We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Ranked #26 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Spent a nice weekend stay in this hotel as part of celebrating our toddler's Birthday and entertaining friends from overseas.
Perfect hotel for both business and leisure, nice big functional room, fast internet - even the free one - and the best is the breakfast .... still one of the best I have seen in a 5 star hotel.

check in and out are efficient and the hotel staff understands our needs, immediately advised us the most efficient way to venture out this crowded city.

I could go into conference calls in between, while my family was occupied at the children playground next to breakfast area

2 minor issues I experienced during our stay:

- the TV was not working, I did not bother to ask the next day as I expect the cleaning staff would handle that - this is a 5 star hotel, daily audit check of room functions should take place as a standard procedure -

- The other is the executive lounge was closed at 9PM! Well this is a crowded city with traffic jams and delays, most business guests would come back by 8PM I notice, why would the hotel close lounge at 9PM and then charge guest some $$ for having a drink after 9PM?

Thus only if both items were fixed, then I would give an excellent grade for this hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to combine both business and leisure as it is right next to 2 best malls of Jakarta, Grand Indonesia and Plaza Indonesia. And you can walk to the main road every Sunday AM, as it is car free day in central Jakarta

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the crowded roundabout, iconic view, choose higher floor to get clear view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLRompas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience staying with us on your family occasion. We are glad to hear that you think Hotel Indonesia Kempinski is one of the best you have ever seen.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the attentiveness of our Housekeeping staff and opening hours of our Ganesha Executive Club Lounge. We will surely have an internal discussion for further improvement for the satisfaction of our guests.

Again we thank you for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and we look forward to having the pleasure of having you back.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed during the long weekend holiday c/i 30/03/14 c/o 31/03/14. We've stayed here last year and decided to stay here again because our stay was so nice. The hotel was child friendly and my toddler enjoyed bathing in their deep bath tub.
Upon arrival in the lobby (around 4 pm) there was a huge crowd of people and there was a long queue. Turned out, those were a bunch of angry people, possibly around 15 persons and adding up throughout the hour.
These people have waited, on average, around 4-5 hours to get in their rooms and the staff kept saying that the rooms were not ready yet, have not been cleaned, etc. After waiting for about an hour in the lobby, we decided to go shopping in Grand Indonesia and thought, well maybe they have sorted this problem out when we tried to check in later that night.....and i was soo WRONG

Got back there at 8 pm and you guessed it right....the room WAS NOT ready yet....
to cut it short, we finally managed to check in around maybe 30-40 minutes later after a bit of yelling and still they have not quite finished their cleaning yet. trash has not been taken out, there was no hair dryer (and this is a five star hotel i'm talking about)....oh yeah they compensated by giving us a free buffet in their restaurant probably after the people got really furious with them......simply put NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment.
First and foremost, I am truly sorry to read that we failed delivering the service that you rightfully expect from a hotel of our class.

Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the inconveniences you experienced with the timing and readiness of your room. It goes with out saying that this is not what we strive for and I can assure you that we have taken the necessary actions to avoid recurrence.

As we strive to provide excellent service on a daily basis, your feedback is very meaningful to us.

I do hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. For that, I would be grateful if you could contact me via email to marcus.scholz@kempinski.com, as I would like to offer my personal assistance to recover your unsatisfactory experience with us.

Kind regards,
Marcus Scholz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and great location. Always loved this hotel for my stays in Jakarta. However iv noticed the one most basic and first impression this stay. Upon arrival and throuout the stay no one assists with opening the car doors. There was no assistance for baggage as well. This in comparison to a stay at a budget All Seasons Hotel down the street. $300+ vs a budget $100+ .... think they might want to learn a thing or two from All Seasons Staff. Other than that still a great hotel and service from the staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank hockt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your impression of our hotel.

We appreciate you pointing out your arrival experience and we do apologize for falling short of our standards to welcome you. Without excuses, we have raised your concerns to the relevant department so that we always meet the hotel standards at all times.

We hope you will come back and allow us to give you the proper and excellent Kempinski service that all of our guests rightfully expect.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

had been to this hotel for a business trip in March 2014 and stayed for four days. this has to be by far the best hotel i have been. The front desk service, staff etc have been excellent. this hotel is at the Zero point of Indonesia which is the heart of Indonesia. you have a lovely view of the statue with the fountain. Connected to the hotel is the mall where you can shop and eat. Also you have lot of malls and traditional shopping area in and around this place. very vibrant even at night.
The rooms are just amazing, the interior is excellent. The hotel is worth the money they charge for. You even have tv inside the bathroom besides the bath tub. all appliances you require is in that room. you will even get the connector in case you are from another country and may not have the unversal adaptor. you will find that too in the room.

overall an excellent place and a must visit.

Room Tip: can choose the road view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoumitaMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you very much for writing your excellent experience with us. We are particularly proud of our central location and rooms with views to the capital’s landmark.

We are glad that you found our product and services worth a visit. We look forward to welcome you back at the Kempinski in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Generally, a high quality and elegant hotel to stay in when in Jakarta. Stayed here for two nights during my biz trip on Mar 4. The hotel is connected to the nearby Grand Indonesia Shopping Centre. Relatively huge room and it comes with an automated + heated toilet bowl! Large number of selections for breakfast buffet but I feel that the quality of food can be improved further. The hotel is also near to Plaza Indonesia, a high end shopping complex filled with Singapore brand shops and restaurants. We felt "right at home" at Plaza Indonesia and we had our dinner there during our stay in Jakarta. Will definitely stay back in this hotel when I am back in Jakarta!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KM_SGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelJKT, Manager at Hotel Indonesia Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your stay during your recent business trip in Jakarta.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast, spacious room and our bathroom technology. And our Executive Chef has taken your note about the quality of our food for further improvement.

As you mentioned, we would be more than delighted to welcome you back “at home” with us.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed at the hotel in March 2014. It has one of the most modern facilities in the room I have ever seen although you will not know this from the exterior of the hotel. E.g. it has a TV in the bathroom facing the bathtub and automatic water closet, apart from the usual appliances.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jeremynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

It is always a challenge to find good value for money in JKT, but this time everything was right. And despite all the traffic in the city, this hotel offers a great calm oasis in the middle of the city. Moreover, the food is really good, and the rooms are great too (large tv, great bed, nice bathroom, etc). The gym is also nice although if the hotel wishes to improve anything then I would suggest to buy a few more running machines since all of them were occupied during rush hour (early mornings) this week. Regardless of that glitch, I would warmly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Backside quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PopeyeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
#27 of 464 in Jakarta
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#15 of 464 in Jakarta
1,532 reviews
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indonesia Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indonesia Kempinski

Address: Jln. M.H. Thamrin No. 1, Jakarta 10110, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: £149 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indonesia Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta represents both a celebration of the glorious past and the bright future. Adjacent to Grand Indonesia Shopping Town - one of Asia's largest shopping mall, the hotel is definitely the ideal address for business, convention, wedding and extravagant shopping. Located at the strategic Bundaran HI (Hotel Indonesia Roundabout), the hotel boasts 289 spacious luxury rooms and suites including the lavish 412 sqm Presidential Suite with its private spa. Hotel Indonesia Kempinski facilities include 6 meeting rooms, a SPA & fitness center as well as an outdoor swimming pool. The hotel comprises a lounge bar, a rooftop cafe along with a chocolate confectionary and a delicatessen shop. Hotel Indonesia Kempinski Jakarta also offers 3 restaurants from international buffet and traditional German food to Japanese premium restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indonesia Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing