We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old boutique hotel; need renovation, but strategic located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Boutique Hotel Angkasa
Ranked #227 of 472 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This boutique hotel is quite old and actually need some major renovation works in the room. However, the location is very strategic in the center of the City; close to the amusement area of Ancol and the China Town area. The price of the room is quite acceptable for the price.

Room Tip: If possible, please ask to get the already renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KwanSSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel was quite old; almost 20 years. It was located in Central Jakarta, quite close to the China Town and Ancol area. The room also needed some renovation works, although the room size was quite acceptable. The bed was really at the small size; even for Indonesians. The staff were quite customized; not rude, but also not too nice. The lobby was not convenient for guests with big and heavy luggages as the guests might need to carry them up via the stairs. The breakfast served was standard, although not bad. The reason why we took this hotel was only because it was the closest hotel to our own permanent domicile that was isolated by the flood recently ....... :-(

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Jalan Angkasa :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

The staff not friendly. No smile. Not helpfull. So just don't stay at this hotel if you have an other choise.

Room: old room with little renovation for the club room type. The equipment for bathroom just

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Anwar_Konggoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

This 4 star hotel located in the heart of Jakarta, and that's read traffic jam! Although the traffic is pretty bad, the hotel is quite good. But the bed is pretty small and I'm Asian. The breakfast buffet is great and the lobby is magnifecent.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runitap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Everything that previous reviewers have written (below) about this hotel is, unfortunately, true.

It is a very poor hotel, not at all up to North American or European business hotel standards.The rooms are tiny, dark, and dirty, and I'm talking about the "Club" rooms on the premium floor - I would hate to think what a standard room is like.

The hotel stinks everywhere, but the smell varies. In the hallways it is musty. In the public areas, it stinks of cheap deodorizer that comes from automatic dispensers that are installed everywhere - even in the elevators. In the rooms, it stinks of cigarette smoke. Heck, I'm a smoker myself, and when a smoker complains that the rooms stink of tobacco, you know it's got to be bad! By the way - there is no such thing as a non-smoking room in this hotel.

The windows are cheap, and the curtains are thin. The hotel is located on a major thoroughfare. The 24 hour a day traffic noise is intolerable, it reminded me of camping near the pit lane at a F1 racetrack.

As far as I can tell from talking to the staff, this hotel was originally built to cater to junior business travelers from Mainland China. I guess that didn't work out - despite the spectacularly pimpy and over-the-top decor (the place looks like a cheap knock-off of Caesars Palace in Las Vegas). The target audience today is Indonesian blue-collar workers. The hotel was full the night I stayed, yet I did not see a single other Caucasian (implies North American or European) business traveler in the hotel at any time.

Internet is free, but not especially fast. Breakfast is included in the rate. The rate is approximately $90 USD. If the place was clean - which it is not - I suppose that would be reasonable value for money. But, it's dirty... dirty everywhere, to the point where I was hesitant to open my luggage lest something crawl into it.

The best advice I can give fellow Trip Advisor members is to stay away from this place! There are plenty of reasons why this hotel is close to the bottom of the Trip Advisor rankings for hotels in Jakarta.

One funny story to tell: The original pimpy decor package included all sorts of larger-than-life statues of Venus throughout the hotel. When the target guest demographic changed from Mainland Chinese to Indonesians, all these naked statues were covered up with green fabric so as to not offend the sensibilities of the (primary Islamic) Indonesian guests. Have a look at the attached picture.

Room Tip: Find another hotel to book your room at. Honestly, that is the best advice I can give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I had to stay in this hotel because my preferred 4-star hotel in the nearby area was fully-booked.
I thought it would a good choice, as according to the hotel-website there were several good restaurants in this hotel (Ah Yat Abalone and Lembur Kuring).
However it turned out that Lembur Kuring restaurant has been closed-down here. The obsolete information in the website was completely misleading. Until I write this review in late August 2012, the website still mentions Lembur Kuring as one of their existing restaurants.

The bedroom & bathroom were another dissapointment here.
The mattress & pillows were already worn out. It felt hard and uncomfortable at all. No extra pillow as well.
The carpet was old and dirty, I observed several stains on it.
The hot shower was malfunctioned as well, so I only got cold water.

Breakfast was also just mediocre, although the pastry was a little bit of consolation.

Although this hotel is priced lower that nearby hotels, I would rather pay some more for better comfort & facilities elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiG-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I got this with a special corporate rate and it was highly recommended by business friends as it was very near to the Jakarta International Expo at Kemayoran. Truly that we are able to arrive at the JIE in 10minutes around 10am. Ladies please be mentally prepared if you are checking-in at night, there were so many men sitting at the bar sofa area (which is directly opposite the fronk desk) whom mostly will look at you for MORE than a few seconds. I felt uncomfortable and a bit scared. There is a club at seventh floor or something.... At first I was checked into Superior Room, but the next day I changed my room to the Club House (because the Superior Room I stayed was dusty, musky, strong ciggy smells, quite noisy during midnight as I can heard the occupants nearby talking and banging their doors). Keep in mind that the fifth floor is the ONLY Luxury Rooms's floor for non-smoking.

The Club House room I stayed was newly renovated. The flooring was no longer carpet but tiles. My partner was not having synus attack in this room. The occupants at this floor were a lot calmer. Yes, the price of this room rate is higher than luxury / superior ones.

The breakfast buffet was so so. Limited choices and tasted okay. For dinner we tasted Nasi Goreng Daging (Fried Rice with Beef) and Set Nasi Timbel (Timbel Rice Set), drank Strawberry Juice and Avocado Juice were tasty. The staffs there are mostly friendly and quite helpful. The Premium Taxis are always available at the front lobby. Just ensure the drivers press and follow the meter (there was one driver that we have to remind him to press the meter as exiting the hotel's main entrance).

Just bare in mind that mostly this hotel area is strong in ciggy smoke scent. This hotel was stated that they are rated as four stars hotel and look great from outside; but in my opinion maybe this hotel is maximum qualified as three stars only. I would ONLY recommend this hotel if you JUST need to be near the JIE and have less time to be stucked in the traffic jam.

Room Tip: Do request to have a look at the rooms they have..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurtleFan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel
#162 of 472 in Jakarta
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palmerah
Blue Sky Hotel Petamburan
Blue Sky Hotel Petamburan
#150 of 472 in Jakarta
80 reviews
Ayaka Suites
#73 of 472 in Jakarta
162 reviews
Sunlake Hotel
#129 of 472 in Jakarta
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Boutique Hotel Angkasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Boutique Hotel Angkasa

Address: Jl. Angkasa no. 1, Jakarta 10720, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 472 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: £26 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Boutique Hotel Angkasa 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Central Jakarta, Golden Boutique Hotel Angkasa has a convenient location surrounded by Chinese Business District, Shopping & Entertainment, Indonesian Government Offices, The Jakarta International Exhibition - Kemayoran (JI-EXPO) is only scroll away from the Hotel. The HOtel has an easy access to International Airport Soekarno - Hatta (25 minutes driving). The Golden Boutique Hotel Angkasa, with 259 Rooms including Suites are perfect choice for your Business or Leisure Destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Boutique Hotel Angkasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing