We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Studio One Residence
Ranked #32 of 358 Jakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2014

blow by blow assessment below:

location: around 20 mins off airport but good as its very near train station. around 700m off main shopping mall like plaza indonesia.
breakfast: same everyday but decent, mini rice, noodle combo
room:clean and comfortable though there is not much on tv.
hospitality: staff are very nice and service is not bad at all. plus point.
wifi: bad, no issue in the lobby but to get a signal you need to go near your door.
cost: very affordable and value for money.

no frills and affordable. recommended for the budget traveler.

Room Tip: do bring your travel adaptor as there do not provide any. however, you can charge your gadgets at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeiKurono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Very good location and easy to find "warung" around here. I strongly recommend this hostel for those who wanna get the good location. But Breakfast come after 7 am, its too late. Staff are helpful. Easy to get public transportation or taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank local38020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is a budget hotel for budget traveler, u can even get discount if stay long periods. rooms typically budget small but clean as expected from budget hotel. first night my tv wasn't work i informed the staff they tried to do something but unsolved the problem, they offered move to other room then.
What about Breakfast ? so so. fried rice with egg and slice toast jam butter. it s ok better than nothing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Setyabudianto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I have stayed here twice. So far its been good. Decent location and a bearable walk to Grand Indonesia mall. Breakfast is below expectation. Just a place to sleep. Quite friendly staff and you leave your luggage after you check out. Good for people on tight budget.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank McFaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

It's the kind of hotel you stay at if you aren't planning to spend much time at the property. It cost around US$37 a night.

PRO's:
Can walk to Grand Indonesia mall in under 10 mins along decent pavements
The property is fairly modern
Reliable wifi and good air-con
No problems with visitors.
The hotel location is correct on Google maps, so it's easy to find.
The train noises weren't too bad from my room on 7th floor.

CON's:
I was suprised to find no amenities except a soap dispenser & 2 thin towels (no shampoo, cups, drinking water etc)
Ultra small room & bathroom, with a sink in your living area
Only 2 local TV channels, all others not watchable, not tuned properly - annoying because its easy for them to fix this by adjusting the building's TV aerial.
My room smelled of smoke badly
Nothing for travellers nearby but a vending machine in lobby
As others have said, the breakfast is awful.

I realise this is a 2 star property, but I would recommend that they stop doing breakfast (no-one seems to eat it anyway) and move the money into providing cable TV and a few simple room amenities instead. Then this place would be great value for money.

Room Tip: Highest floor (7) in the middle away from railway tracks & street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

You're right around the corner from Tosari busway stop, which is convenient, especially since that busway line runs to many tourist areas (Monas, kota/old city, Blok M...). However, the neighbourhood is fairly quiet, and it lacks certain amenities I would expect in such a residential area: convenience stores, small restaurants and street warungs... The nearby restaurants are actually quite pricey. The rooms are basic but nice enough. My room's window unfortunately opened onto a wall: no view of even the railroad tracks (which I couldn't hear at night, by the way)! Breakfast was disappointing: plain fried rice/nasi goreng with fried eggs one morning, toast with limited spreads another morning.

But, if your goal is non-hostel budget accommodation in an accessible, safe area of Jakarta, then I do recommend Studio One!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyrc_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Having had my share of 3 star hotels I was not expecting a lot from this hotel, but I somehow feel the word 'bad' needed to be in my review title.

Location is pretty good actually. Within walking distiance to Grand Indonesia. A Blue Bird taxi can be hailed down the street and shouldn't cost more than 15000 IDR to Grand Indonesia. Be warned though, that train tracks are next to the hotel, so light sleepers will have a hard time when the train passes by. Try asking for a room away from the tracks!

The breakfast was poor. Rice and egg. That was it. Better off skipping it.

One night we were in our room and failed to hear the staff knock so they just opened the door. I got so freaked I jumped off the bed. The wanted to check the shower curtains, they were so apologetic, they thought nobody was in. Other than this incident, the staff were courteous and always helpful. Even gave us tips on where to eat and how to get around Jakarta.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yjgisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Red Planet Jakarta Pasar Baru
Menteng
Clay Hotel Jakarta
Clay Hotel Jakarta
#248 of 472 in Jakarta
157 reviews
WOW Hotel
#69 of 358 in Jakarta
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ro & Vi Hotel
#131 of 358 in Jakarta
37 reviews
Menteng
Capsule Hotel Old Batavia
Capsule Hotel Old Batavia
#2 of 358 in Jakarta
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio One Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio One Residence

Address: Jl. Talang Betutu No. 15, Jakarta, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Jakarta
Price Range: £12 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio One Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Studio One Residence, newly opened for budget conscious travellers! A safe, clean & comfortable accommodation located less than 10 minutes walking distance from Grand Indonesia and very close to Tanah Abang shopping paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Studio One Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio One Residence Hotel Jakarta
Studio 1 Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing