We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken porridge”

Bubur Ayam Mangga Besar
Ranked #204 of 7,684 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chicken porridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My first to this restaurant, quite surprised on the food quality. We had the signature stream chicken, very tasty. Their porridge is very good too. We also ordered the tauhu soya sauce, nice. The restaurant is not big so there is a waiting time. Got to be patient. Even when you get the table to sit your food will still take some time as I could see there are quite a fair bit of take away, just go to show the food is good...

Helpful?
Thank CJW2JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Jakarta Classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is place is famous for Bubur or the Nasi Hainan more? Beats me. Anyway, who cares. Both are nice. I like the combination of the nasi hainam together with the spicy prawns and the mellow and sweet tofu. The tastes all come well together even for a non chilli eater like me. If you are at Kota and not sure where to eat. This is a good place :) Enjoy

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Entlife79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Tasty and very packed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This is my dad's fave in Jakarta, the staffs are quite friendly. The food is tasty, bubur ikan (fish porridge), telur phitan (black egg), roasted chicken (ayam panggang), is very recommended. This place is my fave too!!! But it's got packed and very crowded, so the sevice becomes slower, yet still worth the waiting!!!

Helpful?
Thank Angela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food n great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

this is the place to eat congee and hainamese chicken rice. the food taste is good, price is very reasonable. the only downside is that it is hard to find the parking space because most of the time they're very crowded.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suhero H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“porridge for the morning and midnight meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

nice chicken porridge, best roasted chicken (though quiet expensive for a quarter chicken in my opinion) and soy sauce fried tofu, moderate clean place. good choice for casual supper with friends

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bubur Ayam Mangga Besar also viewed

 

Been to Bubur Ayam Mangga Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing