We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On behalf of 20+ Guests and myself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Ranked #104 of 471 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 23 October 2013

During my wedding in HI Indonesia, I accommodated more than 30 guests in 20 rooms, with various rooms types. My stay was very pleasant, and front desk was very helpful and professional with checking in all my overseas guests (from JAPAN, SWISS, SHANGHAI) who are all first timers to Indonesia and/or Jakarta. Front desk was fast with checking in all guests. All rooms were also very clean, modern (based on comments from my guests). My own room was also very modern, and I personally love the bathroom.

Guests also commented on the bathrooms, and massage service. Price was also a factor. Truly value for money.

Great view of the city from the top.

(Stayed on 21 and 22, some checked out on 23 June, 2013).

Room Tip: Choose high floor for some cool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Kristava,
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay here with us recently.
Do rest assured that we will continue to work hard to ensure that our guests get the most out of their time spent here at the Swissbelhotel Mangga Besar..
Do come back to visit us soon as it has been a pleasure to have you around at the Resort.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a period of 17 nights between 2nd half of September and begin October 2013.

I had a room on the 23rd floor with a great view over the city. Room and bath room were very clean. The hotel has 2 restaurants and a bar in the lobby also offers small meals.
The hotel offers a very extensive breakfast in one of the restaurants with a lot of choice in western and Asian dishes.

For shopping, there is a free of charge shuttle, that brings you to the nearest shopping mall, Mangga Dua. Walking to this mall, takes about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetervdE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Mr. Peter, We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay here with us recently.
Do rest assured that we will continue to work hard to ensure that our guests get the most out of their time spent here at the Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar.
Do come back to visit us soon as it has been a pleasure to have you around at the Hotel.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The check-in and check-out was smooth but took some time as the front desk had some confusions regarding the internet booking and payments each time. Very welcoming and friendly staff of the hotel but need to be a bit careful for correct communication in English. My stay was just for a night so could experience very little of what was at offer. I was upgraded to a higher category room, very kind of the staff, it was really good, comfortable beds and very spacious. The wi-fi worked fine however finding the electric sockets may be tricky. Had a dinner and breakfast, the food way quite good and varied to choose from. I felt the breakfast is better prepared and served, probably as it is more used by the guests. One of the chef was really very supportive, he took extra care in preparing a pure vegetable meal for one of my colleague as requested for dinner.
The outside traffic is very terrifying and the shopping centers are close by maybe around 500mts. from this hotel and some good food options in the nearby as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O2AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear valued guest, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Swiss-belhotel Mangga Besar recently.
Kindly be informed that we have taken note of all your check-in/ Check-out time concerns shared herein and we will definitely use them as a milestone to gauge our performance in order to improve the overall standard of service offered to our distinguished guests.
We have recently hired an English teacher to train our staff in order to reduce the miscommunication between our associates and over-sea's guests.
Do visit us again at your soonest convenient as it is always a pleasure to have you at the Swiss-belhotel Mangga Besar.
A warm regards to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

great hotel to stay at,check in was quick and easy,super friendly staff,very clean,rooms were of a good size and clean,the spa was excellent,100%recommend staying there to anyone and definitely i would stay there again

Room Tip: i stayed in room 1202 and was very clean with a excellent view of the city-suburbs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaliGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Sir, We are pleased to note that you had a wonderful time in our hotel recently.
Based on you comments received, the hotel had amplified its effort in providing high standard of service especially in our F&B outlets, Spa activities and every the front-liners' competency level. And, we are pleased that all of them are bearing good results based on your sincere comments given herein.
We look forward to having you with us once again soon;
Most Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I agree that the hotel was clean and the staff warm and polite - but so are practically all service staff in Jakarta. I do need to highlight a few fundamental problems:

Location
Westerners unaccustomed to the less developed parts of Asia will find the hotel surroundings intimidating or rough around the edges to say the least. I chose this hotel because I had to attend a meeting at Jakarta's container terminal, and this particular part of town seemed like a good gateway to the northern outskirts of the city. In the end, in the eleventh hour my meeting got shifted to a five-star hotel all the way over in South Jakarta. Moral of the story: If your local business partners ask you to come out to these parts, just suggest politely that you would prefer to meet them somewhere downtown. They will very likely be only too happy to oblige.

Taxi
As a foreigner, always stick to the Blue Bird taxi service; no ifs or buts about it. Their drivers are courteous, polite and honest, and you can make a phone booking even from a land-line if need be.
The Swiss-Belhotel, however, obviously has some sort of an alliance with the rival White Horse taxi service. White Horse is not only much more expensive -- the drivers are so desperate for business, they will literally take you for a ride, heading straight for the most jammed and circuitous highways. Regardless of peak or off-peak hours, a Blue Bird ride on average took me 20-30 minutes; with White Horse it was always 90-120 minutes.
Sadly, if you go down to the concierge and ask them to book you a Blue Bird cab, the staff are under so much pressure from the hotel management that they will lie to you and insist that you will have to wait "one hour" (utter nonsense!) - but hey, there's a whole fleet of unused White Horse cabs parked right outside.

Overall, an okay hotel for Malaysians or Singaporeans who want to go bargain-hunting at Mangga-Dua and other wholesale malls, or budget travelers from the region who are on their way to Bali. For most businessmen and Western visitors, it is not a good option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allele_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear reviewer, we regret to note your concern over incidents that happened during your recent stay with us. Do be informed nonetheless that it has always been our intention to ensure that the hotel provides the highest level of transportation
Therefore, we have taken the initiative to highlight your comments to the White Horse Taxi management to enable remedial actions be taken immediately; where such necessity is duly required. Rest assure that our concierge staff do not endure a huge pressure from the hotel management as but simply follows the procedure as the hotel have an agreement contract with the taxi company.
In addition, we sincerely appreciate your rating of 3/5 for our property and we do apologize if the location was not the most appropriate for your business meetings.
Your Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel was very nice, cool decoration, nice ambiance. and the staff was really friendly and helpfull. Not to mention the location, its really strategic, near china town, its easy to go shopping. a clean hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank santyaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear reviewer, thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your kind review. We are truly happy that our hard-work has resulted in you having a good time here at the Swiss-belhotel Mangga Besar....we look forward of having you here once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the first two nights of our honeymoon before moving to lombok - jakarta is huge and utterly crazy and 2 days was enough, but having said that the hotel was fantastic. We stayed first in the exec room on a very cheap agoda rate - the room was massive and we really enjoyed our afternoon tea in the exec lounge. 2nd night we moved to the deluxe honeymoon suite which was stunning - on the 28thfloor (penthouse) with outdoor shower and jacuzzi on top of a skyscraper a unique experience. Much more money than the exec room but well worth considering for honeymooners on a short stay or someone looking to wow on a date. Service at the hotel also impressed - I lost my wedding ring and they found it in a bin! Very honest of them and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farradam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

We are pleased to note that you had a wonderful time at the Swiss-belhotel Mangga besar recently.
Based on many comments received to date, the hotel had amplified its effort in providing high standard of service especially in our F&B outlets, Housekeeping and especially the front-liners' competency level. We are pleased that all of them are bearing good results based on your sincere comments given herein.
We look forward to having you with us once again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
#119 of 471 in Jakarta
303 reviews
The Media Hotel And Towers
#195 of 471 in Jakarta
309 reviews
Pademangan
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Jakarta Kota
#83 of 471 in Jakarta
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar

Address: Jln. Kartini Raya no. 57, Jakarta 10750, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#72 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: £34 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar is a 4-star international business hotel, we cater to the needs of business travelers and holidaymakers alike. 246 guestrooms that are furnished with all the modern amenities needs to make your stay with us a memorable and comfortable one. Strategically located on the doorstep of the prominent Mangga Besar and Mangga Dua area, we are close to both business districts and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing