We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, tranquil villa for relaxation and to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
NJ84
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Beautiful, tranquil villa for relaxation and to get married!”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Where do we start? Some adjective descriptors - warm, welcoming, the kindest, beautiful, homely, stunning, exotic, beautiful, calming, serenity - there are so many words to describe this beautiful Own Villa.

Pietro, his parents and his working team opened their villa and hearts to us. My husband and I, stayed with our families, for a week to prepare for and then celebrate our wedding. No detail was an effort for them. They were so warm and accommodating. We arrived as two separate parties, one even very late in the middle of the night but they ensured we were picked up from the airport, and welcomed us with snacks and drinks.

The entire Own Villa team, is one of the kindest that we have encountered. They embody the themes and vibes of the Balinese people - kindness, respect, generosity, care and humility. We could see their excitement on our Wedding day, which truly added to our enjoyment and experience. We could not have been any happier with their attention to detail and help. They worked in harmony with our wedding planning team Happy Bali Wedding.

Finally a bit about the property in general, as you enter the villa, you enter a harmonious paradise. The greenery, open air plan, floor to ceiling windows in the living area, and Sumatran architecture adds fantastic atmosphere to your home. The infinity pool will make all your friends envious - it is huge, filled with beautiful blues and turquoises with reflections of green from the surrounding garden, it is so relaxing and probably our favourite spot. There are four separate huts/villas (each with their own ensuite outdoor bathroom - this is somewhat different, and takes time to get used to), and one large communal living area with beautiful furniture and a restroom. The rooms are all beautiful, lovely decor, plenty of storage space, TV in each area with a small eating area. The only small things to mention is that the areas are quite dimly lit (which does add to the atmosphere) but can be a bit tricky for those with sight difficulties. Also the air conditioning isn’t as powerful as what some may be used to in hotel complexes. However, both of these problems were managed promptly by the Own Villa team with extra fans and lights.

Overall, we whole heartedly recommend not only the Villa complex but the entire Own Villa team, they treated us like friends and family and we enjoyed every second of our stay. Together with Happy Bali Wedding, they provided us with a dream come true wedding and memories that we will always treasure, thank you and sorry for the late reviews!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Dear Nina,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!
It was a magical moment for us to host your wedding and we are extremely happy we somehow contributed to making this moment of your life so special.

We wish you all the best in life and look forward to welcoming you in Bali again soon.

The Own Villa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banana J
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An hidden gem”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful time in Bali while staying at Own Villa.
If you got your scooter it is the perfect spot, quieter, but still, just 10 minutes drive from Canggu and any restaurants, bars, and shops of Seminyak.
The staff will make sure everything is going perfectly and the food is divine.
We only wish we could have stayed longer.
I&L

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Dear Indre and Loic,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad you had a great time at Own Villa.
We wish you all the best in life and look forward to welcoming you in Bali again very soon.

The Own Villa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TashaM524
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our stay with Own Villa was magical. Spacious, private and intricately beautiful villas. The food was divine and the people made us feel very looked after and welcome.

I would reccomend this place to everyone. It was lovely to come back to such a calm and serene bliss after exploring Bali each day.

The pool was also amazing for photos and relaxing next to.

Thank you Own Villas for a truely magical start to Bali. It's impossible to not have an incredible time here :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Dear Tasha,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! It was a real pleasure to have you with us and we are so happy you had a magical time at Own Villa.

We wish you all the best in life and look forward to welcoming you in Bali again very soon.

The Own Villa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
womble691
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“TOTALLY STUNNING”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Own Villas was a total relaxation paradise. The pool & Villa set up was fabulous.

Beautiful hosts and staff. The location was fantastic - both Canggu and Seminyak at your fingertips.

Can't recommend Own Villas enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Dear Vivien,

Thank you so much for your stunning review! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad you truly enjoyed Own Villa.

We wish you all the best in life and look forward to welcoming you in Bali again very soon.

The Own Villa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc20162...
Potomac, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as good as they pretend to be”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Villa Own includes four Balinese style bungalows all with the same set up like standard hotel rooms, none of them have a king size bed for instance. The outside bathroom could be an issue in regards to privacy. None of the bungalows have a bath, so you have to shower. In our bungalow we had mice night and day... The two owner's dogs pooped each morning on the grass on the front of the bungalow. The cooking is average compared to other similar places in Bali.
If you do not set your expectations too high you should enjoy your stay, if you are looking for a more exclusive villa with high end services you may be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Dear Marc,

We are truly sorry to hear Own Villa was not to your expectations. However, we are very surprised and disappointed by this review.

I personally came to visit you to make sure everything was of your appreciation and your answer was that everything was good.

We really don’t pretend anything, we know the value of what we offer and luckily most of our previous guests have realised it. Own Villa is a special place, but not everyone can understand that…you need “heart”.

If you were looking for nature without wanting nature, of course you would be disappointed.
If you were looking to find something typical and different expecting something fake within this environment such as a concrete bath, of course you would be disappointed.
Bali has a lot of places different from us, with baths and concrete walls.
At Own Villa we try to respect nature and the Balinese culture.

We understand Own Villa isn’t for anyone, your comments confirm this. We are sorry because we know we did the best to let you have an unforgettable experience.

Also, just to be fair with the readers who don't know the place, please allow me to give a few detailed answers in response to your comments.

First of all, they are not Balinese style bungalows, yet inspired by the Batak of North Sumatra. They are not like standard hotel rooms, I am sorry. You may not like the design of course, but it is definitely unique. As a matter of fact, Own Villa’s architectural structure has attracted the interest of a number of designer and architects, who we have had the pleasure to host. The rooms you stayed in have all king-size beds, we can guarantee. For what concerns the open-air bathrooms, that is within the concept of the villa, to be completely in harmony with the nature. This obviously means also that small animals can be seen from time to time, however we prevent that as much as possible by cleaning constantly (twice a day bedrooms cleaning and change of towels) and doing fogging for the insects. If there was an issue as you mentioned you could have reported it to our staff and it would have been sorted, as usual. For what concerns the two golden retrievers, our staff always keeps them tied outside the villa premises as new guests check-in. Then it is the guest personal choice to ask our staff to keep the dogs outside or inside the villa depending on their preference. For what concerns our cuisine, we are we very sorry you were disappointed by the food experience at Own Villa, as we value this as one of our pluses in comparison to our villas. Just to specify the service is included in our rate and includes over 250 dishes mixing Western and Eastern traditional cuisine, focusing mainly on Balinese, Italian and French. All the meals can be consumed at the preferred time, in the dining room or by the pool.

Regards,

Giacomo
The Own Villa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrinea...
Levis, Canada
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at Own Villa from July 25 to August 6th, and when we came back home, we had this craving for the Thai Beef Salad we ate during our stay. :P It was soo good it is almost as an obsession !!! All the menu options we tried were divine ... Thanks​ to chef Made :)
Just a great villa for a stay in Bali . We LOVED our stay : the place, food, the pool and mostly the people!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Dear Sandrine,

Thank you so much for your amazing review. It was a real pleasure to have you with us and we are glad you loved the Own Villa experience (as well as the Thai Beef Salad!!:) ).
We truly wish you all the best in life and look forward to welcoming you in Bali again very soon.

The Own Villa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie J
1 review
“Stunning and intimate accommodation”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very cosy and intimate villa with outstanding service and food. They were very welcoming and helpful with anything we needed (booking day trips, excursions, spa treatments etc.) My family and I (7 in total) rented all 4 villas on site which gave us a very relaxing and intimate atmosphere. All the staff was lovely, always catering for our needs and quite accommodating in terms of food restrictions and preferences - only downside for food is that we had to order meals at least 10 hours in advance which does not leave much room for improvisation, although the cook was fabulous ! Be aware that Own Villa is not downtown and not located in a walkable area and that there is lots of traffic to go anywhere - although Seminyak Square (closest touristy spot) is quite a short distance away by taxi and the staff will gladly call one for you. We enjoyed our time there thoroughly and would recommend it to anyone.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Dear Laurie,

Thank you so much for your stunning review. It was a real pleasure to have you with us and we are very happy you enjoyed your time at Own Villa.
We truly wish you all the best in life and look forward to welcoming you in Bali again very soon.

The Own Villa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing