suite bathroom
Entrance Bedroom 1
suite livingroom
The Bedroom 2
small chill-out garden pool
The Bedroom 2
small chill-out garden pool
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
suite
The Bedroom 2
free coffee and tea
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 2
The Pool Bedroom 2
The Pool Bedroom 2
The Pool Bedroom 2
Living Room Bedroom 2
Living Room Bedroom 2
Living Room Bedroom 2
Living Room Bedroom 2
Living Room Bedroom 2
Living Room Bedroom 2
Living Room Bedroom 2
Entrance Bedroom 2
Entrance Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 3
Bathroom Bedroom 3
Bathroom Bedroom 3
Bathroom Bedroom 3
Bathroom Bedroom 3
Bathroom Bedroom 3
Entrance Bedroom 3
Pathway
Pathway
Main Entrance
Main Entrance
Street
Main Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Bidibibu
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE IN A VERY ROMANTIC PLACE”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a real gem. If you are looking for a romantic, simple but not modest accommodation in the Seminyak area this is the right place. I loved the outdoor (covered and very private) bathroom and shower, the bed on the mezzanine, the round shapes of the structure that envelop you in a womb. It is a quiet, private, romantic place, where you will not have a vista, nor a whole lot of space, but you will feel a sense of peace and calm. It has most of what you will need included a minibar with complimentary soft drinks and water. Great value for the money. Only caveat, very hard to find the first time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manomade...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ideal location & lovely decoration”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My parents and my brother did appreciate their 3 nights in Pondok Umalas when they visited me in Bali.
The location was perfect : from this quiet area, 5min ride through the rice paddies and they could reach Umalas. Seminyak and Kerobokan are also next door. Regarding the cottage, we really liked the both the design and the decoration. The little pool was a must ! The security staff was also very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex B
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent value for money in a quiet location”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed at Pondok Umalas (room no. 2) for 7 weeks, between April 30 and 10 June. All I can say is that I fully agree with the comments of previous reviewers… Rooms at Pondok are spacious, bright, and tastefully decorated. Ok, one slight issue they probably need to address is that rooms (or at least mine) could use some more artificial light.. But this is not a real issue unless you happen to use your room as an office in the hours of dark, which is exactly what I did on occasion. Dian, the manager, is also extremely helpful and efficient at dealing with any minor issues. My gratitude also goes to the night watchman (whose name now escapes me). He is a really friendly guy always quick to wish you good night with a smile. Thank you all for making my stay a really pleasant one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmakemson
Perth, Australia
1 review
“They went above and beyond to make stay excellent”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our stay at Pondok Umalas was so much more than we expected. Dian, the manager, was wonderful. Before we arrived she scheduled shuttles to pick us up at the airport and arranged for a scooter rental for the week. Once we arrived, she booked massages for us in our own room. The massages were great and very inexpensive, 135,000 for an hour. Another perk of staying at Pondok Umalas, the owner also owns a very delicious italian restaurant. Anything you order can be delivered and added to your hotel bill.
The rooms look exactly as the photos. There were no surprises. We stayed in a suite with a private mini pool. And loved the outdoor shower! I would however recommend if you are a woman, bring your own hair drier. The one they provided barely produced any hot air.
I felt that Pondok Umalas really went above and beyond at the end of our trip. I had asked for a very late checkout (6pm) and they were happy to allow. My flight was then post pond a few days because of a volcanic eruption. Pondok Umalas allowed me to stay there and even upgraded me to their villa because they needed to do some construction in our suite. The villa was beautiful!
Definitely coming back to Pondok Umalas when I return to Bali!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Manager was so helpful
Liked least: Hairdrier
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'uomo Di...
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in August 2013

The structure is brand new, very pretty and in original style; the owner is very kindly and frendly; he can give you a lot of useful information and a real help to organize your journey in Bali and in all Indonesia. Don't worry for meals: the CASETTA, an italian cozy trattoria, will provide to satisfy your appetite with seafood, handmadepasta, and good wine.
Deeply recommended!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isagnous
Lille, France
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and quality accomodation in Umalas”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed in kembar villa for 40 days and enjoyed our stay in this astonishing villa. Perfect for creative activity, in a quiet area, facing Rice paddy. The swimming pool pool is perfect. The staff is very professional and kind. The kitchen is well furnished, the room are great and the outdoor bathrooms are beautiful and clean. It is closed to restaurants ( La Casetta with délicious pizzas) and warungs. There are shops and a laundry at short distance. You can hire à scooter to go to Batubelig Beach or Seminyak center at 10 mn from the villa. We would definitely recommand this place.

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabi2011...
Cali, Colombia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“THE PERFECT PLACE FOR PERFECT HOLIDAYS!!! BEATIFUL!!!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Everything is perfect, if you want to have a great time .. you should stay here.
Close to beautiful beaches, delicious restaurants (La Casona) in such a lovely and peaceful place ...
This place is decorated with the best taste, is charming and romantic and has lots of privacy and all the employees are very friendly

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing